Old 05-15-2003, 01:33 AM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 197.00
Default Outfit for wedding

Help, I'm going to two weddings this summer and I have no clue what to wear. Any advice would be helpful. Also, I have no clue what gifts to buy.
I can do all things through Him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13
faye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 113 BlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet Celebrity

What kind of weddings are they? Outside weddings? African weddings? Church weddings? I suggest just a long dress that you can move in thats not too flashy.

Old 05-15-2003, 05:22 PM   #3 (permalink)

Location: Uncle Seggy aka Daddy's arms smoking weed and sipping....
Bank: 16,601,808.64
Total Points: 16,669,200.64
Rep Power: 21368022 bets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legendbets is a legend

a nice long dress with all the back open to the top of your butt and then flare after that.
jsut found this online(diff from the above description)
bets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,912.48
Rep Power: 195 ewucanbeer is a rep whore!ewucanbeer is a rep whore!ewucanbeer is a rep whore!ewucanbeer is a rep whore!ewucanbeer is a rep whore!ewucanbeer is a rep whore!ewucanbeer is a rep whore!ewucanbeer is a rep whore!ewucanbeer is a rep whore!ewucanbeer is a rep whore!ewucanbeer is a rep whore!

What kind of weddings are they? Outside weddings? African weddings? Church weddings? I suggest just a long dress that you can move in thats not too flashy.
Good question.

Are you looking to catch an eye or two or are you taken?
Old 05-17-2003, 02:54 AM   #5 (permalink)

I'm guessing they're Church weddings. One is a nigerian wedding and the other is a white wedding.

Well, maybe i could catch an eye or two but that's not the reason I'm going.

I'm going to support my friends.

What about the gifts? I have no clue.

Thanx for the suggestions. I don't know about the black dress. It's going to be hot and I feel like a black dress would be best. I'll see what I can find.

Last edited by faye; 05-17-2003 at 02:57 AM..
Old 05-17-2003, 09:34 AM   #6 (permalink)

wear something simple and decent in bright colors like peach/cream/yellow etc. It can be a nice skirt suit/dress with a big straw hat or som'n like that with matching shoes and accessories like a fan/clutch bag/ simple jewelery. As per gifts , pick a household item, something u think will come in handy in their home. Find out if they r registered @ any stores weeding registry , or u just walk into any stores household section and pick something u would like.
Old 05-18-2003, 06:13 AM   #7 (permalink)

Total Points: 453.00

Great suggestions Nene! I have the same issue myself this summer...s'like someone sent out a memo for everyone I know to get married at the same time (okay okay...I'm gently stretching the truth , I only have to go to 3 weddings.)

My tips -- Try to look *stunningly good* without
a) upstaging the bride.
b) looking like a bridesmaid when you are NOT one
c) being grossly under or over-dressed for the occassion.

It helps to know if the timing of the ceremony. For the day, light colors (like Nene suggested) will work well. I'm a fan of simple cuts in light fabrics like chiffon or silk (either plain or with subtle floral or geometric prints), you can accesorize all you want to dress it up. Stay away from Black and/or Red if you can. For evening weddings, you can get away with dark-er colors and a long-er gown but don't overdo it sha.

Personally, I'll be rockin' my lace (or any modifications of it) for the Naija weddings that I'm going to. For the other one, I'll have to get back to you...haven't got anything yet and its in a couple of weeks.

--mnT

It's MY world...YOU only live in it!

---| Welcome to the 'Tea party! |---
minTea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2003, 06:23 AM   #8 (permalink)

Lightbulb some ideas

these are from edressme.com

Old 05-18-2003, 06:25 AM   #9 (permalink)

Default anoda 1

I like this one...

Old 05-18-2003, 06:27 AM   #10 (permalink)

Smile last one...

another suggestion...

Old 05-18-2003, 06:37 AM   #11 (permalink)

Default did i say last one???

sorry, i lied...this is really the last one. pretty in pink.

Old 05-18-2003, 08:00 PM   #12 (permalink)

Rep Power: 113 BlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet Celebrity
Default Re: anoda 1

Originally posted by minTea
I like this one...

Perfect.

But arent those dresses showing off too much if they are church weddings? Theyre good for outside weddings or hall weddings but I dont think a Catholic church would agree with them.

Last edited by BlakByuty; 05-18-2003 at 08:02 PM..
Old 05-19-2003, 03:06 AM   #13 (permalink)

Thanx for the pictures. I like them all except the yellow one. The weddings aren't in Catholic churches but still I have to be careful what I wear.
Old 05-21-2003, 11:03 AM   #14 (permalink)

Total Points: 34.00
Rep Power: 28 classyteaser is a glorious beacon of lightclassyteaser is a glorious beacon of lightclassyteaser is a glorious beacon of lightclassyteaser is a glorious beacon of lightclassyteaser is a glorious beacon of lightclassyteaser is a glorious beacon of light

why are all the models white?

they are making me sick of those clothes.
Old 05-21-2003, 12:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
"RAZZOID OF NR"

Bank: 426.71
Total Points: 1,082,039,011.86
Rep Power: 21474916 Lanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legendLanju is a legend

Default SIMPLE

Buy a white suit

and just buy tops, and accesories to match. chikena

Lanju is offline   Reply With Quote