I know alot of Nigerians love to Bleach their skin.....but why??
and any of u in here bleach ur skin? OMG 'bleachin skin" hahahah that sounds funny LOL ok sorry anyway back to the subject, so why do most Nigerians bleach their skin?...what happened to "black is beautiful?"...must the white man always have the last laugh? |
its sad but true white beauty rules the world....
one would think that africans in general would have more pride in them selves, but with the colonization, they were taught to hat them selves and to try to make themselves look better... in the white standards, they bleach their skin.... 87 percent of black women world wide relax their hair... hair that is not relaxed is seen as unkept or worldly... when back in the day it was taboo to do such things... Many nigerians like the narrow nose and lightskinned look, but i cant truly blame on them... in india lighter skinned people are generally the more upper class... the darker ones, or black are looked down upon as inferior..... its a shame how the white is beautiful mentality has poisioned my poeple's heads... Let me give you an example... when my mother was younger it was looked at as more upper class to ive your children"christian names" or non african names... Til this day many still do that...it even gets to the point where people come to yankee and make up a ridiculous nickname, to blend in... i can go on and on, all i have to say is that it really saddens me, but until we do something within ourselves, it wont change aunty lizard has spoken
Good Hair Bad Hair Now what does it mean, to have some good hair Is it hair that is better, never needs no repair And what does it mean, to have some bad hair Is it always the hair, that needs some repairs Good hair and bad hair, what does all this mean Is this all just some myths, or something we dream Please tell us my sistahs, why is Afrikan hair bad It started from childhood, oh how dreadfully sad The torture, the heat , the burns, and the jerks Everythang was tried, to see what would work Now hair comes in textures, not good bad like grades Has none?n to do with grades, how we have been played We want ?good? hair, that?s what Black women say But Black women have ?good? hair, don?t wish it away So what my sistahs, does "good" hair really mean Its hair that is healthy, at its best and its clean Get ?bad? hair out, of your vocabulary and mind Cuz its time for a new attitude, that you should define Black women should define, their ?own? beauty that?s good And change their ideals, from adults back to their childhood Caucasian beauty, is not beauty to enshrine Our lips, hips and skin, are much more defined Why crave the Caucasian?s standards, that are vastly well known When our own natural beauty, has vitality and life of its own |
![]() Join Date: Jul 2002
Peeps who bleach are so insecure.. i mean c'mmon, y wuld u go 2 such lenght just 2 regret it in tha end cuz ur skin is gonna fade and ure gonna look disgustin sum day! bleaching is a no-no..
aiye nreti eleya mi oh... sugbon mi o ma gbeshe ran enikeni bodi oh... Punk ass double id's, thou shall not quote me! ____________________________ Babyluv™, dis Babyluv™ dat.. y dnt yall just stay d phuck outta my biz ![]() |
in nigeria the laws aren't the same as in the us at least the us has the fda to semi- regulate what goes on our skin.... even if they didanimal testing in naija i would be happier than i am now... its like they just mix omo, mercury(ingredient that is in most naija bleahcing cream)lotion and water and some other ish that they know aint supposed to be in there i read an article that had a list of many bleaching creams in naija and the old women who had used them earlier... some women had to get skin grafts, some had black patches and some looked like they dipped their face in boiling plantain oil........
its is GROSS!!!!!!!!
Good Hair Bad Hair Now what does it mean, to have some good hair Is it hair that is better, never needs no repair And what does it mean, to have some bad hair Is it always the hair, that needs some repairs Good hair and bad hair, what does all this mean Is this all just some myths, or something we dream Please tell us my sistahs, why is Afrikan hair bad It started from childhood, oh how dreadfully sad The torture, the heat , the burns, and the jerks Everythang was tried, to see what would work Now hair comes in textures, not good bad like grades Has none?n to do with grades, how we have been played We want ?good? hair, that?s what Black women say But Black women have ?good? hair, don?t wish it away So what my sistahs, does "good" hair really mean Its hair that is healthy, at its best and its clean Get ?bad? hair out, of your vocabulary and mind Cuz its time for a new attitude, that you should define Black women should define, their ?own? beauty that?s good And change their ideals, from adults back to their childhood Caucasian beauty, is not beauty to enshrine Our lips, hips and skin, are much more defined Why crave the Caucasian?s standards, that are vastly well known When our own natural beauty, has vitality and life of its own |
![]() Join Date: Jul 2001
prolly cuz they wanna look diff. or somn...
