Old 01-21-2008, 11:57 PM   #31 (permalink)

Bank: 1.17
Total Points: 1,888.72
Rep Power: 21474894 GirlBully2 is a legendGirlBully2 is a legendGirlBully2 is a legendGirlBully2 is a legendGirlBully2 is a legendGirlBully2 is a legendGirlBully2 is a legendGirlBully2 is a legendGirlBully2 is a legendGirlBully2 is a legendGirlBully2 is a legend

lol.. heard that shit from someone before ( i think it mighta actually have been on NR).. chose to disregard it..
weak ass line. try something else. you really need intervention but i guess u don't wanna hear that.
u prefer the people that lie to you saying u look good..lol...ugly mutete
HIV patient looking ugly thing. u look diseased for real. dry ass skeleton like bonga fish. always showing off cigarette like we should think ur cool abi kini ?
GirlBully2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 11:58 PM   #32 (permalink)
~Nicest Winsh in Town~

Bank: 353,842,547.54
Total Points: 353,991,113.49
Rep Power: 21474933 virgoluv is a legendvirgoluv is a legendvirgoluv is a legendvirgoluv is a legendvirgoluv is a legendvirgoluv is a legendvirgoluv is a legendvirgoluv is a legendvirgoluv is a legendvirgoluv is a legendvirgoluv is a legend

Originally Posted by GirlBully2
lol.. heard that shit from someone before ( i think it mighta actually have been on NR).. chose to disregard it..

BUAHHAAHA...suspect mgbati girl

There's nothing more scary than watching ignorance in action.

http://www.tayne-ment.blogspot.com/
virgoluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 11:59 PM   #33 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474960 Thalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legendThalia Al Ghul is a legend

Originally Posted by Calypso
I've been working on it for a min so I figure other ppl can shed some light on this to help him understand.
was talking bout this.
Originally Posted by kai
lol. ok. One of these days I'll read this
“I just write the stories I want to read, with women like the ones that I know. The people who pass for females in traditional comics look like men with watermelons strapped to their chests, carrying big guns and posting like they’re in a porno magazine. I’ve never met any women like that, so I won’t put them in my books.”

Old 01-22-2008, 07:23 AM   #34 (permalink)

to be read later...

but i do know the ooni of ife and the oba of benin traded gifts...i dont think slaves trade gifts with their masters sha...at least in the african set up
Old 01-22-2008, 08:10 AM   #35 (permalink)

Bank: 9,918.53
Total Points: 11,563.12
Rep Power: 634950 omoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legend

My understanding of the whole Edo - Yoruba issue is that Benin Kingdom was the kingdom from which modern day Yorubas dispersed and in turn formed their own culture which grew faster because modern day Edos were more focused around the Egue(Oba's Palace) and not into growing into vast lands cuz as always we're peaceful people.

But the whole people having Edo and Yourba names is because there are a lot of Edo ne kue (Edo Akure - mix of Edo and Yoruba lineages) My mum is from such lineage but she's more Edo than Yoruba though my grandfather named my mum and her younger siblings Yoruba names because the Yorubas have a way of naming their children that are twins and the ones that come after the twins.
Old 01-22-2008, 03:50 PM   #36 (permalink)

Bank: 28,985,667.76
Total Points: 29,015,294.98
Rep Power: 21474862 Bende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legendBende is a legend

nothing more to be said, FIE told them the truth, slaves indeed,

Old 01-22-2008, 04:04 PM   #37 (permalink)

Bank: 490,756,937.46
Total Points: 490,798,533.41
Rep Power: 21474859 anddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legend

Originally Posted by omoge86
My understanding of the whole Edo - Yoruba issue is that Benin Kingdom was the kingdom from which modern day Yorubas dispersed and in turn formed their own culture which grew faster because modern day Edos were more focused around the Egue(Oba's Palace) and not into growing into vast lands cuz as always we're peaceful people.

But the whole people having Edo and Yourba names is because there are a lot of Edo ne kue (Edo Akure - mix of Edo and Yoruba lineages) My mum is from such lineage but she's more Edo than Yoruba though my grandfather named my mum and her younger siblings Yoruba names because the Yorubas have a way of naming their children that are twins and the ones that come after the twins.

at the bolded...if you read history, you'd know that's a damn lie.

Anyways, my family (not all that long ago) came from Benin to Ekiti and other Yoruba kingdoms. We consider ourselves Yoruba, but that kind of back and forth trade was apparently common...we're relatives na

Yoruba people learn an Ife-centric history, and Edo people learn the "Ekaladerhan" (sp?) history.

Since we didn't write, who really knows which one is real? But I'll say Ife, 'cause that's what Edo people first told the white man
Old 01-22-2008, 05:22 PM   #38 (permalink)
One in Town

Bank: 74,483.08
Total Points: 88,707.93
Rep Power: 1427219 Ariya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legendAriya is a legend

Originally Posted by anddar
Yoruba people learn an Ife-centric history, and Edo people learn the "Ekaladerhan" (sp?) history.
Give this man a prize--there are Edo and Yoruba scholars with PhDs who still don't get this simple concept. Instead, they argue about whose vmythology is correct.

