Old 07-23-2008, 08:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Captain

Bank: 848,419,240.83
Total Points: 848,600,815.83
Rep Power: 21474900 Uncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legend
Default Dish suggestions needed

So I've been invited to participate in a cook-off among friends. I need to select a dish. I want to make something cultural that my multi-cultural group of friends might like.... and something that might give me a chance of winning. Can't help it, it's my competitive spirit!

Any recommendations?

NR Tribalists, Religious Bigots, and Enemies of Progress: Your name Here?

Beat the U.S. Financial Crisis
Uncle Sunday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 09:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
High of living the life

Bank: 571,198.89
Total Points: 577,498.89
Rep Power: 1140550 Freespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legend

Any particular course??? or is it the main dish?? how cultural do you want it?

"whoever said half bread was better than none wasnt hungry enough!"

Free Spirit...Cant stop smiling!
Freespirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 09:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
great to be dead

Bank: 24,960,651,702,131.02
Total Points: 24,960,651,702,131.06
Rep Power: 21347120 dupreejohnson is a legenddupreejohnson is a legenddupreejohnson is a legenddupreejohnson is a legenddupreejohnson is a legenddupreejohnson is a legenddupreejohnson is a legenddupreejohnson is a legenddupreejohnson is a legenddupreejohnson is a legenddupreejohnson is a legend

Rice, stew, fried plantains
dupreejohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 10:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Blessed Child

Bank: 27,152,598.14
Total Points: 27,232,728.91
Rep Power: 21474869 Obiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legend

cous-cous should be nice

So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom. (Psalm 90:12)
Obiagéli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 10:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Captain

Rep Power: 21474900 Uncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legend

Originally Posted by Freespirit
Any particular course??? or is it the main dish?? how cultural do you want it?
To be honest with you I have no idea where to begin. I am open to suggestions.
Keep in mind this is a multicultural crowd so eba might be a little hardcore?

Old 07-23-2008, 11:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Captain

Originally Posted by dupreejohnson
Rice, stew, fried plantains
Hmm... that seems like the obvious if I can't think of anything else. Any idea how it should be presented? Maybe u can direct me to pics of presentationand special special recipes to win the judges favor?

Obiageli, is that not a Moroccan dish? Maybe I can Naijalize it?

Old 07-23-2008, 12:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
High of living the life

Bank: 571,198.89
Total Points: 577,498.89
Rep Power: 1140550 Freespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legendFreespirit is a legend

Originally Posted by Uncle Sunday
To be honest with you I have no idea where to begin. I am open to suggestions.
Keep in mind this is a multicultural crowd so eba might be a little hardcore?
Ok if you wanna feel like a chef that knows his stuff - u could make what we call black beans stuffed pancakes in my house. It looks really presentable and is always a winner in every crowd. So you start by making pancakes - naija style - think they call them crepes here cuz they are less fluffy and really flat - u have to start from scratch - no mixes o. The beans is the black eyed beans we eat at home. Boil it with all ur spices till its really soft. Make a very crayfishy tomato stew with habanero peppers (could use less hot peppers also) and mix em together and let it heat up for a lil while. Now you start off with nicely chopped onion, a lil oil and some peppers in a pan, add the beans - fry it - use a spoon to mush it all together so the individual beans are no longer distinct and form a kinda paste then add beaten eggs to it to make it even more pasty. Take the pancake and lay it flat - arrange the bean paste neatly on one side and roll it up - use a tooth pick to hold it in place. and thats it! it looks great and its wonderful - everyone tries it and they must have the recipe - when I tell them its beans in it - they dont believe me. It makes a great hors d'oeuvre.

"whoever said half bread was better than none wasnt hungry enough!"

Free Spirit...Cant stop smiling!
Freespirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 02:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Onye Olu

Bank: 8,911,052.08
Total Points: 8,953,729.63
Rep Power: 21474869 Mazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legend

For chow make some agidi jeloff garnished with biscuit bone and for drinks, concoct some BKT (burukutu). They will enjoy it...

