Old 07-12-2004, 06:03 AM   #16 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474872 pebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legend

so what ethnicity do u consider ok for u and ur kids to marry?

Originally posted by Phantom
Adamna, it has nothing to do with being raised in the US, you'd have encountered the same thing raised in Naija.

Personally, I can't imagine marrying a Yoruba dude. I just can't imagine my kids being called Tayo or Bunmi... let's not even talk about having one Adebayo kind last name.

Old 07-12-2004, 06:11 AM   #17 (permalink)
Phantom

Originally posted by dupreejohnson
so name them something different..................
If the Yoruba dude doesn't mind the 'no Yoruba in this house' rule and all my kids having Isoko first and last names then hey, that's cool.

so what ethnicity do u consider ok for u and ur kids to marry?
I aint gat no kids but if I do, I think they can marry whomever.

As for me, I just can't imagine it. Personally, I prefer other minorities mainly Delta/Edo/Rivers peeps. But you never know what's going to happen in the future abi? I just can't imagine marrying a Yoruba/Hausa/Igbo person. Igbo to a much lesser degree though...
Old 07-12-2004, 06:18 AM   #18 (permalink)

Bank: 251,266,757.58
Total Points: 251,267,957.58
Rep Power: 2023289 omadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legend

Originally posted by adanma
And the funny thing is my MOM IS NOT IGBO..she's from Calabar..she's ibibio!! And my father's rebuttal for that is "but she can speak igbo"....uh SO WHAT!!!...THAT MEANS NOTHING.!! So now because she can speak your language she is qualified as an igbo?? So because I speak spanish you can now call me hispanic??

Na wow o...lol@"she can speak Igbo"...That's messed up.
kai...an assembly of you aunts and uncles just to give y'all a lecture about dating?
...I feel like some info. is being left out.
What did y'all REALLY do?Complete gist please !
omadandala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 06:39 AM   #19 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,501,642.25
Rep Power: 712556 tike2u is a legendtike2u is a legendtike2u is a legendtike2u is a legendtike2u is a legendtike2u is a legendtike2u is a legendtike2u is a legendtike2u is a legendtike2u is a legendtike2u is a legend

Adamna, it has nothing to do with being raised in the US, you'd have encountered the same thing raised in Naija.

Personally, I can't imagine marrying a Yoruba dude. I just can't imagine my kids being called Tayo or Bunmi... let's not even talk about having one Adebayo kind last name.
na wa o and d reason being?cos i hope its not just d name issue see this is how d trend is passed on...u'll prolly try to instill that same mentality in ur kids too!
Old 07-12-2004, 06:51 AM   #20 (permalink)
Phantom

Originally posted by tike2u
na wa o and d reason being?cos i hope its not just d name issue see this is how d trend is passed on...u'll prolly try to instill that same mentality in ur kids too!
I'll try not to. It's not about the name really. I just have issues with about 60% of the population i.e. the three major ethnic groups and I'd rather not marry into their group. That's it mainly.

Don't get me wrong, it's not about the individuals but I don't want myself (by marriage) to become part of any of those groups or have to change my name -hyphenated or not - to bare any of those names. Plus I don't want other people to ever think of me as Yoruba/Igbo/Hausa.

I do realize this is a little closeminded, but I guess you can call it tribalism or reverse tribalism or whatever. But it comes from being a minority in Naija.
Old 07-12-2004, 07:05 AM   #21 (permalink)

Bank: 835,644.20
Total Points: 1,899,647.63
Rep Power: 2470000000 Bike$ is a legendBike$ is a legendBike$ is a legendBike$ is a legendBike$ is a legendBike$ is a legendBike$ is a legendBike$ is a legendBike$ is a legendBike$ is a legendBike$ is a legend

Originally posted by adanma
no...stop being lazy and read it....it's not that hard.
LOL

Music video - No Shaking by Bikey

http://youtu.be/3uo5Kje3J3s?hd=1

i wanro kno who banned my lopez mayne!
it berra not be dat scundrel ireke lookin mofo called bikes
lemme even bomb this whole shege gan sef once and 4all

"To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better..
Bike$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 07:12 AM   #22 (permalink)

Bank: 732,290.71
Total Points: 732,313.16
Rep Power: 223985 soulbrotha is a legendsoulbrotha is a legendsoulbrotha is a legendsoulbrotha is a legendsoulbrotha is a legendsoulbrotha is a legendsoulbrotha is a legendsoulbrotha is a legendsoulbrotha is a legendsoulbrotha is a legendsoulbrotha is a legend

I'll try not to. It's not about the name really. I just have issues with about 60% of the population i.e. the three major ethnic groups and I'd rather not marry into their group. That's it mainly.

