![]() Join Date: Oct 2006
On the prowl
Toyosi Oshodi June 24, 2009 12:09PMT print email Dating in Lagos is equivalent to having your teeth pulled out by the dentist. It's painful but you have to do it so as not to be regarded as a social leper of some sorts. Unfortunately for many upwardly mobile individuals like me, a busy work schedule disallows any form of social life whatsoever. I have to steal time to spend with my loved ones, I find myself constantly having to apologize for missing either a shopping trip or drinks with my girl friends, not to talk of dating. Can you imagine? Lately my darling mother and her friends have taken it upon themselves to play Cupid. Trust me , there is nothing more annoying than having either one of your parents look for your significant other on your behalf. Passing my cell number to ‘suitable' men isn't a one off experience for me, it's an everyday thing - one which I find quite annoying. Trust me I have aired my feelings to no avail unfortunately. The most recent was a young man called *Jide (not real name) who was a 20 something year old banker from Ibadan. Now don't take this the wrong way, I'm not a snob or anything but I have a huge issue with people who have a problem communicating in our lingua Franca. It's not a rare thing to overhear sentences like, ‘It was such a tremendous task trying to ring you a yester night' or ‘I hope I'm not being a hindrance to your well being'. It might seem harmless or endearing to say the least but listening to that every hour on the hour with a thick Yoruba accent, the word annoying does tend to come in to play and I'm close to screaming: ‘Young man I do understand Yoruba quite well, so you can speak to me in Yoruba I don't mind, honestly!' But being the softie that I am, I'll simply ignore his calls till he eventually got the message. Glad to be left alone for awhile, fate dealt me a funny blow a week ago. It was my day off and I decided to catch up on my missed episodes of Gossip Girl, when my darling mother walks in and declares that I get ready and that we were going out. I proceed to inquire where we would be going and for what purpose. A quick ‘A wedding, so I should pick a nice dress and get ready' is her response. I then ask if it's necessary I attend and she categorically informs me that I have no choice and that she has been instructed to bring me along. I have never been a fan of weddings; I personally think the entire essence of them have been utterly lost in our society; which has been depreciated to carnival fanfares. But the main reason why I detest weddings so much is the silliness of it. Young ladies rush to weddings dressed to the nines in the hope of being discovered by ‘the one' and while the guys on the other end know that there will be pretty damsels on display anxiously waiting to be plucked. It's a no-win situation and ladies are the ones who are always at the advantage, not fair but what in this life is. So I get myself nice and pretty and reluctantly accompany my mom to another Lagos carnival, sorry wedding. As fate would have it, my supposed intended had gotten tired of waiting and left, Thank you lord! But does it stop, no. At the same festival, sorry wedding, a young man approached and informs me that a gentleman across the room would like to have a word with me. Now don't get me wrong I'm not sure how I feel about talking to a stranger and last time I checked the alpha male is supposed to walk over and introduce himself, call me old fashioned. I disregard the message and the guy walks away, only to have my mother apprehend him and start barraging him with questions. Talk about embarrassing, but no it doesn't stop there, she informs her friends and my Dad who all happened to be sitting at the table about the incident and before I can even blink, chants and cries of; ‘What are you still doing here? Go over there!' is heard. If one could die from embarrassment, trust me I'd have been dead at that point. It wasn't until my Dad put his foot down that the chants stopped; my Dad the hero. Methinks that was the kick I needed to get back in the saddle because if I leave things to my darling mother and her cohorts I might wake up and find myself married and straddled with two kids. I'm keeping the information to myself for now; early days (don't want to jinx it).
discount perfume Last edited by buffnaija; 06-30-2009 at 08:14 PM.. |
Queen Diva
![]() Join Date: Jun 2002
omg... hilarious!!!!
*stolen from aurora's signature* I mean its not rocket science....i want my girl to be the proudest chick out there...i want her to tell her girls that her man would never cheat...that her man loves her to death...that her man truly lives to see her happy...i want her to say everything that ppl would consider 'stupid'...but most importantly, i want that when she says these things, she'd be right... I have joy, unspeakable joy |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2006
I have a worse story... but I aint sharing.
NR is officially dead. ![]() ----- Pass me the salt... my head hurts! At the end of the day, it all comes down to money. Jdramas pwn kdramas... period. Forever loving: Coffee House. Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E! I dare to DAIR! |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2006
lol... don't worry about it. I just remembered another horrible experience. It's okay, in another thread, I will preface it as, "My friend..."
NR is officially dead. ![]() ----- Pass me the salt... my head hurts! At the end of the day, it all comes down to money. Jdramas pwn kdramas... period. Forever loving: Coffee House. Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E! I dare to DAIR! |
ROHY ![]() Join Date: Nov 2007
poor thing
The woman sounds too picky jare. Whats wrong with hooking up with a 20 something year old banker wey no fit speak better english, or the fact that someone walks up to her to tell her a certain guy is interested in her. talking about the silliness of weddings! No wonder her ass is still single
#11 (permalink) |
![]() Join Date: Nov 2007
Buffy you for at least reference the thing na...
#14 (permalink) |
![]() Join Date: Oct 2006
phantom share now.