Old 11-25-2008, 02:41 AM   #61 (permalink)

Bank: 54,612,497.56
Total Points: 54,630,312.87
Rep Power: 0 Arokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legend

As per Question 1:
Since most people say it's the girl's mom that stays.
What if the boy's mom comes, and wants to stay an extended stay...and you don't want her to stay, either your mom is there or not: You don't want her to stay cos you are not very comfortable with her yet. Is it okay to say you'd rather that she doesn't stay. How do you make this known? Tell your man? How does the man tell his mom?

Or do you just swallow it and allow her stay and do whatever she wants with ur new baby and u can remain miserable?
Arokoyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 02:43 AM   #62 (permalink)
No Angel

Bank: 5,356,331,752.10
Total Points: 5,356,689,792.58
Rep Power: 21474887 bored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legend

Originally Posted by CSC View Post
Answer #8
Please o! How can my parents or my in-laws come and me and hubby will be sleeping in the room while my/his parents are in the living room on the couch for that matter! Hubby and I will definitely give up our bed/airbed and move to the couch while the parents get the bed and the room.
Really?

"Those who wish to love and sing always find a song" :A Swedish Proverb.

Si Hoc Legere Scis Nimium Eruditionis Habes

Originally posted by jerseygirl
Where oh where could my little bored be?
Could she actually be hiding from me?
I've searched this board, high and low
written witty comebacks....but she's a no show

I know she is addicted...of this fact I'm sure
Or could it be that she don't love me no more
Come back and bring some more sunshine to my dreary day
with the colorful and mischievous things you say

I'll patiently wait for you to return to me...
please make it soon...I fear for what might be
My boredom has driven me to rhyme
Stop lurking and post, so we can have a swell time
bored is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 02:50 AM   #63 (permalink)
No Angel

Rep Power: 21474887 bored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legend

Originally Posted by Arokoyo View Post
As per Question 1:
Since most people say it's the girl's mom that stays.
What if the boy's mom comes, and wants to stay an extended stay...and you don't want her to stay, either your mom is there or not: You don't want her to stay cos you are not very comfortable with her yet. Is it okay to say you'd rather that she doesn't stay. How do you make this known? Tell your man? How does the man tell his mom?

Or do you just swallow it and allow her stay and do whatever she wants with ur new baby and u can remain miserable?
Miserable Yoruba culture you are now a junior Iyawo ile and technically the lowest in the food chain. And if your husband is a yoruba man, you know his mother is more important to him than your happines. In a good marriage, your hubby should know your rship with his mom and try to toast her for you to cuther trip short. In the end tho, mama will do whatever she wants.

Old 11-25-2008, 02:52 AM   #64 (permalink)

Bank: 8,088,592,614.34
Total Points: 8,088,599,269.42
Rep Power: 21474871 Homiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legend

Really?

Originally Posted by bored View Post
[Naija POV] Worrahell are you doing living together if y'all aint married? If you try this runz, then his mom shouldnt know you live together. When she visits, move all your stuff out and go and stay in your friends house till she leaves (I know 2 couples doing this )
Now if you are married, yes o, better go and buy one of those nice Air mattresses that come up as high as a bed or a futon. You do not give up your marital bed for ANYONE.You just make sure she is as comfortable as you possibly can in whatever space you find for her. [/Naija POV]
I can do all things thru christ who strengthens me...........phil 4:13
Homiluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 02:56 AM   #65 (permalink)

Bank: 9,213,319,468.46
Total Points: 9,231,807,552.46
Rep Power: 21474915 CSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legend

Really?
Yup!
Old 11-25-2008, 02:58 AM   #66 (permalink)
No Angel

Originally Posted by Homiluv View Post
Really?
That was how my mom raised us o. Even with guests in the house, her rule was that you dont give up your bed for people. You make them as comfortable as you can and you keep coming back to ask "Mummy, s'e wa okay? Te ba need anything jo, e so fun wa" then come out every 15 minutes with pillows and blankets and naija DVDs (since the TV is in front of her )

Old 11-25-2008, 03:03 AM   #67 (permalink)

Bank: 8,088,592,614.34
Total Points: 8,088,599,269.42
Rep Power: 21474871 Homiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legend

lol...yea with just guests but with your parents?

