So I'm learning to cook stew the naija way (I'm Kenyan but my fiance is Naija
) and I seem to have run into a problem. Whenever I cook stew it always has a bitter, somewhat tart taste to it. A friend told me that maybe it's cuz I'm not cooking the tomato long enough. But even after cooking it for long it still hasn't lost its bitter taste. I usually blend tomatos, onions and red bell pepper, then cook the mixture before frying it, just like I was taught by a good friend. But it doesn't taste anything like hers. Could someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong? ![]()
![]() Join Date: May 2004
what is your tomato:bell pepper
nion ratio?How long to you boil the blended mixture for?
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
You're friend is right, you're not frying the tomato long enough. Try using ur nose as a guide, raw tomatoes have a certain smell, make sure that at smell has gone away. that usually helps me when i'm no sure whether or not d tomato is cooked.
Do you add meat stock to ur stew? I find that when i mis judge the tomatoes, I have to cook the stew for longer after adding the meat stock |
I usually use canned diced tomatos - one big can:half an onion:1 large bell pepper. Then I boil it until the water dries - about 10 - 20 minutes.
I guess she left that one tiny little nose detail out But now that you mention it i realize that i haven't been cooking it till the smell disappears. Ya, I use meatstock sometimes.So approximately how long do you fry your tomato? And how many tomatos do you use ![]()
![]() Join Date: May 2004
lol..sorry about the
nion... I meant onion ![]() Maybe the canned tomato is an issue too. Never cooked with them 'cos I'm a big fan of fresh vegetables... I usually buy my tomatoes and other ingredients the day I cook. Also, when you boil the blended mixture, wait till it thickens...that is also a sign. Try not to be in a hurry- I leave my on the stove for a while and when it's done you definitely don't taste the bitterness as icegold said Let us know how the next try go!
![]() Join Date: Jan 2004
I think its the canned tomatoes and/or tomatoe paste as well.They usually have preservatives in them that have that bitter test. Like Manilla said, I would only use fresh tomatoes and peppers. If you have to use tomatoe aste, use just a little.
Tomato paste can be bitter, but only if you don't cook it long enough..the paste has to be in addition to regular tomatoes. You have to watch them closer 'cos they tend to get burnt quickly.. |