Old 03-27-2005, 04:17 AM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3254879 Odogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legend
Default Wrist Watches

Just noticed a phenomenon going on. Gone are the days when watches are vaulable piece of jewery passed down from generation to genration. I gues our generation is teh quick fix generation, anyhting that looks good at the time kinda fix. You enter an acessory store and pick up a $10 watche that looks good and by the time it breaks down in 2yrs if it does, u have gotten the worth. Then all these silly fashion designers flooding the market with chienese made watches, i am talking Guess, DKNY,Tommy,etc. for a resonable cost.
Nobody feels like buying durable watches from companies that have been there for half a century and more. back in da day grandparents bought Rolex,Citizen,ESQ,Seiko,Bulova,MOVADO even TImex(been there for 75yrs plus) These are watch makers.
Hiphop startted off loving the original watch makers with teh Rolex but nowJacob da Jewller don take over. What does that Jewish dude know about watches(hey!! is he jewish?)
Then SWATCH flooded the market with very durable plastic watches at way cheaper rates but maintain da swiss technology
Oh well I guess wathes don't matter anymore. Just rock what looks good on you, the artistry that is the mechanism doesn't matter anymore.
Odogwu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 06:05 AM   #2 (permalink)

Location: On the mountain, in the valley, on the land and in the sea
Bank: 9,859.08
Total Points: 10,292.03
Rep Power: 9064 Mensa K is a legendMensa K is a legendMensa K is a legendMensa K is a legendMensa K is a legendMensa K is a legendMensa K is a legendMensa K is a legendMensa K is a legendMensa K is a legendMensa K is a legend

Now I'm starting to understand this fascination certain people have with watches. Like people in this thread . The only thing stopping me from buying a $300 watch is the lack of funds. I could buy 3 different designs for 1/10 the cost of one.
Mensa K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 07:32 AM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3254879 Odogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legend

lol..those guys are fanatics lol
but u jsut made the point by using the word DESIGN
but their is an art to watch making and it is da mechanism
Old 03-27-2005, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 49,159.75
Rep Power: 242986 Kayo is a legendKayo is a legendKayo is a legendKayo is a legendKayo is a legendKayo is a legendKayo is a legendKayo is a legendKayo is a legendKayo is a legendKayo is a legend

I like leather straps watches. The cost is not the deciding factor but the design.I have a Swatch Irony and it looks very nice.Modern swiss technology.
Old 03-28-2005, 01:41 AM   #5 (permalink)

Swatch get good tech. as par Swizz come make am cheap tooo and funky design Irony collection is cool
But the high end Swiss is super Wenger etc.
Old 04-03-2005, 10:44 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 196446 Ebony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legend

just purchased me a dkny watch but purely for cosmetic reasons, i love dkny so i wanted a dkny watch, however, i do feel i played it smart, i saved up went to an authentic jeweller (that i know wont close down tommorow) to make my purchase, i believe in the principal of saving hard and investing in good quality products that will last.
i personally wouldnt buy a rolex made by those children in factories in china, my father did and a year later he is running down watch shops to repair it, their advice is to 'chuck it!'
jus my opinion
Old 04-04-2005, 01:18 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally posted by ebony tone
just purchased me a dkny watch but purely for cosmetic reasons, i love dkny so i wanted a dkny watch, however, i do feel i played it smart, i saved up went to an authentic jeweller (that i know wont close down tommorow) to make my purchase, i believe in the principal of saving hard and investing in good quality products that will last.
i personally wouldnt buy a rolex made by those children in factories in china, my father did and a year later he is running down watch shops to repair it, their advice is to 'chuck it!'
jus my opinion
didn't know Rolex dey spoil like dat hmmmmm that is swizz technology.
Old 04-06-2005, 04:23 AM   #8 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,903,998.08
Rep Power: 21474885 pynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legend

uhm personally i have one watch that is purely cosmetic, it is a ninewest! I have a rolex ( which has been working perfectly well) & a pretty fossil ( which i wear erydday) their warranty is good- u can turn that stuff in after a yr if d battery dies! yep
Old 04-11-2005, 08:20 AM   #9 (permalink)

Total Points: 55.00
Rep Power: 37 roseykitty has a brilliant futureroseykitty has a brilliant futureroseykitty has a brilliant futureroseykitty has a brilliant futureroseykitty has a brilliant futureroseykitty has a brilliant futureroseykitty has a brilliant futureroseykitty has a brilliant futureroseykitty has a brilliant futureroseykitty has a brilliant futureroseykitty has a brilliant future

i have way too many watches. i love big bold watches. i prefer men's watches. but i do wear lady watches for dress up.

in jeans and tshirts. big bold man stauer watch is the best.

I AM A SUCKER FOR BULOVA. quality good watch. u can get them for less at overstock.com. j c penney runs sales all the time too or foleys.

------------------------------------------------
if u wanna make god laff, just tell him ur plans.............. some country song

-------------------------------------------------

<
roseykitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 06:04 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally posted by roseykitty
i have way too many watches. i love big bold watches. i prefer men's watches. but i do wear lady watches for dress up.

in jeans and tshirts. big bold man stauer watch is the best.

I AM A SUCKER FOR BULOVA. quality good watch. u can get them for less at overstock.com. j c penney runs sales all the time too or foleys.
Bulova na wath maker so u are getting some good watches there. But i sabi a jewerry store that won't carry bulova anymore coz they say it breaks down a lot.