Old 05-15-2008, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Naija shoul patent the pigin English....

We got people speaking pigin from Soweto to even the bushes of Kenya....any non naija we date increases the number of pigin speakers like a nuclear reaction, their friends, mamas, papas, and even pastors begin to speak it
Old 05-15-2008, 06:18 PM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 636,471,389.98
Total Points: 1,700,618,762.70
Rep Power: 21474871 Sir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legend

You know we got it from the Sierra Leonians right?

"What is demanded today is Christianity without the system that has been built around it in the West." -Isaac Delano, "One Church for Nigeria"(1945)

Originally Posted by Bubus View Post
I wonder how we will explain NR to our kids.
Sir Koan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:19 PM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 1.13
Total Points: 1.18
Rep Power: 3756299 TheSylar is a legendTheSylar is a legendTheSylar is a legendTheSylar is a legendTheSylar is a legendTheSylar is a legendTheSylar is a legendTheSylar is a legendTheSylar is a legendTheSylar is a legendTheSylar is a legend

Patent a spoken language.

http://RodgerS.smartvideochannel.com...5F7AB1F918BF25
TheSylar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:20 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Sir Koan
That's creole...dnt take sh!t away from us
Old 05-15-2008, 06:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Original No. 1 Naija Bad Gyal
Dancehall Wrecker

Bank: 81,552,957.96
Total Points: 81,570,313.66
Rep Power: 21474852 Zara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legendZara is a legend

u know ive been phockn tryna send u som'n for days right?

pm me a suitable email addy
Zara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:26 PM   #6 (permalink)

Bank: 636,471,389.98
Total Points: 1,700,618,762.70
Rep Power: 21474871 Sir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legendSir Koan is a legend

Originally Posted by maestro
That's creole...dnt take sh!t away from us
Language > Creole > pidgin.

Pidgin and creole are technical terms, like language. A creole is usually a mixture of languages, or a simplified language. A pidgin is a simplified creole, usually with a cery stripped-down grammar. When the Sierra Leonians were brought by the brits to work in Naija, they brought their "Saro" with them. We adopted it in an even simpler form, removed most of the non-english, added a few things of our own, and presto.

"What is demanded today is Christianity without the system that has been built around it in the West." -Isaac Delano, "One Church for Nigeria"(1945)

Originally Posted by Bubus View Post
I wonder how we will explain NR to our kids.
Sir Koan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:29 PM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 262,794,606,378.72
Total Points: 264,335,877,383.34
Rep Power: 3474405 Lord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legendLord AnGree is a legend

so we will have language police going about fining ppl who speak it without a license?

This space is available for rent
Old 05-15-2008, 08:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Onye Olu

Bank: 8,911,052.08
Total Points: 8,953,729.63
Rep Power: 21474869 Mazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legend

Who happen to be Naija peeps so it's the same thing...

Last edited by Mazi Bawbee; 05-15-2008 at 08:50 PM..
Mazi Bawbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 09:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Anonymous

Bank: 5,622,335.75
Total Points: 5,708,307.40
Rep Power: 21474886 ______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend______ is a legend

Language > Creole > pidgin.

Pidgin and creole are technical terms, like language. A creole is usually a mixture of languages, or a simplified language. A pidgin is a simplified creole, usually with a cery stripped-down grammar. When the Sierra Leonians were brought by the brits to work in Naija, they brought their "Saro" with them. We adopted it in an even simpler form, removed most of the non-english, added a few things of our own, and presto.

true say

i can understand their creol.. but they speak it to fast.. and some expressions are the other way round
Old 05-16-2008, 11:46 AM   #10 (permalink)

We made it as popular as it is right now, so we deserve to claim it as ours.
Old 05-24-2008, 02:47 AM   #11 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21368018 monblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legend

sad

Old 05-27-2008, 01:25 PM   #12 (permalink)

Bank: 34,337,963.70
Total Points: 34,365,261.15
Rep Power: 3513670 seen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legendseen is a legend

I don't know about patent, but I tend to agree with you (i.e. Nigeria has popularized it). Growing up I always thought pigin was uniquely Nigerian. Many other African nationalities also have the same misconception. Nigerians have added their own idioms and pronounciation that has given it a sort of "life of its own".
You don't get the same feeling when listening to Salone speak-its as if you took the original and remixed it better or more livelier.

Variants of Pidgin in West Africa
Salone

Liberia (mind you liberians technically don't speak pidin, just english with different intonation)

Ghana

seen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 05:23 PM   #13 (permalink)

Bank: 490,756,937.46
Total Points: 490,798,533.41
Rep Power: 21474859 anddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legend

lol! Naija will claim anything...Jollof rice, Meat pies, Pidgin English
Old 06-05-2008, 07:48 AM   #14 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474889 African Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legend

And wen den? Shebi the yanks got the statue of liberty from the frogs? Jus' put am for history say na dem originally get am but claim de shege.