![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2002
[So I'm being productive at work today, but clearly doing my thing on the side. By 10 am, what had started off as a random thought had developed into…poetry? I'll probably post it as a note on FB, but R&R was the first place I intended for it to end up. Nothing mentioned is based on anything I've heard recently, but it's relatively common stuff. All feedback, input, etc, is welcome. And of course, feel free to answer the question. Also, do keep in mind that I'm not a poet..not by a milestone.]
Thursday, August the 14th, 2008 Dear Diary, This thing called love – is it worth it? Too many have I witnessed become hapless victims of it, Lose their identity, personal dignity; all in the quest to find it. And when, finally, they wind up consumed by it, Much like a lost soul struggling to break the bonds of a bad habit, They find themselves wishing the way out were as easy as declaring: "I quit!" Roses he bought her, sweet nothings he whispered in her ear, Innocently, she held on to the fragile belief that for an eternity would he remain near, Only to later hear him say that "it was fun while it lasted, and babe, believe me – for you I truly did care…" The girl of his dreams, his good fortune he could not believe, Never did imagine that such an innocent face could have so many tricks neatly concealed up her pretty sleeve; Heart shattered into a million irretrievable pieces when the realization sunk in that all the while, she'd had him deceived. They've all ached incessantly, cried, and asked the ultimate question – "Why?" When in retrospect, all it was, was a temporary high, And all it took to bring them crashing back down to earth was a simple word – "Goodbye." And so, dear diary, as I find myself contemplating all the pain that has come of it, I feel led to ask the inevitable question – Is it ever truly worth it? KS. |
*ahem*
wanna tell us sumthin NP?
If they ever tell my story let them say that I walked with giants. Men rise and fall like the winter wheat, but these names will never die. Let them say I lived in the time of Hector, tamer of horses. Let them say I lived in the time of Achilles-Troy ‘No man is completely useless, at least he will serve as a bad example' ![]() [COLOR= blue]If someone can walk away from u,then let them walk,your destiny is neva tied to anyone dat left...Let it go It doesn't mean that they are bad people,it just means their part in ur story is over...Let it go[/color] |
Love is some bullshit, always misunderstood, most people dont understand it and grasp the entirety of it. It takes a lot of time and sacrifice, not that emotional tingling sensation most people feel when they hear the person's name or see the person's face. It's like a child, the child costs so much to raise a child, the child gets into trouble, breaks ur glass, does real damage here and there, but there's this real feeling u have within u that gives u the power to keep sacrificing, even if it is waking up @ 3 in the morning to check if he's not peeing on his bed...that's love right there. Perhaps those with a tightly knit family can relate to the pains and rewards of close love.
Love is not an easy thing, it's very painful, anything that involves some form of sacrifice or giving something your all/best effort is especially if it doesnt go a fairy tale way, and that's not how it's supposed to be. many experiences might force u to shut down or shut out, but it's in ur best interest to wise up, learn from ur mistakes, but still keep an open heart. The pain of past times would hurt u in the future if u dont seal up the wounds now. |
lol.. I hope you know me better to actually think that this was anything more than me writing? I'm always one of the first to defend it. |
![]() Join Date: Aug 2006
![]() Quote:
![]() ![]() ![]()
![]() Join Date: Oct 2007
The pain of love is deep and I something's say its not worth it. But love doesn't always hurt and even if it did, the pain eventually fades away and the wounds eventually heal. Okay scars are left behind but the scars left behind makes a stronger heart.
Love is worth it. It is the greatest high when u are in it. I mean love in its entirety, one u have that makes u feel like u would forsake everything to be with the one who holds your heart. The highest high when reciprocated, a truly spiritual experience. The problem is that we are human prone to evil, we are bound to disappoint, bound to hurt. And of cause this makes love the greatest low when its lost. Like a poet once stated, 'you never know real love until you know real pain'. Thats why I love Javan 's poems. He tackles all angles of love, our need for it, the work it requires, the joy it brings, the pain it brings. here's one We are all born into this World with certain abilities and various needs. The challenge of Life is for us to discover those abilities and to use them, while fulfilling our needs. Each person must do this within the realm of a completely unique set of circumstances. Our abilities are as many and varied as there are people, but we will find that our needs are common to all. The need that offers the greatest potential for joy is also the need that offers the greatest potential for pain, the need to share our life with someone. see more at Javan press Welcome to Javan Press |
Last edited by naija_pikin; 08-16-2008 at 12:38 AM.. |