Go Back   Naija Ryders > Main > Wall Street

Old 11-24-2008, 07:41 AM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,740.60
Rep Power: 21474852 Ekwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legend
Cool HLEP FOR THE UNEMPLOYED FOLKS

Unemployment insurance benefits: What you should know - Nov. 20, 2008

Worried about how to make ends meet without a paycheck? Here's what you should know to take advantage of the new law.

How you qualify: To be eligible, you must be unemployed through no fault of your own and be actively seeking work. Requirements vary from state to state. Generally, wages earned and time on the job determine if you qualify and the level of assistance you will receive.

For example, In Washington you need to have 680 hours of employment in your base year - which is the first 12 of the last 18 months of work. In Nevada, a person must have earned at least $400 in one quarter of the base year to get help.

What you get: States have their own formulas for determining how much you will receive and for how long, but a general rule of thumb is that you will get half of your last paycheck for 26 weeks, explained Andy Stettner, deputy director of the National Employment Law Project.

In most states that is based on what you earned over your base year - up to a certain amount. Every state sets its own maximum, based on that state's average income. The average unemployment insurance benefit is $292 a week according to the Department of Labor.

When you get it: Experts recommend filing for unemployment on your first day out of work. It generally takes two or three weeks after you file a claim to receive your first check. In most cases there is then a "waiting week," and then you will receive your first unemployment insurance check the week after that.

What impacts your benefits: If you work part-time or freelance while you are collecting unemployment that will most likely reduce or eliminate your benefits. The same is true for severance checks in some states. You could still get a partial unemployment check but the formula for determining what percentage of your benefit you could still receive differs by state.

How to get in on the extension: In most states your unemployment insurance will be automatically extended if the Unemployment Compensation Extension Act passes. But to be sure, Stettner recommends calling your unemployment office to ask what you need to do to qualify.

To find out more about unemployment insurance benefits on a state-by-state basis, go to the State Unemployment Insurance agency.

See y'all at the unemployment line
"First they came for the Jews and I did not speak out - because I was not a Jew. Then they came for the communist and I did not speak out - because I was not a communist. Then they came for the trade unionists and I did not speak out - because I was not a trade unionists. Then they came for me - and there was no one left to speak out for me."
-Pastor Niemoeler (victim of the Nazis)

“Nothing makes us so lonely as our secrets.”
Dr. Paul Touriner
Ekwutosilam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 1.15
Total Points: 1,246,116.24
Rep Power: 21474865 aba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legendaba made is a legend

Originally Posted by Ekwutosilam View Post
See y'all at the unemployment line
have fun by yourself.
Old 11-25-2008, 04:53 AM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 9,347,656.11
Total Points: 9,359,185.43
Rep Power: 21474846 Floresse8501 is a legendFloresse8501 is a legendFloresse8501 is a legendFloresse8501 is a legendFloresse8501 is a legendFloresse8501 is a legendFloresse8501 is a legendFloresse8501 is a legendFloresse8501 is a legendFloresse8501 is a legendFloresse8501 is a legend

Originally Posted by aba made View Post
have fun by yourself.
lmao dang u r mean....

anything u can cook jare

whether na stew, eguisi or ogbono

or your fancy pastries"
Floresse8501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 03:55 AM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,740.60
Rep Power: 21474852 Ekwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legendEkwutosilam is a legend

Originally Posted by aba made View Post
have fun by yourself.
"First they came for the Jews and I did not speak out - because I was not a Jew. Then they came for the communist and I did not speak out - because I was not a communist. Then they came for the trade unionists and I did not speak out - because I was not a trade unionists. Then they came for me - and there was no one left to speak out for me."
-Pastor Niemoeler (victim of the Nazis)

“Nothing makes us so lonely as our secrets.”
Dr. Paul Touriner
Ekwutosilam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)

Total Points: 610.00

THANKS FOR SHARING
samrawet is offline   Reply With Quote