Old 11-24-2008, 08:49 PM   #16 (permalink)

Bank: 20,599,572.92
Total Points: 20,624,980.14
Rep Power: 21474861 Bende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legend

Originally Posted by Arokoyo View Post
Question 2. Is it compulsory that you buy gift(s) for your fiance's (male or female) family when you go to visit them. Like his/her younger siblings or his/her mother? Let's say they live in a different city, town or state?

Question 3. For females: When a naija female visits her future husband's family (for the first few times) she's just knowing them, since they are not married yet. It is required or the norm, or is she expected to get into the kitchen and help out? Since she is a guest.
yup, but me i am not doing this shege

Old 11-24-2008, 08:52 PM   #17 (permalink)

Bank: 54,612,497.56
Total Points: 54,630,312.87
Rep Power: 0 Arokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legend

Originally Posted by Bende View Post
i only know my mom's culture (igbo), my granny stayed for almost a year when i was born, and my dad's mom (edo) stayed for like 2 months or so
1 year? wow...that's serious
Arokoyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 08:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
No Angel

Bank: 5,356,331,752.10
Total Points: 5,356,689,792.58
Rep Power: 21474887 bored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legend

AnotherQuestion before i go eat

Question 6:
Naija boy like naija girl. They've decided they want to spend the rest of their lives together. Naija girl has met his parents/family unofficially, they all like her. Naija boy has met her parents/family unofficially, they all like him. Now, both partners have decided it time to start making preparations: The couple's parents have not met and never spoken. For example, they live in different state or cities or even countries.

Who calls who. Which parents calls first. Which parents visit each other first. What is the scheme of things?
Tell me your experience or what you've seen happen. I just want to know what most naija people do.
This one, Im not sure, but I think each person needs to tell their individual parents of their intent. Then, for Yoruba people o, (that is all i can speak for) the boys family is coming to marry a wife, so the boys family makes the first move. Nothing major, just a few phone calls to mama-girl to greet her etc and create familiarity. Next (Im assuming the wedding isnt like tomorrow) the families start inviting each other to family events (mummys birthday Owambe, Grandads funeral etc). After that one sha, I dont know. I can call my mom and ask what happens next sha.

"Those who wish to love and sing always find a song" :A Swedish Proverb.

Si Hoc Legere Scis Nimium Eruditionis Habes

Originally posted by jerseygirl
Where oh where could my little bored be?
Could she actually be hiding from me?
I've searched this board, high and low
written witty comebacks....but she's a no show

I know she is addicted...of this fact I'm sure
Or could it be that she don't love me no more
Come back and bring some more sunshine to my dreary day
with the colorful and mischievous things you say

I'll patiently wait for you to return to me...
please make it soon...I fear for what might be
My boredom has driven me to rhyme
Stop lurking and post, so we can have a swell time
bored is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 08:57 PM   #19 (permalink)
Queen Diva

Bank: 66,040,247,648.77
Total Points: 66,040,254,648.77
Rep Power: 21474878 SISSY is a legendSISSY is a legendSISSY is a legendSISSY is a legendSISSY is a legendSISSY is a legendSISSY is a legendSISSY is a legendSISSY is a legendSISSY is a legendSISSY is a legend

wow una shud continue..i dey learn new tings today
I mean its not rocket science....i want my girl to be the proudest chick out there...i want her to tell her girls that her man would never cheat...that her man loves her to death...that her man truly lives to see her happy...i want her to say everything that ppl would consider 'stupid'...but most importantly, i want that when she says these things, she'd be right...

