Old 11-06-2009, 03:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
1Naija

Bank: 847,731,652.22
Total Points: 847,745,703.12
Rep Power: 21474860 nflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legend
Question LOCUST BEANS aka IRU for Cooking Help Needed

I have a question about locust beans, I have never used them in cooking before. I am in the mood to cook a husband getting stew (lol, just joking), I want to make atamashe, and I heard that adding iru, enhances the naijaness of the stew. Anyways, since I don't have Naija stores near me, I did some research on locust beans. According to wikipedia, locust beans is the name given to the seeds of the Carob Tree. Well I know that there is Carob seed and Carob powder, in those health food stores, for people that can't eat chocolate. Before I add this ish, to my stew. Can someone confirm, if this locust beans is the same as Iru in Nigeria. Thanks

“The hottest places in hell are reserved for those who in times of great moral crises maintain their neutrality." -- Dante Alighieri
nflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 03:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
1Naija

Rep Power: 21474860 nflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legendnflow is a legend

If that is not it, can someone post a picture of what Nigeria Locust Beans, Iru looks like.

thanks

“The hottest places in hell are reserved for those who in times of great moral crises maintain their neutrality." -- Dante Alighieri
Old 11-06-2009, 03:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Boy is Good

Bank: 13,398,907,061.76
Total Points: 13,398,923,561.95
Rep Power: 21474887 Sirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legend

Iru and dried fish is the main husband snatcher in Ayamashe... and that is not locust beans oo...
Sirtopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 04:09 AM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 19,870.00
Rep Power: 1428368 Orekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legend

nflow, Iru looks like this (sorry, cld not find a big pic) and it definitely enhances naija food (egusi, ayamashe, ewedu e.t.c)...warning...it stinks alot but very yummy in food

Old 11-06-2009, 04:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
The Boy is Good

Rep Power: 21474887 Sirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legendSirtopy is a legend

that aint no iru Oreke.. looks like peanuts
Old 11-06-2009, 04:14 AM   #6 (permalink)

Total Points: 19,870.00
Rep Power: 1428368 Orekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legendOrekelewa84 is a legend

sharrap dia, do u cook? Nflow, Iru actually looks very similar to peanuts esp iru woro when you rinse it before putting in stew...Iru pete is more blended.
Old 11-06-2009, 04:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Boy is Good

Iru shombo nko.. u know nothing about nigerian dishes like i do Oreke
Old 11-06-2009, 04:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
The Boy is Good

scroll down on this page nflow..

Google Image Result for http://naijamaican.co.uk/images/P9140011.JPG
Old 11-06-2009, 04:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
1Naija

you guys rock, thank you so much, I was beginning to wonder, especially, since people were using the carob to make cookies etc, that it might not be the same

btw, I just found out that Ayamashe is different from designer stew, something in how they are made.

Old 11-06-2009, 04:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
OMB

Bank: 566,376.05
Total Points: 590,276.05
Rep Power: 21474856 OMB is a legendOMB is a legendOMB is a legendOMB is a legendOMB is a legendOMB is a legendOMB is a legendOMB is a legendOMB is a legendOMB is a legendOMB is a legend

Thats not iru. Iru looks like the seeds in watermelon and stinks like it. I've got some in my freezer. Will upload it when i get home. Makes obe ila asepo taste good though!
OMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 04:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
1Naija

Originally Posted by OMB View Post
Thats not iru. Iru looks like the seeds in watermelon and stinks like it. I've got some in my freezer. Will upload it when i get home. Makes obe ila asepo taste good though!
thanks, please upload, I wonder if I can get someone to mail it to me from MD, is it something that can be mailed?

Old 11-06-2009, 03:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Pure Sensation!

Bank: 115,438,494.71
Total Points: 115,461,554.91
Rep Power: 21474857 naijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legend

Iru is the shiznit!!!!! Yea it's like dried seed of watermelon. BUT I think the first picture you posted with the Carob Tree is what the iru seed comes in. I might be wrong but I think I'm right (maybe)
Straight from your million dollar smile
You got me inhaling the aroma of your perfume
And feeling heated
I'm move closer to drop my lines of my introduction
Hold out my hand, grab your hand
Now we touching
Look into my eyes
Are you surprised that it's me?
I wanna make you mine
Sweetheart dont fight the feeling
My only wish is to be with you
you got me going wild with anticipation
you got me steady striving to get ya
naijasensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 03:48 PM   #13 (permalink)

Bank: 2,934,838.44
Total Points: 2,959,194.29
Rep Power: 21474863 LagosBoBo is a legendLagosBoBo is a legendLagosBoBo is a legendLagosBoBo is a legendLagosBoBo is a legendLagosBoBo is a legendLagosBoBo is a legendLagosBoBo is a legendLagosBoBo is a legendLagosBoBo is a legendLagosBoBo is a legend

Cook the iru with okra soup, stock fish and goat meat with a serving of pounded yam

Originally Posted by Oracle View Post
Muslims recite Allahu Akbar'/'God is Great', even when they have sex.
LagosBoBo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 10:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
FIE

Total Points: 44,068.75
Rep Power: 21474863 FIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legend

locust beans is ugba (etsako) not the igbo ugba. Igbos cook with it too but I don't know what it is called. The main thing with ugba though is that it is fermented so even if you get the beans how will you get it to get stinky. If you can find dawadawa then you areone step close but the powder stuff is still not as good as the real thing
FIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 10:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Guy-man in the Lord

Bank: 5,995,377,092.91
Total Points: 5,995,390,703.11
Rep Power: 21367481 taiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legend

locust beans is ugba (etsako) not the igbo ugba. Igbos cook with it too but I don't know what it is called. The main thing with ugba though is that it is fermented so even if you get the beans how will you get it to get stinky. If you can find dawadawa then you areone step close but the powder stuff is still not as good as the real thing
..ah. E don tey. Haven't heard 'dawadawa' in a minute. Do they still make 'em dawadawa cubes? Also royco; A-one;...

Originally Posted by Okpabio
currency values are determined by many factors. Not just one issue, but a composite of many must be considered. In trading currencies, such as in forex, trades are usually made in pairs. Values must be relative to something. So how is a country doing relative to another country is also significant. Common Forex pairs are US dollar and Japanese yen, Euro and US dollar, for example.

Iwe Factorial!
taiyeyiko is offline   Reply With Quote