Don't get me wrong, it's not about the individuals but I don't want myself (by marriage) to become part of any of those groups or have to change my name -hyphenated or not - to bare any of those names. Plus I don't want other people to ever think of me as Yoruba/Igbo/Hausa.

I do realize this is a little closeminded, but I guess you can call it tribalism or reverse tribalism or whatever. But it comes from being a minority in Naija.
...and being looked down on for being so. Love a little.

By clicking on this link you do something great, worthwhile and bless someone else other than yourself, do it, the rewards are enormous

SOULBROTHA IS NOW ON iTUNES!!!

SOULBROTHA'S DEBUT ALBUM - "The Ezekiel Hanani LP" IS OUT NOW!!

DELTA STATE, we runnin' this site thing!
THE LIST KEEPS ON GETTING LONGER!!! shakara, Maestrodamuz,
Diallo, Chif, Arinze (aka Ndokwa's finest), Belinda, Righty/Lefty, Tega, Urbobo, Africancutie, Nappy Chick, Festac_boi, Pritti, Dakovinchy, Oni, Nene, Naija-Piper, crAzy dOn, SCOMISS, Dx, bigtallman, Special, brasco, Fancyface316, Soulbrotha,Voodooman, worldtraveler, OmoDelta, Drew_mob, Ogbevire, Vinyloae, homiluvafren, wakawaka, E.I, Blackhoney 112, Phantom, Chinadoll, KingLoku, Agent MI-5, Bets, Anakin, Molei, Nne-Baby, Chief_Waffi, Blueskies, eby187, Chin2, Lanju, Cynthesx, Thinkingman, Dark Angel, Zee-baby, Deltaqueen, 1babe4hotmales, divaliciousness, Obidi_is da 1, O.I, I.I.
soulbrotha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 07:13 AM   #23 (permalink)

Bank: 251,266,757.58
Total Points: 251,267,957.58
Rep Power: 2023289 omadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legend

Don't get me wrong, it's not about the individuals but I don't want myself (by marriage) to become part of any of those groups or have to change my name -hyphenated or not - to bare any of those names. Plus I don't want other people to ever think of me as Yoruba/Igbo

lol...abi o...
omadandala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 08:32 AM   #24 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3254879 Odogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legend

Adanma, first of all, i am not surprised at your reaction since you are born and raised in Northamerica. So the whole notion of "assimulation" and "integreation" is thrown around everywhere but NOBODY practices it.
NEWSFLASH!!!! people like to marry their own. The white america do that to the fullest. I rarely see any white male marrying a black woman especially way up in the coperate ladder.
Now if u wanna call your parents ideas primitive,archaic and ludacris, that's fine. But so is everyone else. I do not c the big deal in understanding the fact that "birds of da same feather flock together"

IT's funny sha coz u don not even know half the story sef coz withing Igbo land, there are "no go areas" too. But i will not bore u with dat.
Old 07-12-2004, 08:47 AM   #25 (permalink)

Total Points: 4,417.85
Rep Power: 1654 Keepin-ItReal is a legendKeepin-ItReal is a legendKeepin-ItReal is a legendKeepin-ItReal is a legendKeepin-ItReal is a legendKeepin-ItReal is a legendKeepin-ItReal is a legendKeepin-ItReal is a legendKeepin-ItReal is a legendKeepin-ItReal is a legendKeepin-ItReal is a legend

Originally posted by Onyiiboy
Today, my uncles (including Adamna's dad), my aunt, and my parents had a LONG discussion with me about my yoruba GF. Among the topics mentioned were:

1. dating is a distraction in college
2. yorubas are evil
3. i'm too good for her
4. yorubas are wicked
5. yorubas are the enemies of igbos
6. i shouldnt' think of gurls in college
7. i have to choose between the family and her
now that's realistic and the others are trash

I don't hate, i just tell it like it is.
For a makeover, dial 1-NR-MAKEOVER. Toll free. Open 24 hrs/7 days.
Keepin-ItReal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 09:06 AM   #26 (permalink)
Lolo I of Nibo

Bank: 98,835.64
Total Points: 99,975.49
Rep Power: 13491 MIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legend

they havent started, but bring home an Ngwa man, and I bet they'll be like kai, nooo they eat human beings, just like Odogwu said, or it'll be noooo oh they are osu, or nooo oh they treat their wives bad in that family!

