Old 01-21-2004, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 644340 ndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legend
Default Semi permenant Hair Color.

Beautiful collection by Clairol. Im attempting to change my hair color from black to reddish brown.

I did an internet search and they said that semi permanents don't color black hair. So what's the point?? Did I just waste 3 bucks? Also, I had my hair relaxed about 3 weeks ago. I was planning to color my hair this Friday night cuz of an engagement this weekend. But some of the tips I have collected say that I should wait to get my hair relaxed and do it that same day or at worst within 7 to 10 days.

I do NOT want to go to a stylist to color my hair. My mother does this on her own and her hair is long and strong so I'm not too worried about breakage if I follow the directions carefully.

For those of u who use semi permenants, got any advice for me??

Old 01-21-2004, 05:32 PM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 6,638.00
Rep Power: 0 Vendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legend

I used a clairol jazzing color right after I got a relaxer and it took but it was very subtle, it did last for a long time because I used heat (supposedly using heat will make the color semi permanent as opposed to temporary) it actually nevr completely came out, I ended cutting it off....the main thing is that it probably wont come out looking like the color on the box depending on the natural color of ur hair, to achieve hair color thats really bright on dark hair Ull probably have to use some kinda peroxide, bleach or whatevr .

Last edited by Vendela; 01-22-2004 at 07:42 AM..
Vendela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 10:17 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 113 BlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet Celebrity

If you really want the haircolor to show then forget about any box with a white person on it. Use the black haircolor products if you dont want to waste your money.

And from people Ive seen in the past who coloured their hair the same day they permed...Bad idea...the hair breaks very easily because of the bombardment of chemicals at once. I colour my hair 2 weeks after I perm it just to be safe. One week is probably OK too though.

Dark n' Lovely HairColour works really nice. The real trick is leaving the colour in for the approximate amount of time, or even a couple(2-5) minutes over, that it says on the box.

Old 01-22-2004, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 644340 ndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legend

If you really want the haircolor to show then forget about any box with a white person on it. Use the black haircolor products if you dont want to waste your money.

And from people Ive seen in the past who coloured their hair the same day they permed...Bad idea...the hair breaks very easily because of the bombardment of chemicals at once. I colour my hair 2 weeks after I perm it just to be safe. One week is probably OK too though.

Dark n' Lovely HairColour works really nice. The real trick is leaving the colour in for the approximate amount of time, or even a couple(2-5) minutes over, that it says on the box.
WHat happens to your hair during the coloring process?? Does it burn??? I wanted to use the permenant hair color but if the color job is crap then I'll have to cut my hair.

Old 01-22-2004, 08:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
ASAMPETE

Total Points: 7,150.61
Rep Power: 542693 Oderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legend

Originally posted by ndi_amaka
WHat happens to your hair during the coloring process?? Does it burn??? I wanted to use the permenant hair color but if the color job is crap then I'll have to cut my hair.

chemically treated hair can be quite porous – chemical dyes work by opening up the outer layer of the hair itself. some dyes work by coating the hair shaft rather than its being absorbed into the hair shaft. if your hair is very porous following a retouch then you could get the effect of uneven colour when you dye it.

Color me blessed by God

"Ibos can make water out of stone"
-Wole Soyinka

Oderah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2004, 10:12 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 113 BlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet Celebrity

I use permanent hair colour actually. Ive never used semi-permanent, but yes it does burn a little bit during the last 5 minutes or so but its not a crazy-like burn. And I do it myself and its never turned out bad. The directions are too easy to mess up. Pour haircolour liquid into developer bottle. Shake bottle to mix and apply to hair. Leave on for 15-25 minutes.

Old 01-23-2004, 03:17 AM   #7 (permalink)

I use permanent hair colour actually. Ive never used semi-permanent, but yes it does burn a little bit during the last 5 minutes or so but its not a crazy-like burn. And I do it myself and its never turned out bad. The directions are too easy to mess up. Pour haircolour liquid into developer bottle. Shake bottle to mix and apply to hair. Leave on for 15-25 minutes.
Is the color as permenant as they say it is??

Old 01-23-2004, 03:26 AM   #8 (permalink)

Is the color as permenant as they say it is??

