Old 07-03-2008, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 1,283,790.94
Total Points: 1,287,390.95
Rep Power: 5603134 BlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legend

Default So i'm going to by a PC this weekend &

my co-workers are urging me to buy a Mac. Its almost to the point of harassment now. They know i am a 'I-everthing' hater so they are trying to convert.....

its kinda working sha... i am looking at all this istuff and thinking....maybe its time to convert, especially since i don't have a religion

& even though its over my planned budget, i'd get a free printer & free i-pod for a $1200 imac (student pricing)......looking good.

My questions to the 'i-whatever' users are:
How many of my old programs & hardware will be compatible with this ithing? I am concerned about having to buy new gadgets (gaming devices, flashdrives e.t.c.) just cause i brought a new PC. I have a netgear router & a verizon DSL box. Will i need to get new ones? And i know about my options for using virtualware or booting into different OS's, which one is better?

and pls be honest with me, does this expensive piece of i-ware have the potential of driving me nuts? cause i like to still use things i'm used to using yet i don't want to buy a mac & use it for just windows, i mean what would be the point?

being pursued by the apple cult,
BB.
as the steady beating drums.
BlueBeauty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

If u have never used a mac b/4, stay away from it. I HATE MACS, my opnion, but I can't stand macs. stick with PCS
Old 07-03-2008, 07:50 PM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 2,266,873,105.80
Total Points: 2,266,931,566.35
Rep Power: 21474868 Consultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legend

I use the macbook pro. I never regretted getting it. Mac OSX is also better than windows. Faster. Sexier. Reliable. Get a mac. You won't regret it. Besides, you'll look cool
Consultant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 07:52 PM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474868 Consultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legendConsultant is a legend

Macs are also easier to use than PCs. Imagine looking for a file. All I do is type any word in the file content using "Spotlight" and the file pops up. Plus there's an inbuilt iSight which can be used to teleconferencing, taking pics, and video.

The mac isn't that hard to learn.
Old 07-03-2008, 07:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Omo jeje

Bank: 775,664.13
Total Points: 122,412,435.55
Rep Power: 21474881 Lummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legendLummie is a legend

Originally Posted by Consultant
I use the macbook pro. I never regretted getting it. Mac OSX is also better than windows. Faster. Sexier. Reliable. Get a mac. You won't regret it. Besides, you'll look cool
I am concerned about having to buy new gadgets (gaming devices, flashdrives e.t.c.) just cause i brought a new PC. I have a netgear router & a verizon DSL box. Will i need to get new ones? And i know about my options for using virtualware or booting into different OS's, which one is better?
address her concerns now

'Being realistic is the most commonly traveled road to mediocrity' ~ Will Smith
Lummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)

Most software these days have a mac version. Flashdrives are compatible with macs. You can also hook up to the internet easily using mac's Airport. Airport can work with almost all routers. I've used Netgear and Linksys from Comcast and they work fine. In fact, I've got the fastest internet connection in my house simply due to the speed of the computer.

I don't know anything about virtual ware and booting.

But all I know is that, I'm going to have a very hard time going back to a windows based program. I've had my mac for 2 yrs now and I've never regretted it. Still works like it's brand new.
Old 07-03-2008, 08:02 PM   #7 (permalink)

Another thing is security. Mac users generally don't have the virus problems that have plagued windows-based programs. Doesn't mean you shouldn't install an anti-viral software though.
Old 07-03-2008, 08:52 PM   #8 (permalink)

Rep Power: 5603134 BlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legendBlueBeauty is a legend

Originally Posted by Consultant
now lets not forget the need to look cool...lol.
Old 07-16-2008, 12:26 AM   #9 (permalink)

so i just came back to announce that i did not join the Mac cult after all. My visit to the Apple store just brought to light that the mac will not fit my needs. Waaaay to much adjustment required to make it do what i need a computer to do.

And it didn't help that for half the price of a 1gb, 160HD, 2.44ghz imac, i got a 4gb, 500HD, intel pentium dual core machine with the coolest 19' DV monitor. Burns cd dvd & lightscribe. plus a printer. The deal was too sweet and i got to keep 1/2 the funds.

And now that i'm using windows vista? MS has brought it up to a pretty stable state. Critics need to start giving props jare, the OS too cool.

I'm loving it. And happy to still be apple free. Overpriced scrap metal.
Old 07-16-2008, 12:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Onye Olu

Bank: 8,911,052.08
Total Points: 8,953,729.63
Rep Power: 21474869 Mazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legend

I use a powerful Mac Pro @ work everyday. But I'm still never buying a MAC. I have PC @ home.

The problem with PC is cheaper products are available and people tend to go for it thereby opening door for problems.

If you do research well and spend decent $$ you can get a PC waaayy more powerful than MAC and much much cheaper...
Mazi Bawbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 12:51 AM   #11 (permalink)

Bank: 4,148,959,092.23
Total Points: 4,148,959,392.40
Rep Power: 21474851 Smurfelina is a legendSmurfelina is a legendSmurfelina is a legendSmurfelina is a legendSmurfelina is a legendSmurfelina is a legendSmurfelina is a legendSmurfelina is a legendSmurfelina is a legendSmurfelina is a legendSmurfelina is a legend

why is this in the cultural center?
Smurfelina is offline   Reply With Quote