View Single Post
Old 10-09-2006, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Sophia

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Default Ukazi soup

Originally Posted by Sophia
Ukazi Soup (my very own recipe)
This soup is for special occasions. It is our main soup in my village and the more things your add shows how wealthy you are…so on my wedding day you will be served this soup

Ingredients:
Eguisi(melon)
Ukpo or Achi(soup thickeners)
Achara(bamboo but the softer one)I don't know what they call it here
Ngara azu(small dry fish)
Ayiya(crayfish)
Azu okpo(dry fish)
Okporoko (stock fish)
Aku agbo(melon balls/biscuit) recipe coming up soon
Mgbe(kind of seafood, don’t know the English name)
Assorted anu (meat), also assorted bush meat and dry meat (kai to die for)
Manu nri (Palm oil)
Ukazi (shredded)

First cook your okporoko and other hard meat like cow leg and ox tail. Boil meat and azu okpo; add pepper and oil as the meat is boiling. Watch the tenderness, you do not want it to be soggy.
After add ukpo or achi…I prefer ukpo because of the taste. Allow few minutes and add ayiya and ngara azu and let it boil…. allow few minutes to boil, and then taste the sauce/soup to see if it is done. Also the color and the thickness of the broth should let you know if the ingredients are done.
At this time your soup should be slightly thick but not too thick like Eguisi soup…be careful adding Eguisi at this time because it also serves as soup thickener.
Allow it to boil for few minutes then add the aku agbo and achara…few more minutes for it to simmer then add Ukazi leaves. I use a little bit more of the leaves because I like to chew the leaves as I am eating my aku agbo.
I can’t estimate the time to use in cooking the soup; mine will be like 30 minutes or less not adding the time to cook the meat. I usually take hours to prepare before cooking, I don’t rush my cooking as it is something I do to “de-stress” sometimes.

Everyone has their own style of cooking it, remember this is my personal recipe

pardon any typos or gaps, i dey kind of busy today
Ukazi leaves

Meat and other stuff(used cow tail mostly and some beef)

Almost ready

Just added the Ukazi leaves

Don't you wish this is urs