Old 04-07-2003, 06:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Journalistic Model

Bank: 7,472.10
Total Points: 7,561.10
Rep Power: 110 SMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet Celebrity
Cool ~ Hair Fashion Forward ~

Okay ya'll every two years I go through a transition phase where I cut my hair and start all over.. However this time I am seriosuly thinking about going natural.. I just took out my braids and I think I have like 2 inches of new growth my hair is damaged and I think this natchy way will help me claim my soulful hair back. I am currently wearing the new dready looking twist and I really dig it. However in the transition period, I'm still tyring to figure out what to do.

I read 3 books yesterday about natural hair.. really amazing.. to think of all the brutal things I have done to my God blessed hair!...

As much as I would love to carry my natchy hair proud and all.. In the industry I'm in, image is everything and my fear is that I will not get a certain gig or project because of hair disrimination.... I understand this and for that reason, I am going to wait until I at least have my ideal ideal job where my image will not define me, but my reputaion for great work will. ( which will be in the next year my fingers are crossed) So all you natchy divas... what should I do

• Braid lacing
  • weave on
  • wig
  • keep braiding

lemme know

~ ::: Bue Ice::: ~
  • __________________
    <center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>The Sky is no longer my limit....Space is...for now...</b></center>

<center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>...LIFT YOUR HEAD TO THE SKY AND KEEP TRYING... BELIEVE IN YOU AND IT WILL TAKE YOU HIGHER</b>
    ----Groove Therory

To know the true beauty of a woman is to see her in all her many forms</center> <FONT face="arial, helvetica" size="2" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>
    <center>IT'S LIVE</center></b><marquee direction= right>|I|C|Y|><>:<>www.icyworks.com <>>:<><|W|O|R|K|S|</marquee></marquee></b>
    <center> <center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>Left, Right & Center</b>

REINCARNATED CREATIVITY

</b>

</b></center>

Last edited by SMRT QT; 04-07-2003 at 07:25 PM..
    SMRT QT is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 04-07-2003, 08:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
    "Full Figured Delicacy"

Bank: 559,296.69
    Total Points: 563,853.54
    Rep Power: 65507 chubby cheekz is a legendchubby cheekz is a legendchubby cheekz is a legendchubby cheekz is a legendchubby cheekz is a legendchubby cheekz is a legendchubby cheekz is a legendchubby cheekz is a legendchubby cheekz is a legendchubby cheekz is a legendchubby cheekz is a legend

wow. I'm dealing with the same problem in which I don't know what to do with my hair either. I'm a stylish sista from my head to my toes. I love the many styles I do with my hair, but at the same time i'm damaging my hair also. I tell myself I'm not going to perm my hair and I go without a perm for like 2 months cuz I have braids,but once I take them out, there's nothing to do to it so i resort back to the perms and weaves. I was thinking of no longer perming my hair and get braids, twists, and if i wanted to give the afrocentric look a rest I would get the weaves by braiding my hair and getting the tracks sewed in. SO if I were you I would keep braiding let your hair stenghten and for your modeling image, get sown in weaves.

Orrrrrrrrrrrrrr, u can try the hair presses, with hot combs.
    Hope I was much help.
    chubby cheekz is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 04-07-2003, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 113 BlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet Celebrity

Keep braiding.

Old 04-07-2003, 10:15 PM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 250.00

donno ooo.
    but don't keep bradin' gurl.

creature of emotions...temptation of the flesh.

BlkOpal is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 04-07-2003, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
    Journalistic Model

Rep Power: 110 SMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet Celebrity

curvalicious.. I could keep braiding but I took out my braids on Saturday I lost so much hair it was utterly ridiculous.. However I was losing the perms instead.. I could keep braiding but even that is bad for your pores over time.. and I usually leave mine on for like 3-4 months so it gets matted.. I think I'll take the weave option. I'll do the curly afrocentric looking weaves.. watch out ya'll come M-day i will be rocking a proud weave with my natchy hair in the bottom..