One of my frens mama bleached her skin and it looks so good on her...I guess it works for some pple. Quote:
Many times people spend more time researching for clothes, cars, houses, and other materialistic things then they do spending time learning about the person they chose to lay down with or even make their mate. Which is of more importance...someone you share a piece of yourself with and/or consider your other half...or a new pair of shoes you searched for on the internet? Love is as much of an object as an obsession; everybody wants it, everybody seeks it, but few ever achieve it. Those who do will cherish it, be lost in it, and among all, never...never forget it...(H.B.R.) Intelligent people talk about ideas Average people talk about things Small people talk about other people What category do you fit into? Friends are the pillars on your porch. Sometimes they hold you up, sometimes they lean on you, and sometimes it's just enough to know that they are standing by. Character is like Pregnancy...U cant hide it! |
disgusting... (both of you)
aint that the truth!!! And u see black people laughing @ dark skinned people..."Damn she/he is so black"...could really drive a person to bleach their skin, and this is all the white man's fault. On T.V, all u see is light skinneded/mixed chix with European features and ofcourse straight long hair, and if u see a beautiful black girl with 'african feauters' she is considered UGLY...This makes me wanna cry, u would think black people would know better ...especially Africans, after all we have been through... |
truedat!!!
black is so beautiful.... africans are beautiful.... any who thinks otherwise can eat a d*&%k
![]() Join Date: Nov 2000
pleasee...... from back in da day, lighter is more beutiful. white man just come da other day oh.....less than 500 years
^^boy, u must be white urself or one of them ignorant ass africanz that have been brainwashed correct?
and gimme a break, back in the day...weather u was lightskin or dark skin, it didnt matter u was still BLACK nah mean, but the white people and other racest, started to treat lighter skin people better, makin the darker skin people feel like being ligther was better, so ofcourse the white man is to blame, but its also our own fault we still think that way nah mean?...and u think back in the day the KKK cared if u was a light skin black or not?..nah nigga they still wouldve burnt ya house...in their eyez u was still a "NIgGER"...so fcuk what u heard and LoL@ u saying "light skin is more beautiful"...gimme a break... |
U are talking about da EXPERIENCE of a BLACK MAN in AMERICA. I am talking LIFE OF A BLACK MAN IN AFRICA. I care less about KKK,etc. I am telling u that uncolonised countries like Ethopia and Egypt still find LIGHT SKINED PRETIER 2000 yrs ago everything no be white man fault.
I really have no idea why people bleach their skin. I am naturally light skinned so maybe I don't understand their need to poison their bodies, make themselves look like masqurades in their old age, get skin cancer e.t.c
colonization has died for the most part, but it is still stuck in african's heads that being lighter skinned is more beautiful.. don't get me wrong, i do think that all black is beautiful, very light or very dark... its all beautiful.. it was a problem that was put into the african's heads by whites, and now that they are gone, they are still stuck with that same mind set... it is our duty as africans to remove some of these views from our heads, and bodies... you know i believe that its a world wide problem, but africa, a contiinent with the most black people should be ashamed of themselves for continuing this lie and passing it down to our youth...... it is so gross to me..
Colonisation didn't do NOTHING. It is of our own making. The Banda tribe in Mali in 12th century welcome guests with theri best women who happen to be fair. I gues whites thought us straight nose was finer. So why we never start use peg to straighten our nose.
![]() Join Date: Aug 2002