I have joy, unspeakable joy
SISSY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 08:58 PM   #20 (permalink)

Bank: 8,088,592,614.34
Total Points: 8,088,599,269.42
Rep Power: 21474871 Homiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legend

The boys family makes the first move....it'll be as easy as 'boy calls girls mum to say hello...ah 'mummy' talk to My mum'...to get the ball rolling.
I can do all things thru christ who strengthens me...........phil 4:13
Homiluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 08:58 PM   #21 (permalink)
YNG Exec

Bank: 4,416,038.37
Total Points: 4,441,552.01
Rep Power: 21474861 dols is a legenddols is a legenddols is a legenddols is a legenddols is a legenddols is a legenddols is a legenddols is a legenddols is a legenddols is a legenddols is a legend

its the boy's family that do the callin and so on, after all they r they beggin for a wife. they will usually set a mutualy agreed date for an introduction. they boys parents and some elders from his family go to the house of the girl's family. they will bring some small gift sha. and just introduce themselves officially.

AnotherQuestion before i go eat

Question 6:
Naija boy like naija girl. They've decided they want to spend the rest of their lives together. Naija girl has met his parents/family unofficially, they all like her. Naija boy has met her parents/family unofficially, they all like him. Now, both partners have decided it time to start making preparations: The couple's parents have not met and never spoken. For example, they live in different state or cities or even countries.

Who calls who. Which parents calls first. Which parents visit each other first. What is the scheme of things?
Tell me your experience or what you've seen happen. I just want to know what most naija people do.
Old 11-24-2008, 08:58 PM   #22 (permalink)

Rep Power: 0 Arokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legendArokoyo is a legend

Originally Posted by bored View Post
This one, Im not sure, but I think each person needs to tell their individual parents of their intent. Then, for Yoruba people o, (that is all i can speak for) the boys family is coming to marry a wife, so the boys family makes the first move. Nothing major, just a few phone calls to mama-girl to greet her etc and create familiarity. Next (Im assuming the wedding isnt like tomorrow) the families start inviting each other to family events (mummys birthday Owambe, Grandads funeral etc). After that one sha, I dont know. I can call my mom and ask what happens next sha.
Please check sweety.
A friend of mine actually asked me this. She's delta..tho they speak yoruba, but her man is yoruba.
Old 11-24-2008, 09:01 PM   #23 (permalink)

Bank: 9,213,319,468.46
Total Points: 9,231,807,552.46
Rep Power: 21474915 CSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legend

Naija man and woman. Newly weds, delivers a child.
Is it required or is it the norm that the 2 inlaws come for your first baby?
Is it the norm that one of the mothers must stay for at least 3 months when your first baby is born to help you?
Who stays? Or which one is more common, husband's mother or wife's mother?

Answer #1:
Igbo people do something called Omugwo (sp?), where the mama of the bride comes and spends some time with her. In my aunt's case, her mom passed away so her oldest sister took some time off to come and stay with her. I know someone whose mama spent like a good 6 months so it depends.
Old 11-24-2008, 09:04 PM   #24 (permalink)

Originally Posted by bored View Post

Yes o. Not only thank you, but "sorry" too. YOU want todo them a favor, its not convenient for you to do it on the persons schedule then you have to "Mummy, jo, e maa binu" 100,000 times.
I was surprised when she called, tho i apologized and lied that i meant to call ...and just gave some random excuse.
After i spoke to my mom, we called her again the next day to thank her some more and called her a week later to see how her week is going and to thank her over and over again
Old 11-24-2008, 09:10 PM   #25 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474915 CSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legendCSC is a legend

Question 2. Is it compulsory that you buy gift(s) for your fiance's (male or female) family when you go to visit them. Like his/her younger siblings or his/her mother? Let's say they live in a different city, town or state?

Question 3. For females: When a naija female visits her future husband's family (for the first few times) she's just knowing them, since they are not married yet. It is required or the norm, or is she expected to get into the kitchen and help out? Since she is a guest.
Answer #2

I wouldn't buy gifts all the time but sure, why not the occasional gift. I don't think it is compulsory per se. It doesn't have to be anything major...In Naija we could carry yams, chicken and all that good stuff. Dunno the kind of gifts that folk finna be buying here sha.

