Old 01-09-2009, 11:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Woman

Bank: 38,722,735,834.48
Total Points: 38,723,029,037.27
Rep Power: 21474860 SweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legend
Default How does it feel?

Let's discuss this video Not just the video itself, but also the lyrics sha..

I think my favorite part of this song is the first few lines of the first verse:

Girl it's all on you
Have it your way
And if you want, you can decide
That if you'll have me
I can provide everything
That you desire..

I'm sure that a lot of dudes have sung something like this, but maybe the way he is saying it is what gets to me. He sounds so sincere and genuine like "girl.. I just wanna be your man.." No macho-ness, no foolishness. Just being so damn real about the situation.

Guys, when you're alone with your girl, do your walls come down like this? I don't understand guys that act hard with their women, even within the confines of their bedrooms. This is supposed to be your woman. If you wanna act like a dog with your boys, that's fine, but when you've got something nice and soft right in front of you, why wouldn't you act that way, too...nice and soft?

Oh ya, I like how he licks his lips at 32 seconds, too..
Old 01-10-2009, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 22,582.95
Rep Power: 910694 eby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legend

Originally Posted by SweetAma View Post
Let's discuss this video Not just the video itself, but also the lyrics sha..

I think my favorite part of this song is the first few lines of the first verse:

Girl it's all on you
Have it your way
And if you want, you can decide
That if you'll have me
I can provide everything
That you desire..

I'm sure that a lot of dudes have sung something like this, but maybe the way he is saying it is what gets to me. He sounds so sincere and genuine like "girl.. I just wanna be your man.." No macho-ness, no foolishness. Just being so damn real about the situation.

Guys, when you're alone with your girl, do your walls come down like this? I don't understand guys that act hard with their women, even within the confines of their bedrooms. This is supposed to be your woman. If you wanna act like a dog with your boys, that's fine, but when you've got something nice and soft right in front of you, why wouldn't you act that way, too...nice and soft?

Oh ya, I like how he licks his lips at 32 seconds, too..

i agree! i was watching old school r&b videos the other day and noticed how many of the boy bands like boys 2 men, az yet, kc and jo sang in such sincere and open ways in expressing thier love or desire for thier woman. i was like if only guys in real life could do this more often esp in the bedroom there would be more happiness in this world i swear!

A place for Writers, Poets and Creative minds to share their work...
eby187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 05:20 AM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474915 naija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legend

It's really awesome when you have someone who will tell you how he feels when it's just the two of you, when his boys are around, and with whom you never have to wonder if it's all just words.

Funny enough, I had that experience earlier on in my exposure to the world of dating and the male species. I haven't had the joy of finding anything quite as sincere since.
Old 01-10-2009, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Woman

Rep Power: 21474860 SweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legend

Hopefully a brave male will come and give his input. Or maybe it's too sensitive of a subject? ..
Old 01-10-2009, 07:30 PM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474915 naija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legend

To be honest, barring a few who've made it a point to relegate any trace of sensitivity to the very back of their characters, I think even those dudes who generally form hardcore would do all these things we're talking about, given the right circumstances. The reality of the matter is that a lot of people get into relationships that are based on looks, desire for companionship, and other things that don't necessary lead to the fostering of such emotions.

I just did a quick mental survey of some of the better relationships I've had the pleasure of observing over the years, and not in a single one of them was the man shy about letting his feelings be known. We see relationships and reproach guys when they don't conform to certain expectations, but the truth of the matter is that a lot of them are not into it on that level. Sure, they might like being with this person, but life would easily go on if they were to part ways the very next day.
Old 01-10-2009, 09:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Woman

I feel you, np. I used to think that the development and expression of this kind of deep emotion was coupled with age, buuutttt I've been proven wrong too many times. In fact, I remember meeting a guy who, despite my one year age advantage, seemed to have it together has far as his romancing was concerned. Even in front of his friends, he was able to sneak me a peak of his bedroom eyes .

So back to the video. I've read a lot of articles talking about how the video was 'controversial' because of his implied nudity, but in my opinion, I think that it was genius. Too much glitz and sparkles..even scene changes, can be distracting. Yes, his v-shape and his lips are a distraction too, but in a good way. If Marques Houston was really tryna get the same effect in his "Naked" video, then he failed miserably. I don't think the point of D'Angelo's video was to show off his body like "look at me, look at me"..that's the vibe I get from M.H.'s video. I think that it's easier to sense the emotion that he conveys as he is performing the song--that was probably his biggest aim for the video.
Old 01-10-2009, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)

Total Points: 700,023.85
Rep Power: 21367501 buffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legendbuffnaija is a legend

rubbish video. garbage.
Old 01-10-2009, 11:59 PM   #8 (permalink)

Total Points: 22,582.95
Rep Power: 910694 eby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legend

just watched the video again...dang...could use some of that feelin on this cold saturday nite....

A place for Writers, Poets and Creative minds to share their work...
eby187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 12:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Woman

Originally Posted by buffnaija View Post
rubbish video. garbage.
If your body looked like his, you wouldn't be talking shit.
Old 01-11-2009, 02:36 AM   #10 (permalink)

lol Oh, I think he was showing off his body, alright. This was really my first time watching the vid, and I just googled the lyrics. I think I've been approaching this kini from a merely emotional standpoint, while you bad chill'uns are talking bedroom sturvings.

On a sidenote, I think I must be one of an odd few for whom his body as it was here holds no appeal.
Old 01-11-2009, 08:05 AM   #11 (permalink)
Pure Sensation!

Bank: 170,555,232.43
Total Points: 170,582,522.63
Rep Power: 21474859 naijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legendnaijasensation is a legend

Originally Posted by naija_pikin View Post
lol Oh, I think he was showing off his body, alright. This was really my first time watching the vid, and I just googled the lyrics. I think I've been approaching this kini from a merely emotional standpoint, while you bad chill'uns are talking bedroom sturvings.

On a sidenote, I think I must be one of an odd few for whom his body as it was here holds no appeal.
Here Here, does nothing for me
Straight from your million dollar smile
You got me inhaling the aroma of your perfume
And feeling heated
I'm move closer to drop my lines of my introduction
Hold out my hand, grab your hand
Now we touching
Look into my eyes
Are you surprised that it's me?
I wanna make you mine
Sweetheart dont fight the feeling
My only wish is to be with you
you got me going wild with anticipation
you got me steady striving to get ya
naijasensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 04:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Woman

really? alright, post pics of dudes with body types that...you know..
Old 01-16-2009, 06:10 AM   #13 (permalink)

To be honest with you, I'm not really a fan of abs, pecs, whatever. I usually end up with dudes with some kind of definition, which I like.. but that in of itself does not turn me on.
Old 01-16-2009, 09:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Woman

I don't think D' is overly buff in this..I like my dudes to be solid...not necessarily cut but you know... stiff and strong
Old 01-18-2009, 06:23 AM   #15 (permalink)

Stiff and strong, eh? You sure we're still talking about abs here?