Old 01-30-2003, 01:53 AM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 224.00
Default do you think its okay

to wear a charm bracelet on your ankle instead of your wrist?

to mix match gold and silver jewelry?

to wear short skirt to church?

to wear jeans to church?

please give reasons why you would or wouldn't... thanks
Old 01-30-2003, 02:14 AM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 165.00
Default Re: do you think its okay

Originally posted by Xchinalove
to wear a charm bracelet on your ankle instead of your wrist?

to wear short skirt to church?

to wear jeans to church?

First of all

its okay to wear a charm bracelet on your ankle or ur wrist as long as u coordinate

dont mix gold and silver jewlery unless if one particular jewerly is mixed wit sorta silver and gold. I have a watch thats sorta mixed

I've never attend church because i'm not a catholic nor christian but i heard it's not appropriate though when u wear it too short (correct me if im wrong)

I dont know bout jeans, I think that inappropriate
diza_nigerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 05:01 AM   #3 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,874.48

to wear jeans to church?
This is the only one I can answer.

Well, it depends on the country, the culture & mood of the church.

Some people think of jeans as irresponsible/work/I could care less clothing and hence wearing it to church is like saying I could care less about coming here or something to that effect.

In Nigeria there are some churches that measure the sleeves of your dress & do not permit jewelry, talk less of jeans.

Some people also have issues with women wearing jeans/pants to church because they think it is indecent/alluring (clearly, they have only seen the cute jeans).

I say that when it comes to church that you should be comfortable in whatever church you go to. If you refuse to go sans makeup & accessories, then there are some churches you shouldnt attend.

For instance in Pittsburgh, I have never NOT worn jeans to church.
I always wear jeans. If the church is really casual, then I wear a t-shirt with it. If the church is kinda dressy, then I wear nicer jeans with a nice blouse. In Cleveland, I mix it up. Sometimes I go denim and other times I wear cute outfits. In my church(es) in Nigeria, I ALWAYS have to dress up. Jeans are out of the question. If my mama born me well make I try am.

I like the argument that there is an unspoken dress code for events. For weddings, funerals, graduations, sports & clubbing.
So why should a church not have its own dress code?Another argument is that since Christ welcomed all, shouldnt everyone be welcome into a church no matter what they are wearing?

The debate of whether jeans is okay for a church is hard. Each church has its principles so if you dont like them, dont go near them. Sometimes you may have to make some sacrifices. If you really enjoy the atmosphere & service, why not oblige them and not wear jeans to church?

Some people like to pull the old argument about God saying women should not wear men's clothes et al & all that jazz, but I have seen people in swimsuits, jeans, shorts, tank tops et al preach like people in 3 piece suits. God doesnt allocate power in proportion to the amount of clothes a person wears.

In the end it all boils down to the heart & motives.
All warfare is based on deception. Hence, when able to attack, we must seem unable; when using our forces, we must seem inactive; when we are near, we must make the enemy believe we are far away; when far away, we must make him believe we are near. Hold out baits to entice the enemy. Feign disorder, and crush him.

If your enemy is secure at all points, be prepared for him. If he is in superior strength, evade him. If your opponent is tempermental, seek to irritate him. Pretend to be weak, that he may grow arrogant. If he is taking his ease, give him no rest. If his forces are united, separate them. If sovereign and subject are in accord, put division between them. Attack him where he is unprepared, appear where you are not expected.

"The art of using troops is this:
......When ten to the enemy's one, surround him;
......When five times his strength, attack him;
......If double his strength, divide him;
......If equally matched you may engage him;
......If weaker numerically, be capable of withdrawing;
......And if in all respects unequal, be capable of eluding him,
..........for a small force is but booty for one more powerful."
- Sun Tzu ("Art Of War")
[/SIZE]
vinyloae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 06:07 AM   #4 (permalink)

to wear a charm bracelet on your ankle instead of your wrist? nothing wrong with that, though some people feel that wearing a charm bracelet on your ankle makes u look like a witch or a prostitute

to mix match gold and silver jewelry?nope

to wear short skirt to church?depends on the length, your intuition should tell you whats proper and whats not

to wear jeans to church? nothing wrong with wearing jeans to church..in naija i wouldnt do so tho!!

Old 01-31-2003, 01:28 AM   #5 (permalink)

Total Points: 176.00
Default Re: Re: do you think its okay

Originally posted by vinyloae

This is the only one I can answer.

Well, it depends on the country, the culture & mood of the church.

Some people think of jeans as irresponsible/work/I could care less clothing and hence wearing it to church is like saying I could care less about coming here or something to that effect.

