Old 04-10-2008, 03:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Del
Oyinlomo

Bank: 23,280,343.44
Total Points: 23,289,643.99
Rep Power: 4343756 Del is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legend
Default Not another religious thread...

I've noticed a recent trend... 'I'm not religious, I'm spiritual.' Even christians are into this idealogy. 'I'm not religious. I'm christian' The definition of religion:

A set of beliefs concerning the cause, nature, and purpose of the universe, esp. when considered as the creation of a superhuman agency or agencies, usually involving devotional and ritual observances, and often containing a moral code governing the conduct of human affairs.

So what I don't get is, if we are not religious, (addressing christians now) is it that we don't believe in anything, we just let the 'spirit' lead... So if my spirit says it's okay to have a 'mass' orgy... who are U to question 'divine' authority?

For those who say religions were created for mind control, I say, who knows you just might be right. It's kinda like the chicken and egg question. Was religion created for mind control, or is it for real and just being exploited by some.

Even if religion was created for mind control, I see the point. I personally think the idealogy of 'let the spirit lead' is just another phrase for 'Moral Anarchy.'

Just my thots...
Del is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
BABA iBEJI

Bank: 625,398.98
Total Points: 704,591.79
Rep Power: 21474876 specialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legendspecialk is a legend

get off the meds and drink some heineken

A

R

E

E

R
specialk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Del
Oyinlomo

Rep Power: 4343756 Del is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legendDel is a legend

Originally Posted by specialk
get off the meds and drink some heineken
The sudafed is for my sinuses... Heineken (beer) is overrated!
Old 04-10-2008, 03:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Dat Igbo-Tottenahm Guy

Bank: 144,309,197.96
Total Points: 144,393,483.63
Rep Power: 21474878 Mr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legendMr.Wahala is a legend

Good view Del,

this reminds me of Oprah's idealogies....
Old 04-10-2008, 03:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Blessed Child

Bank: 27,152,598.14
Total Points: 27,232,728.91
Rep Power: 21474869 Obiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legend

sometimes, religion is synonymous with fanaticism and extremism and ascertaing that you aren't, but a christian, exhonorates you from such. but, as iv come to find out, there's nothing wrong with being somewhat religious in itself. Daniel had a culture of praying 3 times a day facing Jerusalem, and this steadfastness, i believe, was accounted to him as righteousness. the psalmist also writes that evening and morning and afternoon would he pray....and that he'll delight in the law of the Lord and meditate therein day and night. these, to me, are expressions of religion and pretty good ones too.

So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom. (Psalm 90:12)
Obiagéli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 03:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Del
Oyinlomo

Originally Posted by Obiagéli
sometimes, religion is synonymous with fanaticism and extremism and ascertaing that you aren't, but a christian, exhonorates you from such. but, as iv come to find out, there's nothing wrong with being somewhat religious in itself. Daniel had a culture of praying 3 times a day facing Jerusalem, and this steadfastness, i believe, was accounted to him as righteousness. the psalmist also writes that evening and morning and afternoon would he pray....and that he'll delight in the law of the Lord and meditate therein day and night. these, to me, are expressions of religion and pretty good ones too.
We had a funny discussion in church the saturday after muslims ran amok after the mohammed cartoons. We were all quick to label it extremism, some guy listened and opened a passage where during the isrealites sojourn, some guy was committing adultery wit a pagan and Eleazar ran a spear through both of them. The bible records God found the guy 'Zealous' not fanatical... The text is in Numbers 25. I'm not trying to argue, this is stuff I try to understand personally. God is the same yesterday, today and forever.. so the bible states, so that new testament idealogy is just lack of understanding. Even jesus threw people out of the temple... he didn't ask them in a polite voice to leave, he turned tables over.
Old 04-10-2008, 03:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Onye Olu

Bank: 8,911,052.08
Total Points: 8,953,729.63
Rep Power: 21474869 Mazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legendMazi Bawbee is a legend

You make good points but your stance is totally discarding the existence of the Spirit. Perhaps you should leave some little room that it's possible that not all 'let the spirit lead' situations constitutes 'Moral Anarchy.'…
Mazi Bawbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Del
Oyinlomo

