Old 10-04-2002, 08:12 PM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 393.00
Default Designer clothes for Low class people?

Some just told me that Designer clothes with names of the designer on the out side are worn by low class people because they wear it to prove to people that that they can afford it.

Do you think this could be right?

Life is difficult but you just have to make the best of it.
kesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 113 BlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet CelebrityBlakByuty is a bonafide Internet Celebrity

Now that i think about it.......yes

Old 10-04-2002, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 187,216.60
Total Points: 189,216.60
Rep Power: 44969 mc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legend

that wouldn't make sense cause the whole point of designer clothes is to show affluence through being able to afford the name on the clothes.

Was in the Gucci store the other day. Sweater thats normal as any walmart sweater. $600. Quality ain't no justification for that price.
Old 10-04-2002, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 644340 ndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legendndi_amaka is a legend

When you think about it, you never see rich old white ladies with some designer name splashed across the front of their blouse. But yet, you still know they are loaded.....I agree with you. You only see folks who can't afford Fubu and all that (or people with "new money"~~~> rappers, ballers, etc) wearing the label out.

Old 10-04-2002, 10:39 PM   #5 (permalink)

Bank: 3,828.24
Total Points: 3,959.84
Rep Power: 42949 Queen Nefertiti is a legendQueen Nefertiti is a legendQueen Nefertiti is a legendQueen Nefertiti is a legendQueen Nefertiti is a legendQueen Nefertiti is a legendQueen Nefertiti is a legendQueen Nefertiti is a legendQueen Nefertiti is a legendQueen Nefertiti is a legendQueen Nefertiti is a legend

very true, most of the time those who are real affluent will lonly have a crest or something so
Old 10-04-2002, 10:50 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 44969 mc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legendmc-fine is a legend

So.. if it looks like regular clothing.. has no distinguishin marks.. why the hell are you paying 400% more for it?

peace of mind?

I saw a gucci pair of jeans with a nice big "G" on the ass pocket. Abi Gucci na peasant wear too?
Old 10-04-2002, 11:45 PM   #7 (permalink)

Total Points: 49.00

yes, u see some movie stars and the stuff they wear might not even have a name on it, beos u know they can afford it, but poor pple have to show they can afford it.
zeyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 02:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
PIMP DADDY

Bank: 5,800.50
Total Points: 10,827.30
Rep Power: 115531 Blaque_mon is a legendBlaque_mon is a legendBlaque_mon is a legendBlaque_mon is a legendBlaque_mon is a legendBlaque_mon is a legendBlaque_mon is a legendBlaque_mon is a legendBlaque_mon is a legendBlaque_mon is a legendBlaque_mon is a legend

True. It's the new money and old money thing. When people like that move up in class, they usually try to show it by their extravagant spending.
Originally posted by ndi_amaka
When you think about it, you never see rich old white ladies with some designer name splashed across the front of their blouse. But yet, you still know they are loaded.....I agree with you. You only see folks who can't afford Fubu and all that (or people with "new money"~~~> rappers, ballers, etc) wearing the label out.

Those who serve God for what they can get from Him are those who think He exists for their use

The Word of God is the agent of regeneration, conversion and transformation. Nothing of eternal value can take place in a life without the Word.

God has not dropped His standard of judgement. It does not matter who has refused to repent. The same judgement is dangling over every sinner's head.
Blaque_mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 05:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
FIE

Total Points: 48,298.75
Rep Power: 21474864 FIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legend

Why would you want to wear clothes in the first place just because it is a certain brand. I like good quality clothes and the cost doesn't matter(if it is within my budget that is). I will not skimp on shoes because cheap shoes hurt my feet. I will go to walmart to buy certain things(winter gloves and scarves) and I don't care who knows. Why should the brand show just because you spend good money on it. If it is not good quality why buy it and if it's good quality, why is it important to tell the world... Na wa.
FIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 07:40 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally posted by FIE
Why would you want to wear clothes in the first place just because it is a certain brand. I like good quality clothes and the cost doesn't matter(if it is within my budget that is). I will not skimp on shoes because cheap shoes hurt my feet. I will go to walmart to buy certain things(winter gloves and scarves) and I don't care who knows. Why should the brand show just because you spend good money on it. If it is not good quality why buy it and if it's good quality, why is it important to tell the world... Na wa.
thank u my dia... all this class nonsense. I'm suprised ppl still subscribe to it.
Old 10-05-2002, 10:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Phantom

Default Re: Designer clothes for Low class people?

Originally posted by kesi
Some just told me that Designer clothes with names of the designer on the out side are worn by low class people because they wear it to prove to people that that they can afford it.

Do you think this could be right?
Yep. It's all about the nouveau riche mentality.
Old 10-07-2002, 02:46 PM   #12 (permalink)

shiooo omo if im paying $400 for n e jacked up outfit den tha whole world had berra know dat itzz brand name..and i dont really support dat mentality cos theres some brand names dat always got the logos like tha playboy bunny, the baby phat cat and all dat..so cos its got tha big ass logo i wont buy it..omo i like my own brand name 2 show o..i mean not like let it be out there but as i said..if im spending a whole lotta money on n e thingy..den tha world had berra know..........
Old 10-07-2002, 07:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Playette

Bank: 4,064.33
Total Points: 5,093.58
Rep Power: 214786 NaijaCandy is a legendNaijaCandy is a legendNaijaCandy is a legendNaijaCandy is a legendNaijaCandy is a legendNaijaCandy is a legendNaijaCandy is a legendNaijaCandy is a legendNaijaCandy is a legendNaijaCandy is a legendNaijaCandy is a legend

Originally posted by mc-fine
Sweater thats normal as any walmart sweater. $600. .
lol @ walmart sweater.

anyhoo, people should always strive for quality whatever price range.

i.e. even in walmart they will have qulaity stuff... paying $5 for a shirt is no excuse to be wearing polyester... and before people say "whats wrong with polyester" let me put my disclaimer

there is "nothing" wrong with polyester....

Yes, I too am saving myself for Ariya.. so go waste your hot breath on some altoids..
NaijaCandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2002, 08:08 PM   #14 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,216.41
Rep Power: 20275 IgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legendIgboGem is a legend

Originally posted by ndi_amaka
Tru that. They have to make themselves feel better cos most of them don't have good self image