Old 04-24-2008, 11:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wild Card

Bank: 1,926,505,805.74
Total Points: 2,321,666,818.49
Rep Power: 21474885 Vivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legend

Default The many names...

...of God.

I'm trying to put together something for a project. Can y'all contribut the different names of God in your different Nigerian Languages?

Thanks
Old 04-24-2008, 11:09 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474960 Thalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legend

Oluwa
Olorun
Oba iye
Olusho agutan
“I just write the stories I want to read, with women like the ones that I know. The people who pass for females in traditional comics look like men with watermelons strapped to their chests, carrying big guns and posting like they’re in a porno magazine. I’ve never met any women like that, so I won’t put them in my books.”

Old 04-24-2008, 11:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wild Card

Rep Power: 21474885 Vivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legendVivrantism is a legend

The ones I know..

Yoruba:

Arugbo Ojo
Kiniun Eya Juda
Ate rere k'ari aiye
Gbo gbo idile jesse.
Old 04-24-2008, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
FDR

Bank: 8,337,471,948.49
Total Points: 8,337,499,283.49
Rep Power: 21474865 FDR is a legendFDR is a legendFDR is a legendFDR is a legendFDR is a legendFDR is a legendFDR is a legendFDR is a legendFDR is a legendFDR is a legendFDR is a legend

three offhead:

1. "Chineke di neligwe"
2. Chukwu

3. "Chineke-di-ne-ligwe-were-ala-me-footstool". .
Old 04-24-2008, 11:13 PM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474960 Thalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legend

Originally Posted by FDR
three offhead:

1. "Chineke di neligwe"
2. Chukwu

3. "Chineke-di-ne-ligwe-were-ala-me-footstool". .
“I just write the stories I want to read, with women like the ones that I know. The people who pass for females in traditional comics look like men with watermelons strapped to their chests, carrying big guns and posting like they’re in a porno magazine. I’ve never met any women like that, so I won’t put them in my books.”

Old 04-24-2008, 11:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wild Card

FDR...can you please give me the translation?
Old 04-24-2008, 11:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
KAG

Bank: 6.77
Total Points: 28,958.52
Rep Power: 8339120 KAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legend

Ojo. The Igala name. Since that's the name of the supreme God, I would think the usual transferrence occured there too. Not 100% certain, though.
You get off; someone else can get on...

- Ben Folds, Fred Jones Part 2
KAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 11:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Guy-man in the Lord

Bank: 5,995,377,092.91
Total Points: 5,995,390,703.11
Rep Power: 21367482 taiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legendtaiyeyiko is a legend

Originally Posted by Vivrantism
The ones I know..

Yoruba:

Arugbo Ojo
Kiniun Eya Juda
Ate rere k'ari aiye
Gbo gbo idile jesse.

I was just about to say this. Probably my favorite!

Oyigiyigi ?

Originally Posted by Okpabio
currency values are determined by many factors. Not just one issue, but a composite of many must be considered. In trading currencies, such as in forex, trades are usually made in pairs. Values must be relative to something. So how is a country doing relative to another country is also significant. Common Forex pairs are US dollar and Japanese yen, Euro and US dollar, for example.

Iwe Factorial!
taiyeyiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 11:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wild Card

Originally Posted by taiyeyiko
I was just about to say this. Probably my favorite!

Oyigiyigi ?
Nice, thanks. Do you know what it means?
Old 04-24-2008, 11:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
FIRST LADY

Bank: 106,861,079.25
Total Points: 107,291,349.65
Rep Power: 21474895 Starlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legend

Alagbada Ina
Alawotele orun

When you cry, I cry
I cry along with you

Wahalai Lai talia, gimme lighter, shebi shebi we're on fire Kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal
NS 1463

We're truly unruly and we should get sued
Starlomor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 11:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wild Card

I need translations, people. Thanks
Old 04-24-2008, 11:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
FIRST LADY

Bank: 106,861,079.25
Total Points: 107,291,349.65
Rep Power: 21474895 Starlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legend

Baba Agbaa

When you cry, I cry
I cry along with you

Wahalai Lai talia, gimme lighter, shebi shebi we're on fire Kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal
NS 1463

We're truly unruly and we should get sued
Starlomor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 11:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
KAG

Bank: 6.77
Total Points: 28,958.52
Rep Power: 8339120 KAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legendKAG is a legend

Osanobua. Edo.
Eledumare. Yoruba. I think it's right. I'm not certain here too.
You get off; someone else can get on...

- Ben Folds, Fred Jones Part 2
KAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 11:18 PM   #14 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,584,062,191.19
Rep Power: 21474888 fancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legend

Chi
Chineke
Osebuluwa
Chukwu
Nnayi bi na eligwe- our father in heaven
Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN

Old 04-24-2008, 11:19 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Starlomor
Baba Agbaa
lol..u serious?