View Single Post
Old 11-25-2008, 07:45 AM   #99 (permalink)
seen

Bank: 34,337,963.70
Total Points: 34,365,261.15
Rep Power: 3513670 seen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legend

Originally Posted by Arokoyo View Post
Naija man and woman. Newly weds, delivers a child.
Is it required or is it the norm that the 2 inlaws come for your first baby?
Is it the norm that one of the mothers must stay for at least 3 months when your first baby is born to help you?
Who stays? Or which one is more common, husband's mother or wife's mother?

I am not Nigerian but I will answer from a Ghanaian perspective to give some diversity...The two inlaws/extended families do not come for the baby-only the woman's side because in Akan culture the child does not belong to the husband/or his extended family. However, in modern day the line is blurring.

Since the child belongs to the woman's side of the family-it is more common for her mother to come and stay. Theory- she and her family have gained a new addition to the family that needs to be catered to. Second, the bonds of mother/daughter presume she come and be with the new mother.
seen is offline   Reply With Quote