Old 04-20-2005, 11:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Iya Lode of NR

Total Points: 274.00
Talking Long hair

i went to buy some hair pieces yesterday and saw this babe with hair almost long up to her waist (say like 18inches long & very silky). i asked her what brand of hairpiece she had on as i was hoping to get something similar.

she smiled and told me it was her natural hair! i was so embarrassed; i told her i didn't believe her. she bent down slightly and asked me to check her scalp. indeed, it was her natural hair. of course, she is a ghanian!!!!

how come naija ladies don't have long hair. i have a couple of ghanian friends with well textured and long hair.

this is so unfair!

Last edited by Nne-Baby; 04-20-2005 at 11:47 AM..
Nne-Baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 01:53 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 722392 Babyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legend

Life aint fair

but SOME naijas ave long hair.. aint seen 18inches long tho

Old 04-20-2005, 02:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Iya Lode of NR

Originally posted by Babyluvâ„¢
Life aint fair

but SOME naijas ave long hair.. aint seen 18inches long tho

some of them dem hausa and rivers babes have long hair.

18inches..........seems a lil bit exaggerated; prolly 16inches.

i'm just tired of fixing weave.
Old 04-20-2005, 06:19 PM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 13,186.25
Total Points: 14,430.75
Rep Power: 198563 funlayo is a legendfunlayo is a legendfunlayo is a legendfunlayo is a legendfunlayo is a legendfunlayo is a legendfunlayo is a legendfunlayo is a legendfunlayo is a legendfunlayo is a legendfunlayo is a legend

try years of covering your hair and protection from the sun.
may be you hair will grow as long as them hausa chicks..

ok so wat if ir is my theory....
Old 04-20-2005, 06:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tall Isoko Feminist

Bank: 38,138.07
Total Points: 66,144.12
Rep Power: 480209 Phantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legend

I have met some Naija girls will long hair sha... all Igbo for some reason.

I kinda used to have longish hair but I cut it last month.

Left...

------------------------------------
Femi's Diary

Femi on xanga

MNIKSS ROCKS!!!
Phantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 11:02 PM   #6 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,903,998.08
Rep Power: 21474885 pynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legend

care is very important when it comes 2 hair growth!
irrespective of my being mixed, i have always had nice hair, even though i am scissors happy.
u cannot go from one weave 2 another. u cannot braid ur hair for 6 months outta d whole yr. U need 2 clip ur end ery 6 weeks. condition ur hair properly. dont wear ponytails ery 2 weeks, it pulls out ur sides. I can go on! i am saying these cos they r things i have noticed with some of my female naija friends! oh anoda one, dont keep in braids for longer than 6 weeks to 8 weeks. we know ur broke, but ur hair gotsta breathe!
hair gel also helps 2 break & thin out ur hair!
Old 04-20-2005, 11:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
LMJ
Alberta Gator

Bank: 2,131.03
Total Points: 2,198.03
Rep Power: 572 LMJ is a rep whore!LMJ is a rep whore!LMJ is a rep whore!LMJ is a rep whore!LMJ is a rep whore!LMJ is a rep whore!LMJ is a rep whore!LMJ is a rep whore!LMJ is a rep whore!LMJ is a rep whore!LMJ is a rep whore!

Just Chop the hair off
LMJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 02:34 AM   #8 (permalink)

Rep Power: 644340 ndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legend

Originally posted by yello feva
care is very important when it comes 2 hair growth!
irrespective of my being mixed, i have always had nice hair, even though i am scissors happy.
u cannot go from one weave 2 another. u cannot braid ur hair for 6 months outta d whole yr. U need 2 clip ur end ery 6 weeks. condition ur hair properly. dont wear ponytails ery 2 weeks, it pulls out ur sides. I can go on! i am saying these cos they r things i have noticed with some of my female naija friends! oh anoda one, dont keep in braids for longer than 6 weeks to 8 weeks. we know ur broke, but ur hair gotsta breathe!
hair gel also helps 2 break & thin out ur hair!
Also have a white mama

Old 04-21-2005, 11:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Iya Lode of NR

Originally posted by Phantom
I have met some Naija girls will long hair sha... all Igbo for some reason.
that can't be true as i'm igbo and don't have long hair nne
Old 04-21-2005, 12:36 PM   #10 (permalink)

i'm so tired of my hair men, i'm so effing tired of my hair - it's just pissing me off. I need to sue somebody

Old 04-21-2005, 12:37 PM   #11 (permalink)

for real i had better hair in naija than in this yankee and i think i'm eating better food in yankee than in naija...what's going on ?

Old 04-21-2005, 01:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Iya Lode of NR

for real i had better hair in naija than in this yankee and i think i'm eating better food in yankee than in naija...what's going on ?

oooh u tell me about it!!!

i think it's the harsh weather. u know in naija u sweat a lot and sweat opens up the hair follicle (my opinion)- it's like u r constantly steaming the hair. the chemical used in treating water here can also have negative impact. aging process can't be ignored too().

i had lovely hair when i was in naija.
Old 04-21-2005, 04:12 PM   #13 (permalink)

Bank: 251,266,757.58
Total Points: 251,267,957.58
Rep Power: 2023289 omadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legend

Originally posted by Nne-Baby
oooh u tell me about it!!!

i think it's the harsh weather. u know in naija u sweat a lot and sweat opens up the hair follicle (my opinion)- it's like u r constantly steaming the hair. the chemical used in treating water here can also have negative impact. aging process can't be ignored too().

i had lovely hair when i was in naija.
I think this is true to an extent. My mother's hair was really beautiful in Nigeria. But once she left, her hair has not been the same. The relaxers also prob. didn't help either. Also, life seems to be slowe in Nigeria. You're not always in a rush. Therefore, you have time to take care of your hair I guess.

But I think long hair can be achieved...
Old 04-21-2005, 06:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Tall Isoko Feminist

Bank: 38,138.07
Total Points: 66,144.12
Rep Power: 480209 Phantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legendPhantom is a legend

Originally posted by omadandala
I think this is true to an extent. My mother's hair was really beautiful in Nigeria. But once she left, her hair has not been the same. The relaxers also prob. didn't help either. Also, life seems to be slowe in Nigeria. You're not always in a rush. Therefore, you have time to take care of your hair I guess.

But I think long hair can be achieved...
I think it's a matter of hair care. Men, I can't tell you what exactly happened or anything but my Momsie's hair was short in Naija but since we've moved to Abidjan, her hair has grown like NMB. Her hair is now at the middle of her back.

Left...

------------------------------------
Femi's Diary

Femi on xanga

MNIKSS ROCKS!!!
Phantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 09:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
ASAMPETE

Total Points: 7,150.61
Rep Power: 542693 Oderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legend
Default Re: Long hair

Originally posted by Nne-Baby
i went to buy some hair pieces yesterday and saw this babe with hair almost long up to her waist (say like 18inches long & very silky). i asked her what brand of hairpiece she had on as i was hoping to get something similar.

she smiled and told me it was her natural hair! i was so embarrassed; i told her i didn't believe her. she bent down slightly and asked me to check her scalp. indeed, it was her natural hair. of course, she is a ghanian!!!!

how come naija ladies don't have long hair. i have a couple of ghanian friends with well textured and long hair.

this is so unfair!
nne, abeg spoketh for yaself. I know a lot of naija women with long hair.... mostly kalabaris,ibos and hausas, though.

Color me blessed by God

"Ibos can make water out of stone"
-Wole Soyinka

Oderah is offline   Reply With Quote