Last edited by Mazi Bawbee; 07-23-2008 at 03:28 PM..
Mazi Bawbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 02:09 PM   #9 (permalink)

Bank: 262,794,606,378.72
Total Points: 264,335,877,383.34
Rep Power: 3474405 Lord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legend

just go to Alhajis thread

This space is available for rent
Old 07-23-2008, 02:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
*Confirmed Sexist*

Bank: 15,511,645,322.73
Total Points: 15,511,650,822.73
Rep Power: 21474910 dibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legenddibia is a legend

Ok if you wanna feel like a chef that knows his stuff - u could make what we call black beans stuffed pancakes in my house. It looks really presentable and is always a winner in every crowd. So you start by making pancakes - naija style - think they call them crepes here cuz they are less fluffy and really flat - u have to start from scratch - no mixes o. The beans is the black eyed beans we eat at home. Boil it with all ur spices till its really soft. Make a very crayfishy tomato stew with habanero peppers (could use less hot peppers also) and mix em together and let it heat up for a lil while. Now you start off with nicely chopped onion, a lil oil and some peppers in a pan, add the beans - fry it - use a spoon to mush it all together so the individual beans are no longer distinct and form a kinda paste then add beaten eggs to it to make it even more pasty. Take the pancake and lay it flat - arrange the bean paste neatly on one side and roll it up - use a tooth pick to hold it in place. and thats it! it looks great and its wonderful - everyone tries it and they must have the recipe - when I tell them its beans in it - they dont believe me. It makes a great hors d'oeuvre.
...nice one

- Billy Joe Shaver

www.nighttofly.com - support our naija film makers.
dibia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 02:39 PM   #11 (permalink)

Bank: 2,872,803,668.13
Total Points: 2,873,210,728.13
Rep Power: 21474893 DropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legend

Just make indoimie noodles with egg onions put curry and dice goat meat, voila you have a master piece.

Now give it ya own name but make sure you hide the indomie noodle waterproof bags from eyes sha or you blow ya cover.

Uncle. DDU x3
Old 07-23-2008, 02:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
ROHY

Bank: 228,115,447,383.06
Total Points: 228,115,663,789.73
Rep Power: 21474867 Omodudu is a legendOmodudu is a legendOmodudu is a legendOmodudu is a legendOmodudu is a legendOmodudu is a legendOmodudu is a legendOmodudu is a legendOmodudu is a legendOmodudu is a legendOmodudu is a legend

Originally Posted by Mazi Bawbee
For chow make some agigi jeloff garnished with biscuit bone and for drinks, concoct some BKT (burukutu). They will enjoy it...

have not heard that word in a while!! Now I want some Sobo and Kunu.
Omodudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 02:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Woman

Bank: 38,722,735,834.48
Total Points: 38,723,029,037.27
Rep Power: 21474860 SweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legendSweetAma is a legend

Originally Posted by DropDead_Ugly
Just make indoimie noodles with egg onions put curry and dice goat meat, voila you have a master piece.

Now give it ya own name but make sure you hide the indomie noodle waterproof bags from eyes sha or you blow ya cover.

Uncle. DDU x3

i love indomie!
Old 07-23-2008, 03:40 PM   #14 (permalink)

Bank: 5,256.70
Total Points: 41,748.40
Rep Power: 352448 smoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legendsmoothchyc is a legend

Whatever u eventually decide to cook, make sure that u keep in mind that presentation goes a long way. You may actually be able to capture the heart of those judges who do not feel tasting a whole bunch of stuff for fear of stomach upset....lol. ALL THE BEST!

WHEN U CAME TO LIFE, U WERE CRYING WHILE OTHERS LAUGHED....LIVE LIFE SO THAT WEN U DO LEAVE, U WILL BE LAUGHING WHILE OTHERS ARE CRYING.....
smoothchyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 06:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Captain

Na wa o! It sounds delicious but it is going to take some trial and error before I get it right. *thinking* Do I need to recruit some peeps to help me or is that cheating?