Old 07-27-2004, 03:17 AM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 191.00
Default I'm planning on going au naturale...

Abeg ladies, I need some serious advice. My hair is about shoulder length but it's thin and damaged because of braids and relaxin' so I'm planning on cutting it short and going natural...what has worked for those of you with natural hair? For those of you without do you think I should take the plunge? It takes ballz to do short hair o!
Old 07-27-2004, 03:44 AM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 42.00
Rep Power: 943 afroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legend

Visit www.nappturality.com for inspiration
cut it all off- no need to shave it like moro-moro but cut off all the dead ends.

mmmm 'Berry!

afroberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 04:15 AM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474872 pebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legend
Default Re: I'm planning on going au naturale...

You know u don't have to cut it all off to fix the thinness right? You could get a cool hair style that is about chin length, that way you get ride of the split ends. Just make sure you cut a style that suits ur face. I usually prefer white or Hispanic ppl to cut my hair, they know how to make the ends uneven so it doesn't look heavy at the bottom.

Originally posted by Afrodisiac
Abeg ladies, I need some serious advice. My hair is about shoulder length but it's thin and damaged because of braids and relaxin' so I'm planning on cutting it short and going natural...what has worked for those of you with natural hair? For those of you without do you think I should take the plunge? It takes ballz to do short hair o!

Old 07-27-2004, 04:20 AM   #4 (permalink)

Default Re: Re: I'm planning on going au naturale...

Originally posted by pebbles
You know u don't have to cut it all off to fix the thinness right? You could get a cool hair style that is about chin length, that way you get ride of the split ends. Just make sure you cut a style that suits ur face. I usually prefer white or Hispanic ppl to cut my hair, they know how to make the ends uneven so it doesn't look heavy at the bottom.
Yeah I'm planning on cutting it in stages sha, I'm not going to do a big chop or anything... but it's been thin for about 2 years now and when I first started my hair was very thick so I think I need some years to get that back...
Old 07-27-2004, 04:20 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally posted by afroberry
Visit www.nappturality.com for inspiration
cut it all off- no need to shave it like moro-moro but cut off all the dead ends.

mmmm 'Berry!
That site was off the chain gurl, thanks o.
Old 07-27-2004, 04:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Black Widow Honey

Total Points: 663.21
Rep Power: 138287 Annabella Chaut is a legendAnnabella Chaut is a legendAnnabella Chaut is a legendAnnabella Chaut is a legendAnnabella Chaut is a legendAnnabella Chaut is a legendAnnabella Chaut is a legendAnnabella Chaut is a legendAnnabella Chaut is a legendAnnabella Chaut is a legendAnnabella Chaut is a legend

I started all over again..chopped every thing off. It suited me..Short hair doesnt fit everybody so make sure it'll look good on you before you take the plunge.
Old 07-27-2004, 04:38 AM   #7 (permalink)

gurl! i did a big SNIP SNAP

and im luving it

so dont worry..go head..chop it all off
Old 07-27-2004, 04:39 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally posted by Annabella Chaut
I started all over again..chopped every thing off. It suited me..Short hair doesnt fit everybody so make sure it'll look good on you before you take the plunge.
amen! we did d same shit didnt we
Old 07-27-2004, 05:25 AM   #9 (permalink)

Default Re

Originally posted by z-baby
gurl! i did a big SNIP SNAP

and im luving it

so dont worry..go head..chop it all off
So how will I know whether it will look good or not, na to chop am abi?
Old 07-27-2004, 09:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
TEMP. REFORMED KOLOSIAN

Total Points: 200.00

I SHAVED IT ALL OFF MEN...STARTED WITH HALF AN INCH AND LUVD IT SOOO MUCH IM TEMPTED TO TRIM IT SO LOW AGAIN.....CUZ ITS REALLY GROWIN NOW.....UNLESS D SHAPE OF UR FACE IS LIKE DAT OF AN AMOEBA I DONT SEE Y IT SHUDNT FIT U..(I DONT BAG DAT WHOLE ''U GOTTA HAVE D FACE D PULL D SHORT HAIR LOOK ISH)....GOIN NATURAL IS ONE OF D BEST DECISIONS IVE EVA MADE...I ONLY WISH I DID IT SOONER.....
Old 07-27-2004, 04:05 PM   #11 (permalink)

Default Re: Re: Re: I'm planning on going au naturale...

Yeah I'm planning on cutting it in stages sha, I'm not going to do a big chop or anything..
that was what i did this time around. I've been natural over different periods of my life , the first time i just braided and got weaves and cut off the permed hair everytime i took off the braids or weave . This happened for a whole year and i had long natural hair after a year. The second time i just cut the whole thing short and sported the skin cut for a few months, that was cool too but it's not very versatile on some outfits like when u wanna wear a dress or go for certain occassions were u want a certain look, it felt uncomfortable. Then this period which started last yr , after relaxing my hair i played with it for as long as possible , by setting , rolling etc then when it got really due i went ahead and braided it. I took off the braids every one to two months and trimmed off the permed hair till it was thick and rebraided. The first time i really exosed my natural hair was this summer and i sport a 'fro, twists etc. sometimes i just wash, condition , towel dry and leave the house and it's very cute. I think going in stages is very convenient , so u rn't jolted into suddenly short hair if u aren't comfortable with it. Another thing i did throughout the year was take hair vitamins, folic acid and b-complex. I don't know how much it helped , but my hair is very healthy,

Old 07-27-2004, 04:06 PM   #12 (permalink)

another thng , i actually blow my hair with lustra's texturizer for men 'cause my natural hair was absolutely unmanageable. If it turns out u can't manage ur hair u can do that to soften it some.

Old 07-27-2004, 04:30 PM   #13 (permalink)

Default Re

another thng , i actually blow my hair with lustra's texturizer for men 'cause my natural hair was absolutely unmanageable. If it turns out u can't manage ur hair u can do that to soften it some.
Nne that's what I think I will do oh, just do the braids for about 8 months or so and be cutting off the relaxed hair everytime I take them out. Nappturality.com is such an awesome website for inspiriation, you should check it out.
Old 07-28-2004, 02:46 AM   #14 (permalink)

Total Points: 42.00
Rep Power: 943 afroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legendafroberry is a legend

That site was off the chain gurl, thanks o.
no problem! best o' luck!

mmmm 'Berry!

afroberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 08:45 PM   #15 (permalink)

Bank: 8,493,022,245.05
Total Points: 8,493,029,200.13
Rep Power: 21474872 Homiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legend
Default Re: Re

I have the same thinning problem and my hair is also about shoulder length. I'm thinking of going natural too, haven't gotten a perm/touch-up for about 5/6months and i've kept my hair in braids. I'm doing mine is stages, cutting some of my perm off as my natural hair grows. My own problem/fear now is whether it would suit me or not....i'd sure hate to chop off all my hair and be walking around like a chimp...

Nne that's what I think I will do oh, just do the braids for about 8 months or so and be cutting off the relaxed hair everytime I take them out. Nappturality.com is such an awesome website for inspiriation, you should check it out.
I can do all things thru christ who strengthens me...........phil 4:13
Homiluv is offline   Reply With Quote