P/L

Thanks

<center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>...LIFT YOUR HEAD TO THE SKY AND KEEP TRYING... BELIEVE IN YOU AND IT WILL TAKE YOU HIGHER</b>
    ----Groove Therory

To know the true beauty of a woman is to see her in all her many forms</center> <FONT face="arial, helvetica" size="2" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>
    <center>IT'S LIVE</center></b><marquee direction= right>|I|C|Y|><>:<>www.icyworks.com <>>:<><|W|O|R|K|S|</marquee></marquee></b>
    <center> <center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>Left, Right & Center</b>

REINCARNATED CREATIVITY

</b>

</b></center>
    Old 04-10-2003, 04:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
    Journalistic Model

yup I'm going natchy

----Groove Therory

REINCARNATED CREATIVITY

</b>

</b></center>

Last edited by SMRT QT; 04-10-2003 at 04:48 AM..
    Old 04-10-2003, 11:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
    Iya Lode of NR

Total Points: 274.00

i share ya feeling too. i am trying to go off weave.
    i haven't worn weave for the past 3 months and nobody seem to notice.
    so i am contemplating staying off weave completely.
    as per braids, i will do this once in a while.
    although it's really difficult to manage weave-less hair.
    i don't think i can do without perm as my hair is really coarse.
    i suggest u stop braiding/weave.
    Old 04-10-2003, 06:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
    EMPRESS

Total Points: 250.00

I went natural in 2000 as in i totally shaved off everything cos I was sick to my stomach with perms, Started growing it back in like 2001. In the beginning stages when ur natural hair is short there not much you can do except wear the afro.

But now I'm usually in braids, different types. Don't keep them in for too long that's what breaks the hair. Also you can do wigs, even thou I'm not a fan but I've see a number of natural hair sis in okay looking wigs. Also corn row and twists are option.

As for your job, well it's a very superficial industry unfortunately so except u wanna say fok it al and go head and go natural, i think u should leave the perm in until like u say, u've made it

bankyw.com Check it out
    www.modivah.com
    India Chaut is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 04-10-2003, 07:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
    Journalistic Model

Thanks missay

Originally posted by India
    I went natural in 2000 as in i totally shaved off everything cos I was sick to my stomach with perms, Started growing it back in like 2001. In the beginning stages when ur natural hair is short there not much you can do except wear the afro.

But now I'm usually in braids, different types. Don't keep them in for too long that's what breaks the hair. Also you can do wigs, even thou I'm not a fan but I've see a number of natural hair sis in okay looking wigs. Also corn row and twists are option.

As for your job, well it's a very superficial industry unfortunately so except u wanna say fok it al and go head and go natural, i think u should leave the perm in until like u say, u've made it

----Groove Therory

REINCARNATED CREATIVITY

</b>

</b></center>
    Old 04-11-2003, 12:48 AM   #10 (permalink)

Bank: 772,222.26
    Total Points: 772,397.26
    Rep Power: 121282 Funred55 is a legendFunred55 is a legendFunred55 is a legendFunred55 is a legendFunred55 is a legendFunred55 is a legendFunred55 is a legendFunred55 is a legendFunred55 is a legendFunred55 is a legendFunred55 is a legend

I went natural in 1999,

It was a long process, because, at first I was not willing to give up my hair, it was about shoulder length, but had at least 5 inches of dead-ends; it was a sad sight, but in my attempt to maintain my length, In the summer of 1999, I wore it in a bunch of twisted styles, but due to the fact that I still had a perm in it, it pretty much remained stagnant, and was quite unhealthy