In Nigeria there are some churches that measure the sleeves of your dress & do not permit jewelry, talk less of jeans.

Some people also have issues with women wearing jeans/pants to church because they think it is indecent/alluring (clearly, they have only seen the cute jeans).

I say that when it comes to church that you should be comfortable in whatever church you go to. If you refuse to go sans makeup & accessories, then there are some churches you shouldnt attend.

For instance in Pittsburgh, I have never NOT worn jeans to church.
I always wear jeans. If the church is really casual, then I wear a t-shirt with it. If the church is kinda dressy, then I wear nicer jeans with a nice blouse. In Cleveland, I mix it up. Sometimes I go denim and other times I wear cute outfits. In my church(es) in Nigeria, I ALWAYS have to dress up. Jeans are out of the question. If my mama born me well make I try am.

I like the argument that there is an unspoken dress code for events. For weddings, funerals, graduations, sports & clubbing.
So why should a church not have its own dress code?Another argument is that since Christ welcomed all, shouldnt everyone be welcome into a church no matter what they are wearing?

The debate of whether jeans is okay for a church is hard. Each church has its principles so if you dont like them, dont go near them. Sometimes you may have to make some sacrifices. If you really enjoy the atmosphere & service, why not oblige them and not wear jeans to church?

Some people like to pull the old argument about God saying women should not wear men's clothes et al & all that jazz, but I have seen people in swimsuits, jeans, shorts, tank tops et al preach like people in 3 piece suits. God doesnt allocate power in proportion to the amount of clothes a person wears.

In the end it all boils down to the heart & motives.
summary pls? and don't forget to make your point...

my bad ...no hard feelings
To dance with my father again
If I could steal one final glance, one final step, one final dance with him
I'd play a song that would never, ever end
How I'd love, love, love
To dance with my father again...L.V.
scorpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2003, 08:46 PM   #6 (permalink)

Bank: 853,240.75
Total Points: 861,468.40
Rep Power: 21474865 Petals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legend
Default Re: Re: Re: do you think its okay

Originally posted by scorpio

summary pls? and don't forget to make your point...

my bad ...no hard feelings

whoaaa...polite insult
Glory to the Lord on high

God of wonders beyond our galaxy
You are holy, holy
The universe declares Your majesty
You are holy, holy
Lord of heaven and earth

Early in the morning
I will celebrate the light
When I stumble in the darkness
I will call Your name by night

You are holy, holy
Lord of heaven and earth

Hallelujah to the Lord of heaven and earth

You are holy, holy
Precious Lord reveal Your heart to me
Father holy, holy
You are holy, holy

Last edited by Petals; 01-31-2003 at 08:56 PM..
Petals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2003, 08:55 PM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474865 Petals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legendPetals is a legend

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Xchinalove
[B]to wear a charm bracelet on your ankle instead of your wrist?i think it's not neccessary...jeweries here can be tacky sometimes.

to mix match gold and silver jewelry?nah nah nah nah...except in some cases

to wear short skirt to church?i rarely wear skirt..but once i do..i alwayz like it below my knees(to church)..to work..then...lil bit aboove

to wear jeans to church?i think it's ok to wear jeans to church ooo...cos i do..ain't nothang wrong with that naw

You are holy, holy
Lord of heaven and earth

Early in the morning

You are holy, holy
Lord of heaven and earth

You are holy, holy
Father holy, holy
You are holy, holy
Old 01-31-2003, 08:56 PM   #8 (permalink)

Default Re: Re: Re: Re: do you think its okay

... ma bad

You are holy, holy
Lord of heaven and earth

Early in the morning

You are holy, holy
Lord of heaven and earth

You are holy, holy
Father holy, holy
You are holy, holy
Old 02-01-2003, 03:54 PM   #9 (permalink)

Rep Power: 4461 HypeChic365 is a legendHypeChic365 is a legendHypeChic365 is a legendHypeChic365 is a legendHypeChic365 is a legendHypeChic365 is a legendHypeChic365 is a legendHypeChic365 is a legendHypeChic365 is a legendHypeChic365 is a legendHypeChic365 is a legend

to wear a charm bracelet on your ankle instead of your wrist? why would anyone want to do that? no more space on your arm? besides in naija, girls who do that are regarded as irresponsible.

You could if you have pieces that are already mixed, otherwise don't.

to wear short skirt to church? depends on the shortness of the skirt, basically any skirt that rides up your thighs when you are seated is a no no. You don't want to be the reason that brother didn't hear a word the preacher said.

to wear jeans to church? again depends on the jeans, how you wear it and what you wear it with. In my church, only the guys can get away with wearing jeans to church. The girls all dress up to the nines.