Old 11-20-2008, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Intellectual
Chief Medical Director of NR

Bank: 8,401,128.59
Total Points: 8,703,638.59
Rep Power: 9521584 Ndidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legend
Default Non-nigerian food served at nigerian weddings

My friend and I talked last night about this nigerian wedding she attended where an american meal was served. She liked the meal (it was round steak and shrimp, with 2 side vegetables, salad, and bread) but most of the other wedding guests scoffed at it in disgust.

Ndidiamaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 06:58 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474960 Thalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legend

When that happens, it because the reception area doesn't allow outside caterers. So if you do decide to host your reception at their hall, they cater the food. As far as i know,some halls do this because of the way some outside caterers misuse the place.
“I just write the stories I want to read, with women like the ones that I know. The people who pass for females in traditional comics look like men with watermelons strapped to their chests, carrying big guns and posting like they’re in a porno magazine. I’ve never met any women like that, so I won’t put them in my books.”

Old 11-20-2008, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
No Angel

Bank: 7,536,896,672.27
Total Points: 7,537,306,212.75
Rep Power: 21474888 bored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legend

where are you? While you were out cheating on me last night, I cooked for you. There is fried rice with gizzard and shrimp in the fridge, and chicken (clear containers with blue covers).

"Those who wish to love and sing always find a song" :A Swedish Proverb.

Si Hoc Legere Scis Nimium Eruditionis Habes

Originally posted by jerseygirl
Where oh where could my little bored be?
Could she actually be hiding from me?
I've searched this board, high and low
written witty comebacks....but she's a no show

I know she is addicted...of this fact I'm sure
Or could it be that she don't love me no more
Come back and bring some more sunshine to my dreary day
with the colorful and mischievous things you say

I'll patiently wait for you to return to me...
please make it soon...I fear for what might be
My boredom has driven me to rhyme
Stop lurking and post, so we can have a swell time
bored is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
ROTY

Bank: 4,956,132,786.33
Total Points: 5,006,389,336.77
Rep Power: 21474871 shakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legend

What TAG said. Sometimes, the celebrants also do it to be "different"... either way sha... i bet u those that scoffed at it still stuffed their faces and were still looking for "to Go" containers!

THEN THEY CAME for the trade unionists,
and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a trade unionist.

THEN THEY CAME for the Jews,
and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a Jew.

THEN THEY CAME for me
and by that time no one was left to speak up."
shakara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 07:10 PM   #5 (permalink)

Bank: 1,235,795,937.12
Total Points: 1,395,357,992.97
Rep Power: 5791875 harcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legend

yUP, AND I LIKED IT.

THEY THREW A BIG PARTY THE NIGHT BEFORE WITH ALL THE NAIJA FOOD, IT WAS SO MUCH FUN SEF. FOR A CHANGE.
See her eyes like Abaji's ocean. Is there anything so reflective and expressive in the hinterland?
See her lips as luscious as palm kernel.
Dis na original daughter of Wohinghi. They don't make them like this north of Imo river.
harcourtgrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 07:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Intellectual

Rep Power: 9521584 Ndidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legendNdidiamaka is a legend

But don't you guys ever get tired of the same old menu choices??? I mean there can only be one kind of jollof rice; the bad kind and the good kind.

Old 11-20-2008, 07:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Intellectual

Bored...my wife. Thanks for the food! So sorry I cam e in so late....the train from Brooklyn took forever. I felt so bad

Old 11-20-2008, 07:16 PM   #8 (permalink)

Bank: 8,493,022,245.05
Total Points: 8,493,029,200.13
Rep Power: 21474872 Homiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legend

Most nigerians would rather eat naija food at weddings [me included] even tho' we eat it everyday. My problem with non-naija food is when the hotel tries to make our rice/food and just mess it up. In the scenario u posted i wouldn't have minded cos they weren't trying to recreate our food.
weirdly enuff food is one of the few things pple remember about a wedding/event...
I can do all things thru christ who strengthens me...........phil 4:13
Homiluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 07:17 PM   #9 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

yeah my sis had the same problem, but she negotiated with them that if she buys oyibo food for 150 people, then she can bring her own food, so we ended up having both.
Old 11-20-2008, 07:20 PM   #10 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

Tired of naija food like j rice, moin moin and f. rice? nope, cause with weddings and special functions, ppl go all out and get the best caterers to make the food, so u know it's on point because in as much as i enjoy oyibo food, it has nothing on well made naija food.
Old 11-20-2008, 07:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Intellectual

Originally Posted by Homiluv View Post
Most nigerians would rather eat naija food at weddings [me included] even tho' we eat it everyday. My problem with non-naija food is when the hotel tries to make our rice/food and just mess it up. In the scenario u posted i wouldn't have minded cos they weren't trying to recreate our food.
weirdly enuff food is one of the few things pple remember about a wedding/event...
I totally disagree. My parents and friends always recall if the food was good and if there was liquor. Was the music good? Was the place nicely decorated?

That's it. I could care less if the bride was pretty or what her aso ebi looked like.

A bad meal will haunt the memory of the most lovely wedding.

Old 11-20-2008, 07:23 PM   #12 (permalink)

Bank: 1,235,795,937.12
Total Points: 1,395,357,992.97
Rep Power: 5791875 harcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legendharcourtgrl is a legend

MEHNNN, I HAD THE BEST MEATPIE EVER IN BOSTON, THE OYIBO PPL SERVED IT DURING THE COCKTAIL HOUR. IT WAS THE SHIZNITT MEHN
See her eyes like Abaji's ocean. Is there anything so reflective and expressive in the hinterland?
See her lips as luscious as palm kernel.
Dis na original daughter of Wohinghi. They don't make them like this north of Imo river.
harcourtgrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 07:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Intellectual

Originally Posted by askimoli View Post
Tired of naija food like j rice, moin moin and f. rice? nope, cause with weddings and special functions, ppl go all out and get the best caterers to make the food, so u know it's on point because in as much as i enjoy oyibo food, it has nothing on well made naija food.
I disagree. but I was raised here. I'm not all that gaga about rice. Moin moin should never be served at weddings...that thing bloats you up.

Plus there are alot of other nigerian foods that I've never ever seen here that I wish i could have.

Old 11-20-2008, 07:27 PM   #14 (permalink)

Bank: 8,493,022,245.05
Total Points: 8,493,029,200.13
Rep Power: 21474872 Homiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legendHomiluv is a legend

what are you disagreeing with?

what other kind of naija dish will you like to see at a wedding?

I totally disagree. My parents and friends always recall if the food was good and if there was liquor. Was the music good? Was the place nicely decorated?

That's it. I could care less if the bride was pretty or what her aso ebi looked like.

A bad meal will haunt the memory of the most lovely wedding.
I can do all things thru christ who strengthens me...........phil 4:13
Homiluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 07:29 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Homiluv View Post
what are you disagreeing with?

what other kind of naija dish will you like to see at a wedding?
ewa agoin (sp)