Answer #3
Well, I would help out. I wouldn't wanna sit and cross leg on the couch while Momma and sister are slaving away in the kitchen. I'd definitely volunteer my services, or after dinner offer to clear the plates and do the dishes. When I go to people's houses anyway, I tend to do this so e no be big deal.
Old 11-24-2008, 09:13 PM   #26 (permalink)

Question 4. Is it normal or required that you make his sister(s) your bridemaid (or his brother ur groomsman if male) when you are getting married. If you are not friends with them, i.e. you didn't know his/her sibling before you met your partner. Is it required that yall use each other's sibling in your wedding party?
Answer #4

Please! No be by force o jare. Even if I got to be close with his sisters, abegi...I get plenty friends wey I don sabi before am. Make she feel honored with her Aso ebi role and let's keep it moving.
Old 11-24-2008, 09:14 PM   #27 (permalink)
FIRST LADY

Bank: 87,914,874.36
Total Points: 88,306,644.76
Rep Power: 21474895 Starlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legend

for real?? good to know.. she really should keep her "aso oke"

Question 5:
Me i didn't know that when someone gives you guys a gift when you visit them!
And you already thanked them --- thank them, thank them...ohh, up until you left, even as they walked u guys to the car, you are kneeling down fifty times and almost somersaulting on their flower pot.
Ask me what the gift is: aso-ebi...aso oke for two.
You have to call them again the next morning!!!! to thank them for the gift!!!!!!
Like seriously?! wtf...but you know what, it's the culture. It's how it's done. I didn't know this. I wish someone had told me.
When the mama (his mom's friend) called me a week later saying she's offended that i didn't call to thank her...i was like and his mom already thanked her for us oh, cos we told her.

My mom said, im silly that i was supposed to call her to thank her again the next day and a week after, that it's the culture. Please guys i need a manual -- does anyone have anything typed up i can read?

When you cry, I cry
I cry along with you

Wahalai Lai talia, gimme lighter, shebi shebi we're on fire Kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal
NS 1463

We're truly unruly and we should get sued
Starlomor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 09:16 PM   #28 (permalink)

Bank: 8,898,476,635.22
Total Points: 8,898,498,595.95
Rep Power: 0 NaijaBred is a legendNaijaBred is a legendNaijaBred is a legendNaijaBred is a legendNaijaBred is a legendNaijaBred is a legendNaijaBred is a legendNaijaBred is a legendNaijaBred is a legendNaijaBred is a legendNaijaBred is a legend

i have a feeling i'll be fucking things up with the in-laws in future
NaijaBred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 09:18 PM   #29 (permalink)
No Angel

Bank: 5,356,331,752.10
Total Points: 5,356,689,792.58
Rep Power: 21474887 bored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legend

Originally Posted by NaijaBred View Post
i have a feeling i'll be fucking things up with the in-laws in future

"Those who wish to love and sing always find a song" :A Swedish Proverb.

Si Hoc Legere Scis Nimium Eruditionis Habes

Originally posted by jerseygirl
Where oh where could my little bored be?
Could she actually be hiding from me?
I've searched this board, high and low
written witty comebacks....but she's a no show

I know she is addicted...of this fact I'm sure
Or could it be that she don't love me no more
Come back and bring some more sunshine to my dreary day
with the colorful and mischievous things you say

I'll patiently wait for you to return to me...
please make it soon...I fear for what might be
My boredom has driven me to rhyme
Stop lurking and post, so we can have a swell time
bored is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 09:19 PM   #30 (permalink)
FIRST LADY

Bank: 87,914,874.36
Total Points: 88,306,644.76
Rep Power: 21474895 Starlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legend

My head is actually hurting and for some reason i'm getting more pissed reading this.. maybe i'm just pmsing otherwise culture SUCKS!

When you cry, I cry
I cry along with you

Wahalai Lai talia, gimme lighter, shebi shebi we're on fire Kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal
NS 1463

We're truly unruly and we should get sued
Starlomor is offline   Reply With Quote