So by the fall of 99', when I returned to Hampton U. for my senior year, I was still trying to hold on to it, but then one day, I just was like, this has got to go, and I walked up the street to the hair salon/barber, and told them to cut it, till they saw my Africa (well, I wish I had made that up, but I stole that line from an article :P ),
    Anyway sha... They chop my hair commot, and I had about a two inch long afro...and due to my experience in Naija of having to wear my hair like this in my secondary sch. years, I was kinda apprehensive of it...and would tie head tie, or wear hats all the time, but in a few weeks I got used to it, and it had grown enough for me to put small twists in it; I released it in all it's glory
    it was a feeling I cannot quite explain
    Anyway sha...ever since then I've been rockin the natural.... afros, braids, corn-rows, and twists....and honestly, I've never been more happy

Today, I work in corporate America, and I’ve rocked everything here that I mentioned above. I even rocked my twists back in school on every interviews, because I couldn’t fathom pressing my hair to get the job and then coming “clean” after I go the job, I was just trying to avoid the Wahala that could have happened when I got here.

But you know, it all depends on what industry you’re in and how strongly you feel about it all…

I don’t know if this was of any help to you, but I just thought I’d share my experience.

Nappily Happy

~~~~~~~~~~
    It was worth the wait!! ...God is good!
    ~~~~~~~~~~

she said she wants her hair to be just like mine when she gets to heaven.
    Turgidity like whoa!
    FYI!
    A small serving of fries at McDonald's has 220 calories, while a large serving has 400 calories. If you eat large fries three times each week for a year, that's an additional 8 pounds of fat you're packing on your body. Ultimately, losing weight comes down to calories.
    Funred55 is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 04-11-2003, 02:59 AM   #11 (permalink)

Total Points: 342.00
    Default Re: ~ Hair Fashion Forward ~

I feel u.

Usually, if I chemically treat my hair, I don't braid it intermitently because this further weakens already weak hair.

I previously had an afro perm for about 2 years untill last year, when I micro-braided my hair. I've since cut out the perm and my hair is a natural aff. I've just been braiding and cornrowing ever since.

Cornrows I love because they don't take ages, and they don't break your hair as much as micro braids in particular do.

I also love braids/cornrows cos you can put funky colours in your hair! At the moment I've got blue & black. he he he!

Originally posted by SMRT QT
    Okay ya'll every two years I go through a transition phase where I cut my hair and start all over.. However this time I am seriosuly thinking about going natural.. I just took out my braids and I think I have like 2 inches of new growth my hair is damaged and I think this natchy way will help me claim my soulful hair back. I am currently wearing the new dready looking twist and I really dig it. However in the transition period, I'm still tyring to figure out what to do.

I read 3 books yesterday about natural hair.. really amazing.. to think of all the brutal things I have done to my God blessed hair!...

As much as I would love to carry my natchy hair proud and all.. In the industry I'm in, image is everything and my fear is that I will not get a certain gig or project because of hair disrimination.... I understand this and for that reason, I am going to wait until I at least have my ideal ideal job where my image will not define me, but my reputaion for great work will. ( which will be in the next year my fingers are crossed) So all you natchy divas... what should I do

• Braid lacing
  • weave on
  • wig
  • keep braiding

lemme know

• Kiwi_chick is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 04-11-2003, 05:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
    Journalistic Model

Thanks that really helped... this especially I couldn’t fathom pressing my hair to get the job and then coming “clean” after I go the job,

Thanks

kiwi chick thanks gurl

Originally posted by Funred55
    I went natural in 1999,

It was a long process, because, at first I was not willing to give up my hair, it was about shoulder length, but had at least 5 inches of dead-ends; it was a sad sight, but in my attempt to maintain my length, In the summer of 1999, I wore it in a bunch of twisted styles, but due to the fact that I still had a perm in it, it pretty much remained stagnant, and was quite unhealthy

So by the fall of 99', when I returned to Hampton U. for my senior year, I was still trying to hold on to it, but then one day, I just was like, this has got to go, and I walked up the street to the hair salon/barber, and told them to cut it, till they saw my Africa (well, I wish I had made that up, but I stole that line from an article :P ),
