Secretary General
![]() Join Date: Feb 2001
I thought it'll be nice if we all write old or newly composed poems that have to do with the struggles of racial discrimination. My poem below is about how Black people started getting accepted because of their atheletic abilities/talents not so much because of their individuality. I'm also praising Black genes.
I'm not trying to promote hate here and I hope my poem doesn't project that... I'M MY GHETTO'S CREATION: I knew I was different, not very different, but my difference was obvious. I always knew but for some reason it felt stronger this day. So I stood up from amongst them, not because I felt unwanted, but because I felt I tainted their white sky. A taint that to some creates exotic beauty, but to the other something else. As I stood up, my limbs began to move, faster and faster and faster. I didn't look back and didn't know where I was going but my limbs controlled me and I kept going. The sun struck my bare shoulder like a slave master's whip but my limbs kept moving faster and faster I saw no obstacles, but I saw the land before me It was home to my soul, my ghetto as my limbs slowed, I closed my eyes then slammed into a brickwall that was my prince In his embrace I knew though I was different to some, I was same with another and more. Hanging unto his neck my limbs gave way and felt only air. You flew like an eagle, they said Your gracefulness can only be matched by the sleek panther's, they said Your flight was unobstructed though there were many obstacles And you faded from sight like the railroad track I knew I was different not very different, and my difference wasn't obvious. I always knew but for some reason it felt stronger this day. perhaps because they acknowledge it, so I stood up not because I felt unwanted, but because I had to give my thanks. I was strong and could run like none of them could, but like my prince could To those who had thought I tainted their White skies I had become an exotic creature and to the other an African feline... But what does it matter... I knew I was different, maybe very different, and my difference was obvious. I always knew but for some reason it felt stronger this moment. So I stood up from amongst them, because I felt unwanted, because I felt I only beautified their white because of my talent. I felt unwanted...so I ran and ran till I got back to my ghetto.
Journalistic Model
![]() Join Date: Mar 2001
uuuuuuuuuuuummmm! preach on sistah gurl preach on. That was intense great choice of words. Keep Staying true to urself, and keep keeping it RIGHT.
ReXpecT Icy http://come.to/IceAngel
<center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>The Sky is no longer my limit....Space is...for now...</b></center> <center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>...LIFT YOUR HEAD TO THE SKY AND KEEP TRYING... BELIEVE IN YOU AND IT WILL TAKE YOU HIGHER</b> ----Groove Therory To know the true beauty of a woman is to see her in all her many forms</center> <FONT face="arial, helvetica" size="2" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b> <center>IT'S LIVE</center></b><marquee direction= right>|I|C|Y|><>:<>www.icyworks.com <>>:<><|W|O|R|K|S|</marquee></marquee></b> <center> <center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>Left, Right & Center</b> REINCARNATED CREATIVITY </b> </b></center> |
Secretary General
Smart QT and Shakirat, thanks! I try...
Smart QT, I see you love to write poems too; just visited your web-site. That's cool. I love to write poems too...I mean I really love to. I used to write or simply compose in my heart and never write them out. i just started writing them out. I write whenever I'm inspired. My best yet is one I wrote about some guy I have a huge crush on...we flirt a lot...it turns my head...so I wrote :-) Maybe I'll post it up sometime or simply mail it to you.
Journalistic Model
I love ur style of poetry. If u're interested I'm developing a new section on my page for Poems of ppl I know, and Ur poems have essence. If u're interested let me know. Have a FAB-U-LOUS day eh!
<center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>The Sky is no longer my limit....Space is...for now...</b></center> <center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>...LIFT YOUR HEAD TO THE SKY AND KEEP TRYING... BELIEVE IN YOU AND IT WILL TAKE YOU HIGHER</b> ----Groove Therory To know the true beauty of a woman is to see her in all her many forms</center> <FONT face="arial, helvetica" size="2" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b> <center>IT'S LIVE</center></b><marquee direction= right>|I|C|Y|><>:<>www.icyworks.com <>>:<><|W|O|R|K|S|</marquee></marquee></b> <center> <center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>Left, Right & Center</b> REINCARNATED CREATIVITY </b> </b></center> |
Secretary General
Of course I'm interested! I have a short list of poems that keep expanding...
CEO Brostonics Inc
![]() Join Date: Jan 2001
Zainab that was off the heezy, very good i wish i could rhyme men una dey amke me jeloci
<marquee> U dont know what you've got till you lose it all. U never miss your water till your well runs dry. </marquee><marquee> THE ONE AND ONLY QUEEN RYDER </marquee> <marquee>Oloun oni je ki a fi oko se boyfriend</marquee> |
Journalistic Model
Hey! Z I will be updating my page this wkd. I'll need two of what YOU feel are the very best of your work (poetry) please e-mail them to me yetty21@yahoo.com You can type it into the mail, or save it and attach it as a word document. Keep It kool Missay. Have a FAB weekend
Secretary General
Thatks Odogwu and bigmomma...when you're not home, you appreciate home...that's what's driven me to being kinda "afrocentric". ...glad you love my rhymes
#11 (permalink) |
Journalistic Model
Hey Missay ur poem is up on my page. I put up the one I really liked. Keep the lyrics coming Missay it obviously works for ya.
ReXpecT Icy http://come.to/IceAngel p.s. Check out POEMS by FRIENDS on the MAIN PAGE that's where it is. [Edited by SMRT QT on 04-22-2001 at 11:33 PM]
Secretary General
thanks SMRT QT, that's my best poem too :-)
cheap cialis without prescription Generic Cialis is cast-off to survey erection problems in men. cheap generic cialis online It is the on the other hand dull which is not single tied acting (works in 30 minutes) but is also identify to be efficacious object of as yearn as 36 hours, consequently enabling you to settle upon the jiffy that is objective sort out in search you as well as your partner. Millions of men bear benefited from Cialis as it works effectively in mild, dull or unsympathetic Erectile Dysfunction. cheap generic cialis without prescription
#14 (permalink) |
![]() Join Date: Oct 2005
Me Likey!!