Old 10-26-2011, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Dear Resurrected NR Vol 1

Can a person be in love with more than one person at the same time?

I have an ex, who I loved. We broke up because she cheated. Fine. Hurt my feelings. But I moved on, got another girlfriend a couple of years later.

Ex came back into my life and honestly, I can't get back with her. She has a kid, but we still can relate on things. We hang out sometimes (well I babysit really). But it's a cordial friendship where she helps me out with some things and I help her out (nothing dirty, I mean stuff like homework, and stuff like that, she's really smart)

But somehow, I find myself having the same feelings I have for her that I had back then. I mean, seeing her sometimes and turns me on. Sometimes what she says and what she does. And I know we've had a few (almost close) encounters where one of us basically backed up...but the temptation drives me closer.

Now my current girl is cool with the friendship. Really she doesn't know much. She's out of town most of the time for work and family stuff but when she's in town, my full attention is on her and we have a good time. I've never cheated on her. She actually encourages me and she's so secure with my friendships with other girls (which is cool).

But with my ex, she really doesn't know the full gist and I am not telling her. My ex knows I have a girl and I feel she is tempting me with it.

I don't know. I'm confused. Is what I'm saying normal?
Old 10-26-2011, 10:16 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474897 aderonkei is a legendaderonkei is a legendaderonkei is a legendaderonkei is a legendaderonkei is a legendaderonkei is a legendaderonkei is a legendaderonkei is a legendaderonkei is a legendaderonkei is a legendaderonkei is a legend

The situation with the ex doesn't strike me as being in love though. Obviously some sexual tension there and if you are not careful you will stray very soon. You don't wanna give new girl a reason to start questioning your female friendships so I'd cut off the ex. Some things are better left in the past.
Old 10-27-2011, 05:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
ROTY

Bank: 4,956,132,786.33
Total Points: 5,006,389,336.77
Rep Power: 21474871 shakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legend

You need to put some distance between you and Ex until you can get a handle on your feelings. If you are feeling torn, then you are not being fair to GF and it might do you well to spend some time on yourself trying to find out what you want.
Section 2 of Okafor's law dictates that you would still wanna hit that ol' thang and what you are feeling is probably your body reacting to the memories.. doesn't necessarily mean you are in love with her....
My advice is to get a hold of yourself and if you know you want nothing with EX, then keep it strictly platonic.... and if you are having urges to hit that, you might need to get some space...

THEN THEY CAME for the trade unionists,
and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a trade unionist.

THEN THEY CAME for the Jews,
and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a Jew.

THEN THEY CAME for me
and by that time no one was left to speak up."
shakara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474915 naija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legend

Originally Posted by aderonkei View Post
The situation with the ex doesn't strike me as being in love though. Obviously some sexual tension there and if you are not careful you will stray very soon. You don't wanna give new girl a reason to start questioning your female friendships so I'd cut off the ex. Some things are better left in the past.
All of this. Playing with fire is never a good idea. Either that, or sit yourself down and make very sure you realize what's at stake. You can only maintain a friendship with the ex if you draw a solid line.