Old 01-28-2009, 06:02 AM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 42,442.00
Rep Power: 315812 muhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legend
Unhappy HELP! ANY HOSPITALS IN HOUSTON HIRING...

...graduate nurses currently? Graduated from nursing school in dec and I'm still job hunting. God-willing I should have my license by mid Feb. Problem is, most of the hospitals I've checked with are not hiring graduate nurses until June (I missed the january intake). I don't feel like sitting at home till then. So does anyone know if there are any hospitals in h-town which are still hiring or would be willing to hire a grad nurse?
Old 01-28-2009, 06:10 AM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 560,023.85
Rep Power: 21462320 buffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legend

HOW CAN A NURSE NOT BE ABLE TO GET A JOB ?!?!?!
Old 01-28-2009, 06:12 AM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 34,492,870.17
Total Points: 34,501,910.17

i know they would have swallowed you since if your were in NY. so maybe you should you move.
Michelle. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 06:17 AM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 315812 muhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legendmuhana is a legend

Originally Posted by buffnaija View Post
HOW CAN A NURSE NOT BE ABLE TO GET A JOB ?!?!?!

As a fresh grad without any working experience it's not that easy to land a job in a hospital cuz most of them hire in groups. First intake is usually in January, second intake is in May, third intake in September. If you miss any of these intakes you might find yourself sitting around twiddling your thumbs which is exactly what I'm doing as I wait for May unless something else comes up.
Old 01-28-2009, 06:46 AM   #5 (permalink)

Bank: 1,235,795,937.12
Total Points: 1,395,357,992.97
Rep Power: 5791874 harcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legend

Interesting...
get a head hunter..

never heard of a nurse looking for work...

See if u can register with an agency and work as needed.. no benefits but rates might be higher.

Good luck!

how's the wedding coming?
See her eyes like Abaji's ocean. Is there anything so reflective and expressive in the hinterland?
See her lips as luscious as palm kernel.
Dis na original daughter of Wohinghi. They don't make them like this north of Imo river.
harcourtgrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 06:52 AM   #6 (permalink)

Bank: 16,960.04
Total Points: 99,386.63
Rep Power: 3439923 Mudiaga is a legendMudiaga is a legendMudiaga is a legendMudiaga is a legendMudiaga is a legendMudiaga is a legendMudiaga is a legendMudiaga is a legendMudiaga is a legendMudiaga is a legendMudiaga is a legend

what about MDACC? they're a huge hospital and always hiring..
Mudiaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 06:56 AM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 115,474.26
Total Points: 137,854.26
Rep Power: 4490546 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

aww...congrats. goodluck on ya Nclex rn(RN???) baord exam
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 06:57 AM   #8 (permalink)

Bank: 115,474.26
Total Points: 137,854.26
Rep Power: 4490546 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

Originally Posted by muhana View Post
As a fresh grad without any working experience it's not that easy to land a job in a hospital cuz most of them hire in groups. First intake is usually in January, second intake is in May, third intake in September. If you miss any of these intakes you might find yourself sitting around twiddling your thumbs which is exactly what I'm doing as I wait for May unless something else comes up.
hey, y dnt u check outta state? GA need mad nurses! they will BEG u to work 4 dem. shoot! go CALI!!!!!!
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 07:00 AM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Nwashigi View Post
hey, y dnt u check outta state? GA need mad nurses! they will BEG u to work 4 dem. shoot! go CALI!!!!!!

Thanks Nwashigi. Trust me I would move if I weren't getting married this year.
Old 01-28-2009, 07:03 AM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by harcourtgrl View Post
Interesting...
get a head hunter..

never heard of a nurse looking for work...

See if u can register with an agency and work as needed.. no benefits but rates might be higher.

Good luck!

how's the wedding coming?

Will try, though most agencies only want people with at least one year experience. Will definitely check it out though.

Wedding plans are in a recession right now . Haven't had time to plan much cuz I've been using most of my time to study for my freaking boards.
Old 01-28-2009, 07:06 AM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mudiaga View Post
what about MDACC? they're a huge hospital and always hiring..

Hey, thanks! Just checked them out - next intake is in May for new grads, but I'll put in an application tonight.
Old 01-28-2009, 08:23 AM   #12 (permalink)

Bank: 31,465,884.13
Total Points: 31,504,884.13
Rep Power: 21474874 Wendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legend

Thanks Nwashigi. Trust me I would move if I weren't getting married this year.
Ah!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CHickala! u gettig married? congrats o! let me tell u, when we came back this semester, every chick dat has a man got a ring on dey ALL got proposed to! men r some funny creatures ia m looking around like "wey ma ring @?" my friend told me her bf said she cnt plan or buy anything 4 the wedding until she graduates. chick is allup in her books like never b4 white chicks kill me i swear! mehn, i am happi 4 u. cnt even imagine the amount of breadth u exhaled when u finished. am trynna b like u mehn. 2 more mos and i wil be breathing like u

Old 01-28-2009, 08:26 AM   #13 (permalink)

Bank: 46,002,579.62
Total Points: 46,047,884.16
Rep Power: 1039235 ~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend~Abeke~ is a legend

...graduate nurses currently? Graduated from nursing school in dec and I'm still job hunting. God-willing I should have my license by mid Feb. Problem is, most of the hospitals I've checked with are not hiring graduate nurses until June (I missed the january intake). I don't feel like sitting at home till then. So does anyone know if there are any hospitals in h-town which are still hiring or would be willing to hire a grad nurse?

u should probably be asking yr question on this forum Texas Nurses - Nursing for Nurses ....good luck finding a job....

FYI...u know a nursing home will hire u in heart beat even though u r a GN...so if u r into geriatrics....u might wanna give that a try
~Abeke~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 09:03 AM   #14 (permalink)

Bank: 1,235,795,937.12
Total Points: 1,395,357,992.97
Rep Power: 5791874 harcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legend

Classic Wendy!

Originally Posted by Wendydoks View Post
Ah!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CHickala! u gettig married? congrats o! let me tell u, when we came back this semester, every chick dat has a man got a ring on dey ALL got proposed to! men r some funny creatures ia m looking around like "wey ma ring @?" my friend told me her bf said she cnt plan or buy anything 4 the wedding until she graduates. chick is allup in her books like never b4 white chicks kill me i swear! mehn, i am happi 4 u. cnt even imagine the amount of breadth u exhaled when u finished. am trynna b like u mehn. 2 more mos and i wil be breathing like u
See her eyes like Abaji's ocean. Is there anything so reflective and expressive in the hinterland?
See her lips as luscious as palm kernel.
Dis na original daughter of Wohinghi. They don't make them like this north of Imo river.
harcourtgrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 08:15 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Wendydoks View Post

Thanks yo, and all the best.

@ Abeke - will definitely look into it if worst comes to worst. Thanks.