Old 12-03-2002, 11:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Schiaparelli**

Bank: 395.99
Total Points: 8,599.99
Thumbs up Look at me!:i am nigerian

do u think it is important for us to wear nigerian attires while living abroad or does our traditional clothes have no place in our lives abroad(from nigeria) .
now, some people i've talked to say we only mark ourselves as foreigner "not part of society". what do u think?

i personally think tha wearing my traditionals amongst nigerian/africans at events is fine , but not wearing it for use everyday like streetwear
ada-toks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 02:24 AM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 106.50
Default Re: Look at me!:i am nigerian

Originally posted by ada-toks
do u think it is important for us to wear nigerian attires while living abroad or does our traditional clothes have no place in our lives abroad(from nigeria) .
now, some people i've talked to say we only mark ourselves as foreigner "not part of society". what do u think?

i personally think tha wearing my traditionals amongst nigerian/africans at events is fine , but not wearing it for use everyday like streetwear
we always gat to represent in any circumstance, are you feeling me gurl?.
kiyara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 02:26 AM   #3 (permalink)

l man you wear it when there is a cause for you to.ok!
Old 12-04-2002, 03:19 AM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,216.41
Rep Power: 20275 IgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legend

U berra represent that's if you want to. I get the most compliments in native attire. It brings out our natural beauty
Old 12-04-2002, 03:18 PM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 113 BlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet Celebrity

Its not a must. Why should we have to shout that we're Nigerian? We dont have to. You can separate yourself from the Americans without having to wear the clothes na. I wear wrappa to school once in a blue moon just because Im lazy but not to make a statement jare.

Old 12-04-2002, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Schiaparelli**

Bank: 395.99
Total Points: 8,599.99
Default Re: Re: Look at me!:i am nigerian

Originally posted by IgboGem

U berra represent that's if you want to. I get the most compliments in native attire. It brings out our natural beauty
i seriously doubt it that u will strutt into a business party with your whole do: peacoch colored buba and rapa with gele reaching heaven.
ada-toks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 10:13 PM   #7 (permalink)

Total Points: 343.70

I don't think it's a necessity.....
it's more like having pride in where u came from and loving to be recognised as nigerian......

well it's up to a person....and if u don't wanna be stock in it...then do what U want....
S_AngeL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2002, 12:44 AM   #8 (permalink)

Default Re: Re: Re: Look at me!:i am nigerian

i seriously doubt it that u will strutt into a business party with your whole do: peacoch colored buba and rapa with gele reaching heaven.
LIKE A SAID EARLIER ON GURL, WEAR YOUR NATIVE ATTIRE WHEN IT'S CALLED FOR, NOT WHEN IT'S NOT CALLED FOR, I BELIEVE IN DRESSING FOR AN OCCASSION.
Old 12-05-2002, 12:48 AM   #9 (permalink)

Total Points: 171.00
Default Re: Re: Look at me!:i am nigerian

Soooooo, what is ur point

Originally posted by IgboGem

Old 12-05-2002, 05:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ugo

Bank: 68,143.89
Total Points: 130,275.08
Rep Power: 211651 Ugo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legend

for me it wouldn't matter...... i dress depending on what i'm feeling...what i mean is if i were going to work and i felt like wearing lace i would.....(but i've never had that feeling before!!) what i mean is one should dress how they feel...use your spirit-don't feel that you have to conform to the norms of society if they aren't to your liking-AS LONG AS you do it respectfully.......for instance i wouldn't encourage you to go up and down wall street looking like lil kim in linguerie....but i would encourage you wear your buba....... you understand my point?????
Ugo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2002, 05:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ugo

Bank: 68,143.89
Total Points: 130,275.08
Rep Power: 211651 Ugo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legendUgo is a legend

Originally posted by kiyara
l man you wear it when there is a cause for you to.ok!
whenever you feel like wearing your lace, buba, aqwa, etc...then thats cause to do so.......
look at the indians they wear there saris up and down....look at the punjabs and the other middle easterners who cover their head....even the senagalese walk up and down in their buubuu's......no one should be ashamed to wear there native when they feel like it........is native a costume that should only be brought out for certain occasions?? abeg.
Ugo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2002, 08:42 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally posted by Ugo

whenever you feel like wearing your lace, buba, aqwa, etc...then thats cause to do so.......
look at the indians they wear there saris up and down....look at the punjabs and the other middle easterners who cover their head....even the senagalese walk up and down in their buubuu's......no one should be ashamed to wear there native when they feel like it........is native a costume that should only be brought out for certain occasions?? abeg.
sure gurl, just use a sense of humour, they wear their's around cause it's really comfortable enough for them to do certain stuffs, i never said you shouldn't wear your native costumes, i only said you should wear them whem it's called for, our costume is more of the occsassion costume and not more of the casual ones, unless you have those sowed as casual wears that you can wear around, you know what i'm saying?
Old 12-05-2002, 10:02 PM   #13 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3254879 Odogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legend

venezuala chicks luv it.
i can't wait for summer
Odogwu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2002, 10:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
One in Town

Total Points: 2,912.48

represent!! u gots to! ah ah.. even afri americans are wearing awa stuff.. how much more us..

http://www.atoneonline.com

http://www.omogeent.com

Omoge Entertainment will fo eva be doin the damn thing!!!
ConDuctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2002, 10:48 AM   #15 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3773620 Optimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legend

Do you all know how much of Japanese , Indian , Chinese tradittional attire has been incoporated into mainstream western fasion ?? .

I remember in 97/98 I was wearing those button up kimonos to Clubs . even bought a couple for peeps back home in Naija .

Please dont be ignorant ......if you dont celebrate your culture , no one else will see its beauty , no one else will appreciate it.

I dont know about USA , but here in London its normal to see indians in their (sp) Saree on the street . And come sunday .you'll see the ladies witheir Gele standing at bus stops . When I was still in school I worked for strawbridge's one summer and one of the cashiers used to come in in different types of BUBU from naija (her boyf was naija , she was white ) and there was I in my jacket and skirt + tights .

As Fela would say '....I no be gentleman like that '