Old 02-20-2004, 05:09 AM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 31.00
Default bleaching

Why is it that some Naija women use skin bleaching creams? They say its to clear up the skin but i'm not buying that. I am absolutely repulsed that this is a common practice with the women in Naija.

Last edited by black-m-press; 02-20-2004 at 05:15 AM..
black-m-press is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 05:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Eleha

Total Points: 7,894.00
Rep Power: 136331 Adunni is a legendAdunni is a legendAdunni is a legendAdunni is a legendAdunni is a legendAdunni is a legendAdunni is a legendAdunni is a legendAdunni is a legendAdunni is a legendAdunni is a legend
Default Re: bleaching

Originally posted by black-m-press
Why is it that some Naija women use skin bleaching creams? They say its to clear up the skin but i'm not buying that. I am absolutely repulsed that this is a common practice with the women in Naija.
yellow fever...the most disgusting thing is when they bleach themselves to oblivion....they get these green and red things on their faces...knuckles black as hell.....gross

Eni ri nkan he...ti o fe ku pelu e...owo eni ti o ti sonu nko...aye la ba aye ni a o fi si le si...duro na...wo eyin e wo o...
Adunni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:54 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 722392 Babyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legendBabyluvâ„¢ is a legend

he-llo... wot planet r u on? it aint only common with the women in naija... its evrywhere man.. naija, yankee, jand, togo.. worrefa!!

Old 02-20-2004, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 34.00
Rep Power: 28 classyteaser is a glorious beacon of lightclassyteaser is a glorious beacon of lightclassyteaser is a glorious beacon of lightclassyteaser is a glorious beacon of lightclassyteaser is a glorious beacon of lightclassyteaser is a glorious beacon of light

i think bleachin is just nasty even the men do it and it look so disqurstin.

why cant people just see the beauty in bein dark skin? dark skin is beautiful. those anyone in here feel the same way i feel about dark skin? expecially the brovas, they look so nice. peeps like tyrese!
Old 02-20-2004, 04:43 PM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 196446 Ebony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legend

Default Re: Re: bleaching

Originally posted by classyteaser
i think bleachin is just nasty even the men do it and it look so disqurstin.

why cant people just see the beauty in bein dark skin? dark skin is beautiful. those anyone in here feel the same way i feel about dark skin? expecially the brovas, they look so nice. peeps like tyrese!
I'm feeling that!!!
Old 02-20-2004, 05:20 PM   #6 (permalink)

Default Re: Re: bleaching

Originally posted by Babyluv™
he-llo... wot planet r u on? it aint only common with the women in naija... its evrywhere man.. naija, yankee, jand, togo.. worrefa!!

Umm....the planet where i cant comprehend how a person despises their skin so much they put chemicals to scrub the black off LITERALY. When oyibo peson dey lie for sun to dey look like us....we are ashamed of our color. There is nothing more sexy to me thann a... "so black he's blue brother" with buttermilk skin.
Old 02-21-2004, 04:00 AM   #7 (permalink)

Total Points: 234.00

To answer that ;we have to look at the society that seems to teach women from America to Africa that the lighter you are, the better. I am a Nigerian born in the U.S. I have never been back home. I would love to one day. But I was surprise of the numerous women in Nigeria who are bleaching themselves. We have embrassed the European way of thinking and we are loosing our identity as well as our culture. I know that I love my dark skin. The first woman on this planet looked like me and at the end she will still look like me; a beautiful, dark , queen that I am. I wouldn't trade it in for the world. White women are trying to even look like us these days. They are tanning themselves all the time. Telling us that dark is not in but they go behind out backs and take away our identity. Hell they are wearing weaves and braids just like us. I can't even tell who is black anymore. But to conclude, African women must embrase their beauty. We resemble the queens of the past. We are exotic human beings and in reality, the "other" want to be us and envy us. I love being dark: its sexy, it rich with vibrant beauty, and no one can even compare to us.
Old 02-21-2004, 04:07 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally posted by Aaliyah
To answer that ;we have to look at the society that seems to teach women from America to Africa that the lighter you are, the better. I am a Nigerian born in the U.S. I have never been back home. I would love to one day. But I was surprise of the numerous women in Nigeria who are bleaching themselves. We have embrassed the European way of thinking and we are loosing our identity as well as our culture. I know that I love my dark skin. The first woman on this planet looked like me and at the end she will still look like me; a beautiful, dark , queen that I am. I wouldn't trade it in for the world. White women are trying to even look like us these days. They are tanning themselves all the time. Telling us that dark is not in but they go behind out backs and take away our identity. Hell they are wearing weaves and braids just like us. I can't even tell who is black anymore. But to conclude, African women must embrase their beauty. We resemble the queens of the past. We are exotic human beings and in reality, the "other" want to be us and envy us. I love being dark: its sexy, it rich with vibrant beauty, and no one can even compare to us.