I actually don't think parents should/would let a married couple leave their marital bed but its one of those 'should be offered' type things...can't say i've given it much thot sha so i really don't know what the right thing should be

That was how my mom raised us o. Even with guests in the house, her rule was that you dont give up your bed for people. You make them as comfortable as you can and you keep coming back to ask "Mummy, s'e wa okay? Te ba need anything jo, e so fun wa" then come out every 15 minutes with pillows and blankets and naija DVDs (since the TV is in front of her )
I can do all things thru christ who strengthens me...........phil 4:13
Homiluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 03:17 AM   #68 (permalink)
No Angel

Originally Posted by Homiluv View Post
lol...yea with just guests but with your parents?

I actually don't think parents should/would let a married couple leave their marital bed but its one of those 'should be offered' type things...can't say i've given it much thot sha so i really don't know what the right thing should be
I think you're right as per "offer" in the knowledge that no self-respecting parent would take you up on it unless they were physically Ill and it truly made sense.

Old 11-25-2008, 03:27 AM   #69 (permalink)
J3D

Total Points: 28,736.65
Rep Power: 21474848 J3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legend

I know this looks like a female forum but allow me to chime in really quick.... A considerate MiL should understand where you r coming 4rm but one wise way of handling that situation (and a lot of other issues raised in this thread) is to let your hubby/fiancé handle them. And, ask him a lot of questions on how they handle these different scenarios in his family – like someone said IT DEPENDS. Wisdom is always the principal thing.

Last edited by J3D; 11-25-2008 at 03:32 AM..
J3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 03:34 AM   #70 (permalink)

Rep Power: 0 Arokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legend

[Naija POV] Worrahell are you doing living together if y'all aint married? If you try this runz, then his mom shouldnt know you live together. When she visits, move all your stuff out and go and stay in your friends house till she leaves (I know 2 couples doing this )
Now if you are married, yes o, better go and buy one of those nice Air mattresses that come up as high as a bed or a futon. You do not give up your marital bed for ANYONE. You just make sure she is as comfortable as you possibly can in whatever space you find for her. [/Naija POV]
I've heard people say never give your marital bed to no one...
So if the couple is married, mamma gosta stay on the couch or air-mattras
else
One person has to go into hiding.
If the couple is engaged, does it count? Does the lady/man still have to go into hiding when a parent visits?
Old 11-25-2008, 03:36 AM   #71 (permalink)

MEN ARE VERY WELCOME TO POST PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
YOUR OPINION COUNTS AND IS WELL ADMIRED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 11-25-2008, 03:37 AM   #72 (permalink)
FIE

Total Points: 44,068.75
Rep Power: 21474863 FIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legendFIE is a legend

I know someone that almost did this. When she told me I thought I was going to slap myself. I could not believe it. Even if someone is crazy enough to offer their bed you should be smart enough to refuse it. But then again we are talking about nigerians
FIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 03:42 AM   #73 (permalink)

Miserable Yoruba culture you are now a junior Iyawo ile and technically the lowest in the food chain. And if your husband is a yoruba man, you know his mother is more important to him than your happines. In a good marriage, your hubby should know your rship with his mom and try to toast her for you to cuther trip short. In the end tho, mama will do whatever she wants.

are you kidding? is this the norm with yoruba marriages?
Old 11-25-2008, 03:45 AM   #74 (permalink)

I think you're right as per "offer" in the knowledge that no self-respecting parent would take you up on it unless they were physically Ill and it truly made sense.
what if you offer, expecting a "no thank you" but the mama says "okay" and carries herself to the bed and begins to snore sef. what do you do?
Old 11-25-2008, 03:52 AM   #75 (permalink)

I know someone that almost did this. When she told me I thought I was going to slap myself. I could not believe it. Even if someone is crazy enough to offer their bed you should be smart enough to refuse it. But then again we are talking about nigerians
My only problem will be that i do not like people...even my siblings sef, parents, or anyone sleeping onthe bed that i share with my man, married or not. I just don't think i'll feel comfortable with it at all.