LOL anyway this weekend, a close fam friend was like dont marry Yoruba or Calabar, instead of that do like N (N is a family friend's daughter)did, and marry Caribbean or black american, and ur folks will give u land to build a country home. After all they look just like us, infact throw on native wear and u wont even know the difference.
I was like hmm i guess Calabar persin doesnt look like me, see me see trouble.

I was like aaah, u all made it easy for me, I've the whole black diaspora as my oyster, just not the whole naija I think Aruba is callin my name

Blessed by the Most High

Need some inspiration? Check out Heartlight for powerful words

"Ugo chara acha adi(ghi) echu echu"--Igbo proverb-
The eagle never flies low. One that is well trained will stand the test of time/will endure.

C'est Dieu qui donne la vie.
MIprincess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 10:02 AM   #27 (permalink)
As Real As They Come

Bank: 65,305.83
Total Points: 198,104.95
Rep Power: 1373964 ASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legend

Yoruba dudes don't want u either. What's funny is chicks on here can find a decent guy to ask them out, then they act like dey are just not into dating. Bahahahaha, funny, as if ur were cute and petite like halle, u won't date naijas, especially Yorubas.

Keep making ursef feel good.

To one that is so selfless, I’ve been so selfish
And now even in your absence I can’t still help it
Longing to re-live the times we spent
Yearning to hear you speak once again

To the twin sister I never had
Thanks for loving me and being my right hand
And though through rough times I wasn’t there
You always let me know you still cared

And as you have fulfilled your mission on earth
I pray I get to touch as many people’s hearts
And if we meet again in another life
I’ll gladly take your place through pain and strife
ASTUTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 10:05 AM   #28 (permalink)
As Real As They Come

Bank: 65,305.83
Total Points: 198,104.95
Rep Power: 1373964 ASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legendASTUTE is a legend

Originally posted by MIprincess
they havent started, but bring home an Ngwa man, and I bet they'll be like kai, nooo they eat human beings, just like Odogwu said, or it'll be noooo oh they are osu, or nooo oh they treat their wives bad in that family!

LOL anyway this weekend, a close fam friend was like dont marry Yoruba or Calabar, instead of that do like N (N is a family friend's daughter)did, and marry Caribbean or black american, and ur folks will give u land to build a country home. After all they look just like us, infact throw on native wear and u wont even know the difference.
I was like hmm i guess Calabar persin doesnt look like me, see me see trouble.

I was like aaah, u all made it easy for me, I've the whole black diaspora as my oyster, just not the whole naija I think Aruba is callin my name

I say ignorance is bliss.... make ppl who wish, rejoice in their stupidity. Those who have eyes, ears and a brain will learn.

To one that is so selfless, I’ve been so selfish
And now even in your absence I can’t still help it
Longing to re-live the times we spent
Yearning to hear you speak once again

To the twin sister I never had
Thanks for loving me and being my right hand
And though through rough times I wasn’t there
You always let me know you still cared

And as you have fulfilled your mission on earth
I pray I get to touch as many people’s hearts
And if we meet again in another life
I’ll gladly take your place through pain and strife
ASTUTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 11:09 AM   #29 (permalink)

Bank: 1,826,156,312.22
Total Points: 1,826,171,252.07
Rep Power: 3957570 Bros Ye is a legendBros Ye is a legendBros Ye is a legendBros Ye is a legendBros Ye is a legendBros Ye is a legendBros Ye is a legendBros Ye is a legendBros Ye is a legendBros Ye is a legendBros Ye is a legend

she pple like us (nigerians) are used to it.
when other africans say ahhhh naija pple stay away from them
they are dangerous oh!

even as close as ghanians
i didn't know it this bad in my own backyard!!

na wa oh!

Bros Ye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 12:16 PM   #30 (permalink)

Bank: 262,794,606,378.72
Total Points: 264,335,877,383.34
Rep Power: 3474405 Lord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legend

its funny how girls come up in here saying i wont date yoruba like we give fuck there are millions of fish in the sea darling
its a buyers market

This space is available for rent