Old 07-30-2008, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default those phonecalls

"I've known her closely for about 2 months, we are still in the talking stage and we hang out a lot by proxy of her and me being the only few black people in our school talkless of the engineering school. She's not physically attractive to the eye but she has a personality that compensates so I think I know what I'm up with.

However, whenever we are out she gets these phonecalls, she looks at the number(no name) but she doesnt pick it up, happens on more than one occasion. I finally wanted to know who were those phonecalls from? Was it some ex, or a boy she's seeing?

She smiles turns to me and says 'collection agencies'

I further inquire and I know for a fact that she doesn't have a big spending problem now, she said that it was during freshman year, you know, when the credit card companies sent all those mail offers and you applied, ran out of credit coz of crazy shopping and interest rates of 0. Then applied for 2 others...running her total debt into at least 2000 and unable to keep up, it went to collections.

'If I had known better, I'd have not spent as much, heck, i'd have read those terms and conditions first!' She said laughing, sipping on her drink.

I'm not sure how I should take this, if I intend to be serious with this girl (which I really do because I really like her honest and unreserved way of talking things), I don't know how to deal with a girl who takes money owed in collections so lightly...what of if I start this and go all the way...how would this kind of woman raise a family while taking things easy living in such debt? One hand, her cool and comported way of things is admirable, but shouldn't I worry about how she handles her debt? if she's going to pay it off?Should I guide her through it? Right now she even does not have a job, living off daddy's money, shouldn't I be worried?

~Worried,
Lexington, Kentucky
"
Old 07-30-2008, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 10308491 Efizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legendEfizzybaby is a legend

Hmm taking collection calls lightly.....wrong move
Well if she willing to let u work with her and put her thru...Good if not..Dump her.

Old 08-04-2008, 04:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mami water

Bank: 1.02
Total Points: 601.77
Rep Power: 875826 member is a legendmember is a legendmember is a legendmember is a legendmember is a legendmember is a legendmember is a legendmember is a legendmember is a legendmember is a legendmember is a legend

:
There are many diverse African indigenous/religious traditions, but the most notable are the Mami Water spirits found in various regions along the western coast of Africa. “Maame Water”, also spelled “mami water”, has been a central character in many riverside and coastal communities in West African. According to local lore, “Maame Water” is a sea goddess -- a source of absolute beauty and money. But, she has also been known to over-turn canoes and lure victims down to her watery kingdom.
member is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Anonymous

Bank: 5,622,335.75
Total Points: 5,708,307.40
Rep Power: 21474886 ______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend

Originally Posted by Boss View Post
"I've known her closely for about 2 months, we are still in the talking stage and we hang out a lot by proxy of her and me being the only few black people in our school talkless of the engineering school. She's not physically attractive to the eye but she has a personality that compensates so I think I know what I'm up with.
However, whenever we are out she gets these phonecalls, she looks at the number(no name) but she doesnt pick it up, happens on more than one occasion. I finally wanted to know who were those phonecalls from? Was it some ex, or a boy she's seeing?

She smiles turns to me and says 'collection agencies'

I further inquire and I know for a fact that she doesn't have a big spending problem now, she said that it was during freshman year, you know, when the credit card companies sent all those mail offers and you applied, ran out of credit coz of crazy shopping and interest rates of 0. Then applied for 2 others...running her total debt into at least 2000 and unable to keep up, it went to collections.

'If I had known better, I'd have not spent as much, heck, i'd have read those terms and conditions first!' She said laughing, sipping on her drink.

I'm not sure how I should take this, if I intend to be serious with this girl (which I really do because I really like her honest and unreserved way of talking things), I don't know how to deal with a girl who takes money owed in collections so lightly...what of if I start this and go all the way...how would this kind of woman raise a family while taking things easy living in such debt? One hand, her cool and comported way of things is admirable, but shouldn't I worry about how she handles her debt? if she's going to pay it off?Should I guide her through it? Right now she even does not have a job, living off daddy's money, shouldn't I be worried?

~Worried,
Lexington, Kentucky
"
first of all .. this comment can come back and bite you in the arse.. i advice you to delete it..and i will delete the qoute.. if she ever comes across this...u are fucked. something similar has happened to me..(some one on NR ratted me out).. and it wasnt pretty

also people make mistakes when they are young.. if it is only debt collectors.. it is something that is very common among uni students.. just guide her through it.. she has probably changed her spending habits
Old 08-20-2008, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Anonymous

Bank: 5,622,335.75
Total Points: 5,708,307.40
Rep Power: 21474886 ______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend

Originally Posted by I_am View Post
first of all .. this comment can come back and bite you in the arse.. i advice you to delete it..and i will delete the qoute.. if she ever comes across this...u are fucked. something similar has happened to me..(some one on NR ratted me out).. and it wasnt pretty

also people make mistakes when they are young.. if it is only debt collectors.. it is something that is very common among uni students.. just guide her through it.. she has probably changed her spending habits
i just realised that they are not your words lol
Old 08-20-2008, 07:27 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474915 naija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legend

You need some sleep again, abi?