![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
some ideas from Sophia's thread, specifically the puff puff recipe (sophia) and fried rice (Nappychick)
well the rice came out aite i personally think, i added and subtracted a lot from the written recipe and i think it came out alright for what it was (pix will be posted later)... my jamaican american friend who tasted it for the very first time said it was the bestest rice she ever tasted, she eat every grain of rice *no joke*... it's flattering but i don't believe it until a nigerian tastes itbut i'm having problem with the puff puff oh! Sophia... err yes i followed the recipe word for word, direction for direction. I mixed the yeast into a warm water and mix it with the flour along with some sugar. covered it with foil so it can rise and boy it did! but i then noticed that it had some kind of smell to it... like sour smell almost (i suspect the yeast) Put oyel for faya, and started putting it inside the pot, it starts looking all puff puff-rish... and then after almost completely burning it I layed it inside paper towel bowl and let it cool down. Five mins later tried to taste it and the back is NOT like puff puff.. it was hard like buns I can't explain it. The inside is puff puff-rish but outside is buns-ish... abeg where did i go wrong?? and it leaves this "sour" taste after you eat it ... like i feel like i just finished grubbing on some garri-ijebu
"Riro ni te'yan, Sese ni to'loun" ... "Man proposes, God disposes" Some Facts: I totally LOVE me some Rajon R, Dwayne J, Dwight H, T.I. and Chrisette M "Monkey yato si Chimpanzee" I will marry them in a heart beat! that's how serious the obsession is
Last edited by Murewa; 02-17-2008 at 06:50 AM.. |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
either you put too much yeast or u left it too long and it over fermented
lmao! tosile sharrap dia b4 i samah :axe:... which one can u do
@bendebabe... i fink too much yeast, well she didnt specify how much amount i've never worked with yeast ever so me i poured one sachet into the thing. but u think that's also the reason the back was crunchy??
"Riro ni te'yan, Sese ni to'loun" ... "Man proposes, God disposes" Some Facts: I totally LOVE me some Rajon R, Dwayne J, Dwight H, T.I. and Chrisette M "Monkey yato si Chimpanzee" I will marry them in a heart beat! that's how serious the obsession is
![]() Join Date: May 2007
crunchy? maybe oil temp? i dunno but my first batch of puff puff i ever made came out like buns and was raw to boot, so you're ok o jare, just try again, but with smaller batches, onlinenigeria has a recipe but you have to modify it a little sha but it's mostly ok
HOUSEWIFE & SUPERSTAR ![]() Join Date: Jun 2004
eyah...wey pic? u 4 call me naw...NR.com folks usually call me with probs....
We've got to take back the ideal of justice, We've got to take back this principle of human dignity We've got to take it back from vengeance, from hatred, We've got to say: look, we're all in this together. We are human beings. David Kaczynski
i no get ur digits nau
... lemme go try upload the pics, brb
HOUSEWIFE & SUPERSTAR ![]() Join Date: Jun 2004
We've got to take back the ideal of justice, We've got to take back this principle of human dignity We've got to take it back from vengeance, from hatred, We've got to say: look, we're all in this together. We are human beings. David Kaczynski
#11 (permalink) |
thx misty, trust me u can have the ones i have
.... if only it came out right i wuda downed all of it in one day ![]()
#14 (permalink) |
I agree with Bendelite...I think you overproofed your yeast. That sometimes happens to me when I make bread and I'm not paying attention.
As for it being hard, maybe your oil was too hot??? I don't know...I suck at making puff puff sha...I still don't know how Sophia gets hers to look light and fluffy.
#15 (permalink) |
i fink so too.... but is there a measurement of how much of yeast you add??I will not relent sha... come nxt wkend or something I shall try it AGAIN! sophia berra start getting ready for me o! ![]()