![]() Join Date: Feb 2002
I want to start making my own traditional outfits. Any tips from anybody. Ok Ima drop some tips myself and if y'all have any drop them on this thread.
I have a lot of dress making patterns from vogue , burda etc. I have collected them over the past couple of months and what I look for are patterns that will look really stylish in native or lace and then I put a little twist and come up with a traditional outfit. Also for nice dutch wax print material I get a quarterly catalogue from vsilico or whatever they r called (they r based in Chicago) attached is a picture of a fishtail skirt pattern I just bought and I'm going to design a blouse to go with it. ok holla if u've got any creative ideas.
sugar sugar how i get so fly ? "I have learned that success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome while trying to succeed. Out of the hard and unusual struggle through which he is compelled to pass, he gets a strength, a confidence, that one misses whose pathway is comparatively smooth by reason of birth and race" - Booker T Washington "Recipe for Success: Study while others are sleeping; work while others are loafing; prepare while others are playing; and dream while others are wishing." -William A. Ward No one is right, we're all wrong. If you are right, you are only right based on experience gained from being wrong before or you were just lucky.The best you can do is to work hard until you find your purpose in life- crystal_loco ![]() |
Schiaparelli**
![]() Join Date: Sep 2002
i dream of a day when african print fabrics will become the staple wear of the balck woma everywhere....
...amo return with some suggestions
Не судите книгу ее покрытием - Don't judge a book by its cover Если Вы дуете на искру, это ускоряется в пламя, если Вы плюете на этом, это вымирает; все же оба Вы делаете с вашим ртом. - If you blow upon a spark, it quickens into flame, if you spit on it, it dies out; yet both you do with your mouth. |
![]() Join Date: Nov 2000
well i think there are 2 approaches here
1) make a dress using your patters but with naija kinda materials. 2) Add a bit of naija flavour to european style dress like say embrodery or giving it a few details bt with african amterial fabric. the only problem with african maetrials in my opinion na da quality, the stiching per inch(or whatever it;s called) is not as much. So da maetrials are thicker and do not flow as well as fine fabrics from other parts of da world. But if da scotish kilt skirt can be a style, we can make something out of nice adire matrials with wonderful paterns, too numerous to count lol
I'm not trying to be sarcastic or anything...I actually think it's cool ![]()
about the material I know what u r saying, to take care of that there r tie and dyed fabrics that r soft and dyed to look African. I don't know embroidery and the only person i know that does it overseas is in Canada, but that's an idea u just gave me, thx.
yeah I liked it too. I just hate that clip or whatever they put on the rightside