1. Neither Edo or Yoruba people "originated" from each other. Both languages come from common origins in the area of central Nigeria (Niger-Benue confluence), as established by glottochronology.

2. Ekalderhan is not Oduduwa, and Oduduwa is not the "father" of the Oba of Benin etc. Both are mythological figures, not historical ones. There were no giant migrations from Arabia, Egypt, or elsewhere. There were possible movements of small groups of people bringing new political ideas from areas north of Nigeria, but that's it. Both Edo and Yoruba have been spoken in their current areas for thousands of years.

Yoruba and Edo are neighboring groups, and there has been intermarriage, trade, and conquest between eastern Yorubaland/western Edoland for hundreds of years. The similarities in terminology, political systems, and so on comes from this. Edo armies supposedly established the royal line in Eko, for instance, while Ife traditions claim that former Obas are buried there as a symbolic return home.

The Edo did tell the Portuguese that their royal dynasty originated in the interior near the Niger-Benue confluence. Most people understood this to be Ife, and the earliest Edo historians like Jacob Egharevba wrote that the Edo royal line (not the entire people) came from Ile-Ife.

More recently, the Oba of Benin put out his own story about the Ife royal line coming from Benin. The more likely truth is that both groups developed ideas about kingship and royal rule from groups to the north (Nupe, Jukun, and possibly Hausa, or one of the many similar cultures with monarchic traditions in that region). For instance, the word 'birnin' means 'walled city/area' in middle-belt/northern Nigeria, and is likely to be the origin of the word 'Benin'. To give these new ideas more prestige, they became recorded in myths of conquest, migration, and so on.

Ile-Ife has been continuously inhabited since at least the 3rd century before Christ and was a political center long before the rise of Benin, or the royal traditions we're talking about. Like most areas in southern Nigeria, the area would have been ruled by a group of title-holders (don't like the word 'chief', but you get the meaning), possibly holding the title 'oba' or some variation of it. You still see vestiges of these titles in words like 'baale' (oba-ile; 'land-leader') or 'balogun' ( (oba-logun; 'war leader') etc.

Ryders in the NY area are invited to an upcoming lecture on these and other matters. Make a modest Vbux donation for time and address information

Last edited by Ariya; 01-22-2008 at 05:24 PM..
Ariya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 06:48 PM   #39 (permalink)

Bank: 490,756,937.46
Total Points: 490,798,533.41
Rep Power: 21474859 anddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legend

Originally Posted by Ariya
Give this man a prize--there are Edo and Yoruba scholars with PhDs who still don't get this simple concept. Instead, they argue about whose vmythology is correct.

1. Neither Edo or Yoruba people "originated" from each other. Both languages come from common origins in the area of central Nigeria (Niger-Benue confluence), as established by glottochronology.

2. Ekalderhan is not Oduduwa, and Oduduwa is not the "father" of the Oba of Benin etc. Both are mythological figures, not historical ones. There were no giant migrations from Arabia, Egypt, or elsewhere. There were possible movements of small groups of people bringing new political ideas from areas north of Nigeria, but that's it. Both Edo and Yoruba have been spoken in their current areas for thousands of years.

Yoruba and Edo are neighboring groups, and there has been intermarriage, trade, and conquest between eastern Yorubaland/western Edoland for hundreds of years. The similarities in terminology, political systems, and so on comes from this. Edo armies supposedly established the royal line in Eko, for instance, while Ife traditions claim that former Obas are buried there as a symbolic return home.

The Edo did tell the Portuguese that their royal dynasty originated in the interior near the Niger-Benue confluence. Most people understood this to be Ife, and the earliest Edo historians like Jacob Egharevba wrote that the Edo royal line (not the entire people) came from Ile-Ife.

More recently, the Oba of Benin put out his own story about the Ife royal line coming from Benin. The more likely truth is that both groups developed ideas about kingship and royal rule from groups to the north (Nupe, Jukun, and possibly Hausa, or one of the many similar cultures with monarchic traditions in that region). For instance, the word 'birnin' means 'walled city/area' in middle-belt/northern Nigeria, and is likely to be the origin of the word 'Benin'. To give these new ideas more prestige, they became recorded in myths of conquest, migration, and so on.

Ile-Ife has been continuously inhabited since at least the 3rd century before Christ and was a political center long before the rise of Benin, or the royal traditions we're talking about. Like most areas in southern Nigeria, the area would have been ruled by a group of title-holders (don't like the word 'chief', but you get the meaning), possibly holding the title 'oba' or some variation of it. You still see vestiges of these titles in words like 'baale' (oba-ile; 'land-leader') or 'balogun' ( (oba-logun; 'war leader') etc.

Ryders in the NY area are invited to an upcoming lecture on these and other matters. Make a modest Vbux donation for time and address information

A fellow African history buff...keep educating 'em jare