In all honesty this ain't dissing just honest curiosity.
I understand attachments when u do braids but why do u do weaves? Is it 'cos - ur hair can't grow long? Which I doubt 'cos I'm a guy and I have long hair - it's the "in" thing to do? Why don't you grow it out naturally, relax and comb/brush it. I believe with time u'll have long natural flowing hair. Abeg, educate a broda as dis has been bugging me for a while. I keep thinking to maself: "why cut ur hair if u're only going to weave on it to make it long?" I reiterate, THIS IS NOT MEANT TO BE A DISS. Maybe if u educate us brodas, the yabbis will cease.
Crosseyed
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
"Age is like beauty, it can not be hidden." "True love is like a ghost, we all talk about it, but nobody has ever seen one." "Politeness is a currency that enriches he who gives it and not he who receives it." "There is always a way out of it, you just haven't got to it yet" Nigeria We Hail Thee!!!!!
![]() Join Date: Aug 2001
-Some people dont have time to take care of their hair effectively so they just go to the shop, stay there for a couple of hours, have some weave put on and out da door. Lasts a month or two. Instead of brushing, and perming and flattening and washing and curling and parting, its easier.
-You can get different looks. If you dont wanna color your real hair, you go out and buy a weave with da color you want. Then when you get tired of it, you take it off and use another color. Simple. -Sometimes you want a short style, sometimes you want a long style, or you want feathered hair or curly or long and bone-strait. Its creativity that you cant really get with ya real hair without it falling out eventually. -Takes a lot to take care of black hair. Too much stress. I cut that stress outta my life. ![]()
Prettiest Chikito in Town
![]() Join Date: Nov 2000
FASHION FORUM!
![]() ![]() ![]() I AM THE WHISTLE BLOWER TODAY HEHEHEHE Quote:
Schiaparelli**
![]() Join Date: Sep 2002
regardless of the latest fad or whatever most people say, your self esteem must be at an all time low for u to im-plait weave into your hair.think about it. are the botox and implants and weave permanent facials and artificial nails really necessary.if u are a girl who considers herself to be ugly then maybe so, if u like your girl to lok nice, maybe so and if you want to become white(i had to make reference to mike(
)then i think so
Не судите книгу ее покрытием - Don't judge a book by its cover Если Вы дуете на искру, это ускоряется в пламя, если Вы плюете на этом, это вымирает; все же оба Вы делаете с вашим ртом. - If you blow upon a spark, it quickens into flame, if you spit on it, it dies out; yet both you do with your mouth. |
![]() Join Date: Apr 2002
I think weave is tacky
![]() Join Date: Feb 2002
If I cut my hair military style in Janurary and in March I feel like having long hair, I better get that weave slapped on cos ko si fertilizer that will grow it over night. We women have moods. Abi is it everyday you wear a leather skirt? Do you look like you wear the same outfit everyday (because all your clothes are the exact same one that you bought a zillion of)?
[SIZE=1.5] All warfare is based on deception. Hence, when able to attack, we must seem unable; when using our forces, we must seem inactive; when we are near, we must make the enemy believe we are far away; when far away, we must make him believe we are near. Hold out baits to entice the enemy. Feign disorder, and crush him. If your enemy is secure at all points, be prepared for him. If he is in superior strength, evade him. If your opponent is tempermental, seek to irritate him. Pretend to be weak, that he may grow arrogant. If he is taking his ease, give him no rest. If his forces are united, separate them. If sovereign and subject are in accord, put division between them. Attack him where he is unprepared, appear where you are not expected. "The art of using troops is this: ......When ten to the enemy's one, surround him; ......When five times his strength, attack him; ......If double his strength, divide him; ......If equally matched you may engage him; ......If weaker numerically, be capable of withdrawing; ......And if in all respects unequal, be capable of eluding him, ..........for a small force is but booty for one more powerful." - Sun Tzu ("Art Of War") [/SIZE] |
![]() Join Date: Apr 2002
how she could equate self esteem with sporting a weave is incredible...................
Let's break it down.
OK, weaves are easy to manage, get up n' go……..etc If we are to be honest, ppl put so much effort into their appearance 'cos they want to feel good about themselves, look good to e'body and ESPECIALLY to appeal to the opposite sex, nes pas? PLs don't gimme dat bull 'bout doing it for urslef and nobody else. Why buy designer jeans for £50 when u can get the exact same thing for £10? That stated. Why continue doing it if ur intended "audience" (MEN) say they don't care much for it. I mean, if a number of girls start telling me that my corn-rows are tacky and they don't like it in a man and stuff, best believe I'm shaving it off. Y'all like it tho don't ya…..but I digress.
Incorrigible Freakette
![]() Join Date: Sep 2002
<marquee><b><i>Welcome to d Incorrigible Freakette's World</marquee></b></i> Love me without fear / Trust me without questioning / Need me without demanding / Want me without restrictions / Accept me without change / Desire me without inhibitions. - Dick Sutphen <marquee><b>I LOVE MA JUICEY</marquee></b> Perspire to acquire the desire you admire, do not retire but refire in order to acquire the desire you admire in life! A determined hunter is never frightened in the jungle |
#15 (permalink) |
tru dat..... i have a really big afro it hasbeen 2.5 years since i permed my hir, but i refuse to put any chemicals in it.... wen i want a striagt look,i add weave... when i wat to wear my hair, i wear it.... true, there are some women who wont leav the house without weave at all atall, but thats because the SAME MEN WHO SAY THEY LIKE A GIRL WITH NO WEAVE, WILL BETHESAME ONES LAUGHING AT HER BALD HEADED A$$... THERE ARE S MANY ADVANGATES TO BECAUSE IT (SEWN IN PREFERRED) GIVES THE HAIR A BREAK FROM HEAT AND COLOR DAMAGE.... ALSO THERE ARE DIFFERENT TEXTURES THAT WOMEN WANT TO TRY..... ITS NOT THAT OR HAIR DOESN'T GROW, ITS JUST THAT BLACK WOMEN ABUSE THEIR HAIR WITH THAT WHITE DRUG(RELAXERS) HEAT, CURLS, SPRITZ AND MORESPRITZ GEL,GLUE... CAN U IMAGINE IF YOU DID THAT TO ANOTHER PART OF YOUR BODY...... EVENTUALLY IT DIES...... JUST LIKE A CRACK ADDICT, BLACK WOMEN ARE IN GENERAL ADDICTED TO THIS STUFF.... BUTWEAVE IS GOOD SHA
Good Hair Bad Hair Now what does it mean, to have some good hair Is it hair that is better, never needs no repair And what does it mean, to have some bad hair Is it always the hair, that needs some repairs Good hair and bad hair, what does all this mean Is this all just some myths, or something we dream Please tell us my sistahs, why is Afrikan hair bad It started from childhood, oh how dreadfully sad The torture, the heat , the burns, and the jerks Everythang was tried, to see what would work Now hair comes in textures, not good bad like grades Has none?n to do with grades, how we have been played We want ?good? hair, that?s what Black women say But Black women have ?good? hair, don?t wish it away So what my sistahs, does "good" hair really mean Its hair that is healthy, at its best and its clean Get ?bad? hair out, of your vocabulary and mind Cuz its time for a new attitude, that you should define Black women should define, their ?own? beauty that?s good And change their ideals, from adults back to their childhood Caucasian beauty, is not beauty to enshrine Our lips, hips and skin, are much more defined Why crave the Caucasian?s standards, that are vastly well known When our own natural beauty, has vitality and life of its own |