Old 01-22-2011, 08:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
FIE

Total Points: 48,298.75
Rep Power: 21474864 FIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legend
Default All in One desk tops vs traditional desktops

So I want to get an all in one desktop. I am redoing my home office so I can work more comfortably and I have included a computer in my budget. The only reason why I like the all in one is because I like the way it looks. Is it just a big laptop? I really want one but I do not want to make a bad decision. I don't plan on having a lot of images on it or even necessarily surf the web but it will be used for downloading and uploading notepad files on a regular basis. I want to keep it for a while too.

If you think it is a bad idea then let me know and why. Only people who know what they are talking about abeg. I already know it is cute so I don't want people who will come and tell me it is cute. I want people who know about the technology behind it and technical pros and cons. Thank you
FIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 120,035.02
Rep Power: 21474887 crAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legend

What are you talking about an all in one desktop?

Provide link if you may.

And abeg, watch your turn when you want people's opinion. Don't sound too forceful.

Old 01-31-2011, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 814,098,279.52
Total Points: 814,458,559.52
Rep Power: 21474883 ogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legend

What she's talking about are desktops that have the all the HD, CD drive etc. as part of the monitor. Not sure if there's any specific benefit other than saving space on ur desk.

All-in-one desktop system Desktops - CNET Reviews
Old 01-31-2011, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)

Oh like mac huh?
Ok. Not seen any for windows, but if there are, I dunno if I want to have everything in one.

If one messes up it might also affect the other. And usually with the reg desktop, say ur cd drive is broken, u can buy a new one and fix it. But ince ur cd breaks in there, well, SOL
Via NR Mobile
Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)

Bank: 814,098,279.52
Total Points: 814,458,559.52
Rep Power: 21474883 ogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legendogologo is a legend

Originally Posted by Boss View Post
Oh like mac huh?
Ok. Not seen any for windows, but if there are, I dunno if I want to have everything in one.

If one messes up it might also affect the other. And usually with the reg desktop, say ur cd drive is broken, u can buy a new one and fix it. But ince ur cd breaks in there, well, SOL
Via NR Mobile
dats true
Old 02-05-2011, 01:05 AM   #6 (permalink)

Total Points: 989.00

my guy actually hit the nail on the head. if you invest in a good compact rig, you shouldn't have any problems.
remember though, that these compact solutions are a b***h to upgrade if you at some point decide to add more "bang" to it. usually, upgrade hardeware costs more than on traditional desktop solutions.

peace
Old 02-05-2011, 03:42 AM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 374,404.14
Total Points: 419,617.49
Rep Power: 21474854 Enachioken is a legendEnachioken is a legendEnachioken is a legendEnachioken is a legendEnachioken is a legendEnachioken is a legendEnachioken is a legendEnachioken is a legendEnachioken is a legendEnachioken is a legendEnachioken is a legend

Get the all in one. The same scenarios apply to both desktop and A1. If your CD drive F up, you take it in and get it fixed simple.

Unfortunately, I don't find Windows PCs as reliable as Macs, I was going to say that my iMacs (same concept) have been trouble free...but I don't know if the same could be said for PCs.

If all you're doing is downloading/uploading Notepad files, then, go with the Compact Desktop as someone suggested.

There are always two sides to an issue, my side and the wrong side...End of story!
Enachioken is offline   Reply With Quote