AMEN to that!!

http://members.blackplanet.com/black-m-press/

Old 02-22-2004, 01:33 AM   #9 (permalink)

Total Points: 216.00

blacks r not the only ones that bleach, Asians bleach even more than blacks, caucasians tan at the risk of cancer, so go figure!

"I have learned that success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome while trying to succeed. Out of the hard and unusual struggle through which he is compelled to pass, he gets a strength, a confidence, that one misses whose pathway is comparatively smooth by reason of birth and race"
- Booker T Washington

"Recipe for Success: Study while others are sleeping; work while others are loafing; prepare while others are playing; and dream while others are wishing."
-William A. Ward

No one is right, we're all wrong. If you are right, you are only right based on experience gained from being wrong before or you were just lucky.The best you can do is to work hard until you find your purpose in life- crystal_loco

Crystal_loco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 09:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Incorrigible Freakette

Total Points: 481.00

Ok so I tried and I noticed I looked better n the boys hollard more, wat did you expect me to do? stop???

<marquee><b>I LOVE MA JUICEY</marquee></b>

Perspire to acquire the desire you admire, do not retire but refire in order to acquire the desire you admire in life! A determined hunter is never frightened in the jungle
foxylady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 10:28 PM   #11 (permalink)

Total Points: 234.00

Are you serious.
Well I know this sound repetitive but A guy will only appreciate you for what is in the inside not the outside. And If a guy is trying to holla at you because of the shade of color of your skin than you need to start judging the quality of boys trying to approach you. I bet you were pretty before you bleached yourself, but if this is a joke then, haha!, that's funny.
Old 02-23-2004, 10:52 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally posted by foxylady
Ok so I tried and I noticed I looked better n the boys hollard more, wat did you expect me to do? stop???

You noticed you looked 'better'? according to who's standards. The white man has been telling us from the dawn of time that we are black monkeys and we of course listen. But dont we see that it is our blackness that they are attracted to? The only negative that there is to our skin is the reactions that we get from others and ourselves. Have you ever seen skin as beautiful....as wrinkle free?

http://members.blackplanet.com/black-m-press/

Old 02-24-2004, 04:05 PM   #13 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,087.00

You noticed you looked 'better'? according to who's standards. .The white man has been telling us from the dawn of time that we are black monkeys and we of course listen . But dont we see that it is our blackness that they are attracted to? The only negative that there is to our skin is the reactions that we get from others and ourselves. Have you ever seen skin as beautiful....as wrinkle free?
moreover they r the ones sitting under the sun to get a tan
Old 02-24-2004, 08:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
*~Lyric~*

Bank: 7,038.06
Total Points: 7,064.96
Rep Power: 293972 Rarity is a legendRarity is a legendRarity is a legendRarity is a legendRarity is a legendRarity is a legendRarity is a legendRarity is a legendRarity is a legendRarity is a legendRarity is a legend

~tell me about it....eww~
I hear the words you say
To never walk away from me and leave behind
The promise of a lifetime
I still remember the pledge you made to me
I am holding on to the hope I have inside
With you I will stay through every day
Putting my understanding aside
And I am comforted~

"Our Talents Are The Gifts That God Gives To Us
What We Make Of Our Talents Is Our Gifts Back To God"... Leo Buscaglia*

RIP BRO MUYIWA

During your short stay here
You touched us tremendously
Promise that in everything we do
We will always think of you..
God be with you till we meet again..

With all our love
Your little sisters~
Rarity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 11:55 PM   #15 (permalink)

Total Points: 494.65

MJ probably looks at his old self and then his new self and cries- What da hell did i do to maself .

Its an ongoing problem . People do it simply because the think they'll look betterand be hollad at . There are a lot of side effects but most women are willin to take the risk. The whole world thinks the lighter you are the better. They equate darkness with dirtiness. Bleaching is an esteem issue
- Indians, Black , Mexicans, etc everyone bleaches tryin to be like the white man. It's sad

----COKE BODY & FANTA FACE OR VICEVERSA
Exoticspice is offline   Reply With Quote