Old 10-08-2008, 05:12 AM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 22,582.95
Rep Power: 910694 eby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legend
Default ogbono recipe

can someone plz share thier recipe with me? that's one soup i never learned how to cook. thanks!

A place for Writers, Poets and Creative minds to share their work...
eby187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 03:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
The masculinist

Bank: 3,774,834.47
Total Points: 3,796,920.67
Rep Power: 4626171 Devilsadvocate is a legendDevilsadvocate is a legendDevilsadvocate is a legendDevilsadvocate is a legendDevilsadvocate is a legendDevilsadvocate is a legendDevilsadvocate is a legendDevilsadvocate is a legendDevilsadvocate is a legendDevilsadvocate is a legendDevilsadvocate is a legend

shame on you...how u no go sabi cook ogbono soup. Na how u want am...the yoruba way, the igbo way or the hausa way?

We are the people our parents warned us about

no doubt deserved my enemies, but I don't believe I deserved my friends

A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do

I bet the main reason the police keep people away from a plane crash is they don't want anybody walking in and lying down in the crash stuff, then, when somebody comes up, act like they just woke up and go, "What was THAT?!"

Feminism causes women to kill their husbands, practice witchcraft, destroy capitalism, and become lesbians
Devilsadvocate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 06:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Crosseyed

Bank: 14,884,027.22
Total Points: 14,889,727.22
Rep Power: 3467672 Lefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legend

ingredients

1. ogbono
2. dry pepper
3. palm oil
4. dried crayfish
5. spinach
6. fresh fish or cooked meat or cooked chicken
7. oporoko (if u have)

1. blend ogbono with crayfish with dry blender to help make it smoother.

2. put some water in a pot (quantity depends on how much soup u want to make)

3. add dry pepper and oporoko and allow to cook,

4. put palm oil to d ogbono & crayfish mix..mix together

5. add ur cooked meat or chicken to boiling water & pepper

6. add ur ogbono mix and allow to cook for 10mins

7. add ur diced spinach & cook 4 no more than 5mins so ur vegetable is still fresh

8. add salt to taste and voila

note: if cooking with fresh fish, add just b4 adding d spinach so ur fish doesn't break

"True love is like a ghost, we all talk about it, but nobody has ever seen one."

"Politeness is a currency that enriches he who gives it and not he who receives it."

"There is always a way out of it, you just haven't got to it yet"

Nigeria We Hail Thee!!!!!
Lefty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 02:25 AM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 22,582.95
Rep Power: 910694 eby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legend

thanks lefty!

as for DA, hausa way ke?

A place for Writers, Poets and Creative minds to share their work...
eby187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 06:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Original No. 1 Naija Bad Gyal
Dancehall Wrecker

Bank: 81,552,957.96
Total Points: 81,570,313.66
Rep Power: 21474852 Zara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legend

My own's a bit different. but hey! i'm a yoruba girl so what do i know? lol

I buy ground ogbono. why go thru d stress of grinding it. Dry crayfish, ground and regular.

measurements is @ ur discretion. if you cook, u shud have an idea how 2 go. if not, er...can't help u there.

1. red bell peppers + onion - blend the combo. NO TOMATOES! I REPEAT! NO tomaNto!
2. boil your meat - if using goat, cow, african store stuff, boil first w/ just salt, then pour out the foamy water, and pour water again, boil, put maggi and other seasoning. NO CURRY in ogbono. use seasoning as ur mouth likes. pour in crayfish too as ur nose/mouth likes.
3. As your meat is boiling again w/ all the seasoning inside, put some of your bell pepper and onion combo to give it small color. you don't need palm oil or any other kind of oil. Bad Cholesterol is a binsh. Meat secretes oils n e wayz as it cooks so you're good on that side.
4. As your pepper in boiling meat combo looks good..u dont gta cook that for any more than 5. mins sef. add ogbono small small depending on d consistency of the brand as it cooks. dont just dump d whole bag in there, pour and stir, when it draws how u like, stop. u can also add water. u dont need 2 cook d ogbono forever.
6. Add spinach, or ewedu or ugwu or whatever other vegetable u feel like using. cook for another 5 mins. me i cook longer than that. d spinach i use is frozen anyways, that aint fresh to me.

i've never done w/ fish so I don't have any fish advice. just don't oversalt and season to taste.

good luck!
Zara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)

Bank: 1,836,162,920.28
Total Points: 1,836,482,490.28
Rep Power: 21474886 fancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legend

u make it exactly the same way u make egusi. the same ingredient only thing different is the ogbono.
oh if u are not sure is a good ogbono that will draw wellu wellu don't fry it oh in oil. just pour it in the pot when ur meat stock and oil is cooked.
Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN

Old 12-12-2009, 08:22 AM   #7 (permalink)

Total Points: 310.00

Wash and drain asparagus. Cut off tips 1 ~ 1/2 inches from the top. Bring the chicken stock to a boil in a large soup pot.
Cook the asparagus tips in the boiling stock until tender, about 5 minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon, drain well, and set aside.

Dice the remaining stalks and boil in the stock until very soft, about 15 minutes. Press stalks and some of the stock through a strainer or coarse sieve. Return puree to the pot.
jacob.Emily is offline   Reply With Quote