Originally Posted by bawbee
You make good points but your stance is totally discarding the existence of the Spirit. Perhaps you should leave some little room that it's possible that not all 'let the spirit lead' situations constitutes 'Moral Anarchy.'…
I'm not disregarding the spirit... I'm just saying if there is not a set of guidelines (religion) to define is spirit led and what isn't, that's the anarchy. Even the bible says to 'Test spirits' which involves comparing with something predetermined...
Old 04-10-2008, 03:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Del
Oyinlomo

We all believe in something, even atheist, they believe there is no God. Which makes us religious.
Old 04-10-2008, 04:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
No Angel

Bank: 7,536,896,672.27
Total Points: 7,537,306,212.75
Rep Power: 21474888 bored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legend

Originally Posted by Del
We all believe in something, even atheist, they believe there is no God. Which makes us religious.
Belief != Religion.

"I believe in Santa Claus" does not make me religious.

"Those who wish to love and sing always find a song" :A Swedish Proverb.

Si Hoc Legere Scis Nimium Eruditionis Habes

Originally posted by jerseygirl
Where oh where could my little bored be?
Could she actually be hiding from me?
I've searched this board, high and low
written witty comebacks....but she's a no show

I know she is addicted...of this fact I'm sure
Or could it be that she don't love me no more
Come back and bring some more sunshine to my dreary day
with the colorful and mischievous things you say

I'll patiently wait for you to return to me...
please make it soon...I fear for what might be
My boredom has driven me to rhyme
Stop lurking and post, so we can have a swell time
bored is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 05:27 PM   #11 (permalink)

Bank: 38,454,613.37
Total Points: 77,773,821.07
Rep Power: 2832784 daddidollars is a legenddaddidollars is a legenddaddidollars is a legenddaddidollars is a legenddaddidollars is a legenddaddidollars is a legenddaddidollars is a legenddaddidollars is a legenddaddidollars is a legenddaddidollars is a legenddaddidollars is a legend

The church is criminal!....... That's the bottom line, most of you dont question your religion. The day I found out the church I was brought up in was created because the king wanted to divorce his wife was the day I stopped believing .... I still love people catching the holy ghost though
Originally Posted by daddidollars View Post
put my mouth closer to breast milk
daddidollars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 03:04 AM   #12 (permalink)
Del
Oyinlomo

Originally Posted by bored
Belief != Religion.

"I believe in Santa Claus" does not make me religious.
Obviously not.. was just being silly on the last point. religion has to do with purpose of the universe and the 'why are we here' question

@ Dadi dollars... church and religion ain't the same thing... That might be good enough reason to give up on a church, but religion as a whole? I don't know.

Last edited by Del; 04-11-2008 at 03:07 AM..
Old 04-11-2008, 06:03 PM   #13 (permalink)

Bank: 8,952,368.10
Total Points: 8,959,568.10
Rep Power: 0 omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija

Originally Posted by Del
I'm not disregarding the spirit... I'm just saying if there is not a set of guidelines (religion) to define is spirit led and what isn't, that's the anarchy. Even the bible says to 'Test spirits' which involves comparing with something predetermined...
i don't think it's "anarchy" though...the Spirit leads us in his own way, which is made clear to aech person. the bible warns sternly against rules, the we should not be bound by rules and regulations...the only commandment we are given is to love God and our neighbour. from these laws, and from the bible and prayer, we can then determine if the spirit is leading us or not.

because people aren't really sure how to go about following these two laws of love, they go about trying to prevent themselves from not following them by creating rules. most times, there is nothing inherently wrong with them, but when we start to hold them in all circumstances, at all costs, even over the leading of the Spirit, then there is a problem. this is what religion is, and that's why christians frown on it. classic example: some christians who drink. There is nothing inherently wrong with drinking...in fact, the bible says to celebrate with wine. but it also says that we must not get drunk with it. because it is so easy to get drunk and carried away in debauchery, it is important for those who can't hold themselves to stay away from it. hence, the "rule" that christians must not drink. if someone abides by that rule, that's okay...in fact, it's a good thing, because he can always be sure he won't get drunk. but at the same time, having a drink isn't necessarily wrong in itself.
omonija is offline   Reply With Quote