Old 07-26-2008, 10:56 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Age is not equal to Maturity

Would you please like to share personal instances where this has proven the case (whether it's you, what someone did to you, or someone else you know of)?
Old 07-27-2008, 03:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Captain

Bank: 848,419,240.83
Total Points: 848,600,815.83
Rep Power: 21474900 Uncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legend

I would like to modify the statement to age is not ALWAYS equal to maturity. Generally, there is some correlation.

But in many cases, including the guys I work with - in there 40s, running around with women like teenagers- it is not.

NR Tribalists, Religious Bigots, and Enemies of Progress: Your name Here?

Beat the U.S. Financial Crisis
Uncle Sunday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 04:27 AM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474915 naija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legend

Not in the story-telling mood, but within the past 12 months, I've experienced all sorts of instances when I was just like wow..I wouldn't expect this from a 27+ year old. Depending on who it is, it can be quite frustrating.
Old 07-28-2008, 04:47 AM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 1,132,292.28
Total Points: 1,151,592.28
Rep Power: 1061468 The_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legend

Last edited by The_Dar; 09-17-2009 at 04:45 AM..
The_Dar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 04:51 AM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474915 naija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legend

Originally Posted by The_Dar
age means nothing

Not quite true, but we obviously agree on it not equaling maturity. I know some teenagers who would give one less hassle than people a decade older than they are.
Old 07-28-2008, 06:24 AM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1061468 The_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legendThe_Dar is a legend

Originally Posted by naija_pikin
Not quite true, but we obviously agree on it not equaling maturity. I know some teenagers who would give one less hassle than people a decade older than they are.
yeah, but maturity overrides age when it come to relationships or how most people respond to situations
Old 07-28-2008, 06:29 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by The_Dar
yeah, but maturity overrides age when it come to relationships or how most people respond to situations

True.. but maturity does grow with age. People have commended me for being "mature for my age" all my life, but with each passing year, I realize the little ways in which I was immature in some way or the other just the year before.
Old 07-28-2008, 08:14 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by naija_pikin
True.. but maturity does grow with age. People have commended me for being "mature for my age" all my life, but with each passing year, I realize the little ways in which I was immature in some way or the other just the year before.
I definitely feel the same way, I used to be called 'wise' when i was younger, now that everyone else has caught up i see all my flaws magnified when i compare myself to others
Old 07-28-2008, 12:47 PM   #9 (permalink)

Total Points: 3,031.45
Rep Power: 0 Taurus is a legendTaurus is a legendTaurus is a legendTaurus is a legendTaurus is a legendTaurus is a legendTaurus is a legendTaurus is a legendTaurus is a legendTaurus is a legendTaurus is a legend

This friday I saw my ex, 34 driving at a ridiculously high speed, with a car full of girls, painting the night red.When he saw me he was so embarrased, because his actions did not justify his age.

Oh well, cant do much with a person going through a early life crisis.
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 06:30 PM   #10 (permalink)

Total Points: 22,582.95
Rep Power: 910694 eby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legendeby187 is a legend

Originally Posted by Taurus
This friday I saw my ex, 34 driving at a ridiculously high speed, with a car full of girls, painting the night red.When he saw me he was so embarrased, because his actions did not justify his age.

Oh well, cant do much with a person going through a early life crisis.

A place for Writers, Poets and Creative minds to share their work...
eby187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 09:13 PM   #11 (permalink)

Bank: 1,283,790.94
Total Points: 1,287,390.95
Rep Power: 5603134 BlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legend

even for an immature 40 year old, he/she is still more matured than they were 20 years ago. so i say false to your hypothesis.
BlueBeauty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 07:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
J3D

Total Points: 29,336.65
Rep Power: 21474849 J3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legend
Cool

Originally Posted by BlueBeauty
even for an immature 40 year old, he/she is still more matured than they were 20 years ago. so i say false to your hypothesis.
Honey Pie, the question isn’t that maturity doesn’t grow with age, but is it equal to age?
Old 07-31-2008, 07:50 PM   #13 (permalink)

Bank: 1,283,790.94
Total Points: 1,287,390.95
Rep Power: 5603134 BlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legend

Originally Posted by J3D
Honey Pie, the question isn’t that maturity doesn’t grow with age, but is it equal to age?
and my argument is that it is. Just cos u see an old guy whom you consider immature doesn't mean his is immature based on his growth. what is it is that he is immature based on your measure or expectation.

so when it comes down to it, less the outliers and personal criteria, Age = Maturity.
as the steady beating drums.
BlueBeauty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 10:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
J3D

Total Points: 29,336.65
Rep Power: 21474849 J3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legendJ3D is a legend

and my argument is that it is. Just cos u see an old guy whom you consider immature doesn't mean his is immature based on his growth.
If what you meant by growth is "to advance in AGE", then we are making the same point. Age doesn't determine your level of maturity.

what is it is that he is immature based on your measure or expectation, so when it comes down to it, less the outliers and personal criteria, Age = Maturity.
I know it is very hard to make a comparison when we don’t have a common frame of reference. We all argue based on what we consider to be the norm or the common, standard pattern of behavior. If you meet a 30+ year old guy who still lives with his parent (his parent’s house)…without getting to know the guy’s character, your first question would probably be… why? Without making up any written codes for maturity and age, whatever maturity means to you and the age you believe a person should be expected to exhibit such maturity, it doesn’t follow that every person who falls in the set or range of such ages would possess such attributes. Therefore, age by itself can not determine one’s level of maturity.
Old 07-31-2008, 11:23 PM   #15 (permalink)

Bank: 405,734.42
Total Points: 415,034.47
Rep Power: 1480139 Nonye is a legendNonye is a legendNonye is a legendNonye is a legendNonye is a legendNonye is a legendNonye is a legendNonye is a legendNonye is a legendNonye is a legendNonye is a legend

He is 45 years old, been married twice, wrecks at least one car every year, goes clubbing every weekend, drinks like a fish, goes through goes relationships like they are out of fashion and wants me to introduce him to my friend.. I think NOT!!!
Nonye is offline   Reply With Quote