If you dont use a colour enhancing shampoo and conditioner then the haircolour starts dying out after only 2 weeks. Depending on how fast your hair grows, you can have your natural hair colour back in maybe....a year.

Old 01-23-2004, 03:37 AM   #9 (permalink)

If you dont use a colour enhancing shampoo and conditioner then the haircolour starts dying out after only 2 weeks. Depending on how fast your hair grows, you can have your natural hair colour back in maybe....a year.
A year!!! I wish there was some way that I can try a hair color out without being so attached to it. I have to take graduation photos and I don't want some color that my grandkids are going to look at and say, "huh'??

Old 01-23-2004, 03:43 AM   #10 (permalink)

A year!!! I wish there was some way that I can try a hair color out without being so attached to it. I have to take graduation photos and I don't want some color that my grandkids are going to look at and say, "huh'??

Well you should know what colour will best fit your complexion. The top or the back of each box tells you what colour your hair will turn out after you dye it. Just don't get anything too drastic if you're scared.

Or just try a rinse instead. If you dont like the colour of the rinse at least, you can wash it out once and its pretty much gone.

Old 01-23-2004, 06:08 AM   #11 (permalink)
Incorrigible Freakette

Total Points: 481.00

If you dont want a permanent color, there are colors that last only six weeks and wear off, you have to ask for temporary colors. I just colored my hair with clairol. If was suppose to be reddish brown but it was hardly noticeable, I was pissed and still plan to call them for my refund but it might have been because my hair was natural! The last time I colored my hair Auburn, I finally had to cut it off cus it did not wear off.

all this tale is just to say, I dont think there are semi permanent hair colors.

<marquee><b>I LOVE MA JUICEY</marquee></b>

Perspire to acquire the desire you admire, do not retire but refire in order to acquire the desire you admire in life! A determined hunter is never frightened in the jungle

Last edited by foxylady; 01-23-2004 at 06:14 AM..
foxylady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2004, 09:52 AM   #12 (permalink)

Total Points: 6,638.00
Rep Power: 0 Vendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legendVendela is a legend
Default hey foxy

lemme know if U find a good color...I just got loreal open which is a soft permanent color (supposedly low ammonia), a wine/brown color cant wait to try it and see if it shows at all..Imma wait for spring first though cos the weather is too cold for me to let my tiny little afro hair out
Old 01-23-2004, 03:01 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally posted by foxylady
If you dont want a permanent color, there are colors that last only six weeks and wear off, you have to ask for temporary colors. I just colored my hair with clairol. If was suppose to be reddish brown but it was hardly noticeable, I was pissed and still plan to call them for my refund but it might have been because my hair was natural! The last time I colored my hair Auburn, I finally had to cut it off cus it did not wear off.

all this tale is just to say, I dont think there are semi permanent hair colors.
That's the color I bought!! Dang, I hope it works on me. Maybe if I buy two bottles worth???

Someone had told me that it wont show up all that well cuz my hair is dark and since there is no ammonia it can't lift my natural color out.

Old 01-23-2004, 07:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Incorrigible Freakette

That's the color I bought!! Dang, I hope it works on me. Maybe if I buy two bottles worth???

Someone had told me that it wont show up all that well cuz my hair is dark and since there is no ammonia it can't lift my natural color out.
I guess thats why it didnt work that well on me cus it has no ammonia and my hair is natural. I even kept it for a lil longer than 25 minutes, it still wasnt too colorful. at least not the way I wanted it to look. If you dint know my hair was jet blk, you wont know I changed ma hair color

prolly two bottles will make a difference

Perspire to acquire the desire you admire, do not retire but refire in order to acquire the desire you admire in life! A determined hunter is never frightened in the jungle
Old 01-23-2004, 07:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Incorrigible Freakette

Default Re: hey foxy

Originally posted by Vendela
lemme know if U find a good color...I just got loreal open which is a soft permanent color (supposedly low ammonia), a wine/brown color cant wait to try it and see if it shows at all..Imma wait for spring first though cos the weather is too cold for me to let my tiny little afro hair out
you got an afro too? das cute. I just got back form naija so ma hair is braided. I will recolor it when I take the braids out.I always stick to products for lk hair so i dont know if I will ever try Loreal. let me know if it comes out good, Ill prolly try thier product nect time.