Old 03-14-2008, 04:02 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1485707 *SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend
Default Xtains...

Do you tithe? If you dont, do you feel guilty when you spend that 10% on something else?
If you tithe, why do you tithe? Cos you feel the need (Pay tithes on all income) to or you just tithe whenever (when you have the xtra $$) ?

Just curious
Old 03-14-2008, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,584,062,191.19
Rep Power: 21474888 fancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legend

I give offering. I serious don't like the idea that xtains tithe then put their name and address on the envelope to get income tax from it. To me that is not giving.
Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN

Old 03-14-2008, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474884 pynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legend

i do what i consider tithing. I give to the needy, not the church. Sometimes it is 10% sometimes more, sometimes less.

I have my pet charities.
Old 03-14-2008, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 2,872,803,668.13
Total Points: 2,873,210,728.13
Rep Power: 21474893 DropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legend

People I'm charity myself. Send to me and God will count it for you really.

Uncle. DDU x3
Old 03-14-2008, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)

Bank: 42,945,663,267.20
Total Points: 42,945,958,264.81
Rep Power: 21474953 OmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legendOmoDelta is a legend

i do tithe but definitely not the 10%
Old 03-14-2008, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)

Thread movement in progress
Old 03-14-2008, 04:13 PM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 8,952,368.10
Total Points: 8,959,568.10
Rep Power: 0 omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija

Originally Posted by *SmOkEyEyEz*
Do you tithe? If you dont, do you feel guilty when you spend that 10% on something else?
If you tithe, why do you tithe? Cos you feel the need (Pay tithes on all income) to or you just tithe whenever (when you have the xtra $$) ?

Just curious
Yes. because God commands it. On all income. the issue of income tax returns is just one of the benefits...it is very easy to give because of the benefits, but it's best when you give because God commands it.

and not claiming it on your tax return is up to the person...it probably would save u more money if you didn't give tithes than if you claimed it on your return. You give to God, so to not give it because of some tax return stuff is silly...at least give and not claim it.
omonija is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 04:15 PM   #8 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1485707 *SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend*SmOkEyEyEz* is a legend

Originally Posted by DropDead_Ugly
People I'm charity myself. Send to me and God will count it for you really.

Uncle. DDU x3

@pynk...why dont you tithe directly to the church? enriching pastors?
Last wk, our pastor's wife said they gave 25 grand of their own $$ to church...that made me think sha

Do we specifically have to tithe to the church?

I kinda feel guilty when i dont tithe the 10% sha...and i almost always pay it to church..even though when i write the check out, it hurts
Old 03-14-2008, 04:15 PM   #9 (permalink)

tithe is bullshit.
Old 03-14-2008, 04:16 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by maestro
Thread movement in progress
ah ahn, its a general question nau
Old 03-14-2008, 04:20 PM   #11 (permalink)

Bank: 21,843,621.64
Total Points: 21,852,494.38
Rep Power: 21474856 datnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legenddatnunu is a legend

I actually dnt feel guity......more like obligated....I have been tithing for as long as I can remember.... no matter how small I earned
Old 03-14-2008, 04:23 PM   #12 (permalink)

Rep Power: 0 omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija omonija

so do u tithe on your return? what about before or after taxes?
Old 03-14-2008, 04:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Blessed Child

Bank: 27,152,598.14
Total Points: 27,232,728.91
Rep Power: 21474869 Obiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legend

i will confess i have struggled with both the concept of tithing as well as sacrificing that 10% for a very long time. but lately, i finally came up with a resolution i feel comfortable with. i'm not saying that's what christians should or not do, but that's what i feel comfortable doing.

i have a problem understanding why in other aspects of christianity, we don't abide by the laws in the old testament because we believe they are shadows of things to come and the coming of Jesus was the dawn of a new era. we don't sacrifice things at the temple everytime we sin, God specifically told Peter that we could eat anything, that nothing was unclean that God had created, whereas these same foods were quite clearly not acceptable to be eaten in the olden days. we're not so strict with the sabbath as they were in the old testament. and all of this just because we live in a new dispensation!

so why then do we refer to the old testament when it comes to tithing???? it's not mentioned anywhere in the new testament.

i've grappled with this for a long time and 2 sundays ago, it hit me - even if it's not a Law set in stone that you have to abide by, even if you are not required to, even if noone is forcing you to, is it too much to give God 10%? i realise that the Church of God needs to be kept, run and maintained like the temple that it is. and quite clearly, that cannot be done by the amounts we give as offerings. i now realise that's why pastors/church officials seem to capitalise on the part of the old testament that requires us to give God that percentage of our increase. i think in some way, it's their own way of making sure the congregation contribute significantly to the work of God, and somehow, subject to their own understanding, and in the bid (if i can use that word?) to make us contribute, those scriptures are quoted to us.

so, i resolved that i don't have to give 10% every time i get paid. but i should contribute substantially to the church, even if it's not in form of tithe. maybe to the building fund, maybe to the youth or children's department, or maybe some mission somewhere - just how or wherever i'm led to contribute. it might not be everytime i'm paid (most likely not). it may or not be 10% - it could be 20%, 15%, 72%, 80 or even 100%....but the difference between this and tithing is that i contribute as i am led by the Spirit, but very importantly, i am contributing...and at that, more than just my offering.

that's the way i see it.

So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom. (Psalm 90:12)
Obiagéli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 04:43 PM   #14 (permalink)

the point of the new testament is that it is a New covenant...God never changes, so it is safe to assume that all the laws of the Old testament still hold...he will never go back on his word, right?

but the reason why we can actually "do away" with some of those laws is that we have better ones which Override them...in place of the sacrifices, we already have Jesus...in place of the food thing, we no longer walk in the flesh, but in the spirit, because of what Christ has done. so we can eat anything and still be clean, because God himself has washed us with the blood of Jesus and declared us clean...We do not stictly obey the sabbath like the old days because we have entered into the rest of God by being born again...there is no more toiling in God.

on the other hand, we still believe in "spare the rod and spoil the child", "honor your father and your mother so that your days may be long in the land of the living...", e.t.c...and we definitely still use the ten commandments, which can sbe summarized into "love your neghour as yourself, and Love your God with all your heart, might, and strength..."

And Jesus spoke on tithing:
Matthew 23:23:

"Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You give a tenth of your spices—mint, dill and cummin. But you have neglected the more important matters of the law—justice, mercy and faithfulness. You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former."
Old 03-14-2008, 04:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Blessed Child

Bank: 27,152,598.14
Total Points: 27,232,728.91
Rep Power: 21474869 Obiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legend

Originally Posted by omonija

And Jesus spoke on tithing:
Matthew 23:23:

"Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You give a tenth of your spices—mint, dill and cummin. But you have neglected the more important matters of the law—justice, mercy and faithfulness. You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former."
but Jesus didn't say they should invest that 10% in the church either

So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom. (Psalm 90:12)
Obiagéli is offline   Reply With Quote