![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
Lets say I have a whole yam and i want to make my own fufu from scratch how do I do it.
I want to make a batch of black fufu and a batch of white fufu. Thanks in advance for all reasonable input.
Check it out ->http://naijafoodie.blogspot.com/ Let none presume to wear an undeserved dignity. O that estates, degrees, and offices Were not deriv'd corruptly, and that clear honour Were purchas'd by the merit of the wearer! |
![]() Join Date: Apr 2003
r u talking about yoruba fufu or amala ? 'cause regular fufu is made from cassava not yam
I guess I meant amala. In my mind all I could think of was fufu..lol
Check it out ->http://naijafoodie.blogspot.com/ Let none presume to wear an undeserved dignity. O that estates, degrees, and offices Were not deriv'd corruptly, and that clear honour Were purchas'd by the merit of the wearer! |
NR Daddy
you can make regular fufu from yam.
get the yam, peel and discard the skins, cut up the yam boil the yam. when it's done boiling. throw it in a wooden mortar and pound with pestle. (this is the hard part) you have to pound it really good to have no lumps. bring it out, ball it together and serve. This is the ONLY way we eat pounded yam in Naija, we don't know none of that powder stuff. btw, who are you making pounded yam for?
Born to Rule, Born to Win. The World is my Mine! If you want something you have never had, you must be willing to do something you have never done! You must believe in yourself, for if you will not believe in yourself THEN WHY SHOULD anyone believe in you? The_world_is_pushed_and_pulled, by_Fear,_Need_and Greed. |
but that's pounded yam na, is it the same thing as fufu? I'm actually particularly interested in how to make amala. I'm learning incase somebody comes along for me to make pounded yam for. I mean if they come along and I have not learn it would be too late by then. Long time oh, How you dey?
![]() Join Date: May 2007
you have to dry the yam first and grind it into powder
that's how you make amala
And whats the difference btw white amala and pounded yam? Is it just method of preparation?
i have never heard of white amala sha, maybe really light grey which you get when you dry the yam yourself, commerciallyy prepared amala has all sorts of nonsense(the skin o the yam, rotten yam and what not) inside that gives it, its very dark colour
ROHY ![]() Join Date: Nov 2007
lafun is made from the yam itself (without the skin), and I believe amala dudu (the brown one) is made from the yam skins. I think.
@ Icegold, thank the lawd you meant amala because I was thinking "why the hell would you wanna mill your own fufu in your house? the thingy smells like sh*t!!!"
lafun is made from cassava not yam, it is like akpu,
Last edited by Bende; 11-22-2008 at 08:40 AM.. Reason: to add the akpu refrence for Icey |
#14 (permalink) |
#15 (permalink) |
I dunno if I'm more confused. I'm that confused...lol
Okay. So Lafun is the same as akpu. Amala dudu is the black amala, made with the skin and the yam itself, dried, milled and made with hot water. Okay, could someone tell me how Lafun is made?