    Anyway sha... They chop my hair commot, and I had about a two inch long afro...and due to my experience in Naija of having to wear my hair like this in my secondary sch. years, I was kinda apprehensive of it...and would tie head tie, or wear hats all the time, but in a few weeks I got used to it, and it had grown enough for me to put small twists in it; I released it in all it's glory
    it was a feeling I cannot quite explain
    Anyway sha...ever since then I've been rockin the natural.... afros, braids, corn-rows, and twists....and honestly, I've never been more happy

Today, I work in corporate America, and I’ve rocked everything here that I mentioned above. I even rocked my twists back in school on every interviews, because I couldn’t fathom pressing my hair to get the job and then coming “clean” after I go the job, I was just trying to avoid the Wahala that could have happened when I got here.

But you know, it all depends on what industry you’re in and how strongly you feel about it all…

I don’t know if this was of any help to you, but I just thought I’d share my experience.

Nappily Happy

----Groove Therory

REINCARNATED CREATIVITY

</b>

</b></center>
    Old 04-11-2003, 06:02 PM   #13 (permalink)

Rep Power: 62417 Beauty is a legendBeauty is a legendBeauty is a legendBeauty is a legendBeauty is a legendBeauty is a legendBeauty is a legendBeauty is a legendBeauty is a legendBeauty is a legendBeauty is a legend

Smrt Qt..i'm feeln u right now......i'm thinking ....actually i've made up my whole mind to cut off ma perm.....thank God i have about 2 inch or so of undergrowth hair...so next week, i am cutting it all off!!.....I was hesitant b4, but seeing gurls rockn naturals in the streets and school just makes me wanna really really want it more u know?!.......Most of my friends and even family, are tryna make me change my mind, but i told them naaaah.....its already made up!!......so i am doing it, and even if i cut it and dont like it, i'm a get braids to let it grow{but i doubt that i'd hate it}.....but the whole point for me is to start afresh cos am really honestly tired of perms and all those jagons, i just wanna go NATURAL the way God desired it at first!!

PS: but i have seen acouple of black models with fros tho...or is it bcos they've already "made" it??
    Old 04-11-2003, 07:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
    Journalistic Model

I feel you.. okay see like next week now I have a shoot...for my portfolio.. Great outfit.. make up will be kool but, the photographer has requested a certian hair style and has actually said I can bring my own hair extension... I am going to actually defy that and show up with my dready hair.... coz If I decide to do as she says that means I'll have to re-touch my hair .. I DO NOT WANT TO DO THAT....

and I'm not just talking about modeling even in my company

Originally posted by Beauty
    Smrt Qt..i'm feeln u right now......i'm thinking ....actually i've made up my whole mind to cut off ma perm.....thank God i have about 2 inch or so of undergrowth hair...so next week, i am cutting it all off!!.....I was hesitant b4, but seeing gurls rockn naturals in the streets and school just makes me wanna really really want it more u know?!.......Most of my friends and even family, are tryna make me change my mind, but i told them naaaah.....its already made up!!......so i am doing it, and even if i cut it and dont like it, i'm a get braids to let it grow{but i doubt that i'd hate it}.....but the whole point for me is to start afresh cos am really honestly tired of perms and all those jagons, i just wanna go NATURAL the way God desired it at first!!

PS: but i have seen acouple of black models with fros tho...or is it bcos they've already "made" it??

----Groove Therory

REINCARNATED CREATIVITY

</b>

</b></center>
    Old 04-11-2003, 10:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
    Phantom

Well I went through the same thing.... I've cut my hair and started over again so many times because this weather is so bad for our hair... anywayz, at the end of 2000 I cut my hair (I had about 6 months of undergrowth - I achieved this through braiding) and put a texturizer in.. I love it, I got tons of compliments blah blah, but by Summer 2001 I was bored with it so I permed it. Now my hair is long (I have fast hair growth) and I trim it every 2 months but I still have the probs I always did, except to a lesser extent but I've decided to just stick with it... I braid during the winter and leave it out during the Summer months but Smrt... 3/4 months is pushing it. Don't keep your braids for longer than 2 months.