Old 01-07-2008, 04:00 AM   #46 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474888 African Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legend

Originally Posted by uli
so true...and a family friend of ours just got married to a ghanian and i'm there "oohing and ahhing" and my mum goes "yeah it's all good, except that he is ghanian".... shooo! i'm like "yeah, but they are happy together, that's all that matters. better than some nigerians that hack their wives to death abi?"...finding sumone one's compatible with is much more important than tribe/ethnicity/race, IMO
Girl, berra choose who you want and let them shove ethnicity right up the backsides because at the end of the day, na you and yar husband go remain for the same house alone for de rest of yar life o! So fight them if you must cos if you marry igbo man wey go carry you take do kick boxing practice, or carry you do first wife, or give you pikin wey no comot from yar bele, na only you go de inside o!
Old 01-07-2008, 04:02 AM   #47 (permalink)

Bank: 294,666,343,958.06
Total Points: 294,666,406,958.06
Rep Power: 21474914 naija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legend

Originally Posted by African Athena
Well, to be quite candid, I don't see myself looking at any Nigerian I'm serious with and seeing his ethnicity first such that his ethnicity would be some sort of plus or minus. And the thing is, if you never grew up in naija (did you? If you did then I apologise for my misconception) then the person's ethnicity, I would think, would matter even less. Growing up in a nigerian community in the western world is different from growing up in a nigerian community in nigeria. I'm just wondering how it is that you could have possibly come up with this preference is all.
I think you misunderstand me. When I say I would like to, it's almost as significant as me saying I want a reese's candy bar over an Oh Henry right now.. It doesn't "matter," really. It would just be kinda nice to be play fighting with my boo in yoruba, plus he could teach me more than I already know, and even more so about the culture. Although Igbos and other ethnicities can do just as much if they happen to be fluent in the language.

At this point, it would be a plus to even get with a Nigerian. I've "talked" to a few, but none of the guys I've genuinely been interested in was from Naija. And you're absolutely right, I didn't grow up in Nigeria.
Old 01-07-2008, 04:02 AM   #48 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474888 African Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legendAfrican Athena is a legend

Originally Posted by Boss
Then when thein marriagegoes thru troubles (like every other marriage)...just watch how the family resurrects from dust like spawns from hell and come with their "Eh Heh...I told you...Ndi akata/yoruba/jamo are no good..." etc etc
And if de man na Ndi Igbo, na silence go remain.
Old 01-07-2008, 04:04 AM   #49 (permalink)

Bank: 5,600,623,923.53
Total Points: 5,600,877,235.92
Rep Power: 21474902 Boss is a legendBoss is a legendBoss is a legendBoss is a legendBoss is a legendBoss is a legendBoss is a legendBoss is a legendBoss is a legendBoss is a legendBoss is a legend

And if de man na Ndi Igbo, na silence go remain.
unfortunately yes, they'd be like (of course in whatever culture's slang it is) "He's the man of your house, take it in stride..."
"And I hope that five years and 10 years from now, I'll be a better man, a more mature man, a wiser man, a more humble man and a more spirited man to serve the good of my people and the good of humanity."~Louis Farrakhan

http://seeds-of-thought.blogspot.com/ -Updated March 31

Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 04:04 AM   #50 (permalink)
Scipio Africanus

Bank: 39,438,617.15
Total Points: 39,669,709.40
Rep Power: 8738244 Drake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legendDrake is a legend

I can only marry from my LGA
Old 01-07-2008, 04:05 AM   #51 (permalink)

Originally Posted by naija_pikin
I think you misunderstand me. When I say I would like to, it's almost as significant as me saying I want a reese's candy bar over an Oh Henry right now.. It doesn't "matter," really. It would just be kinda nice to be play fighting with my boo in yoruba, plus he could teach me more than I already know, and even more so about the culture. Although Igbos and other ethnicities can do just as much if they happen to be fluent in the language.

At this point, it would be a plus to even get with a Nigerian. I've "talked" to a few, but none of the guys I've genuinely been interested in was from Naija. And you're absolutely right, I didn't grow up in Nigeria.
Oh oki...and I guess that's why you could pull off dating a jamo guy. Because I grew up fully in najia, I couldn't BUT marry a naija guy. I guess its all about how much of the culture one has imbibed in the end. And although I'm efik, I like to argue with my oga in yoruba too
Old 01-07-2008, 04:05 AM   #52 (permalink)

Bank: 2,250,916,845.11
Total Points: 2,251,268,905.11
Rep Power: 21474893 DropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legend

Me I can't marry outside my tribe oh.., lai lai. Its a crime. I must marry me nice Yoruba girl. They might be hard to find, but definately gonna find me some Bimbo or Lara or Joke and wife up. Nope for another tribe.

Moreover, who doesn't want a Yoruba chic??

Uncle. DDU x3
Old 01-07-2008, 04:06 AM   #53 (permalink)

I coulda sworn you only do white chics
Old 01-07-2008, 04:06 AM   #54 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474893 DropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legendDropDead_Ugly is a legend

Definately man.., Etiosa LGA a must for me.

Uncle. DDU x3
Old 01-07-2008, 04:07 AM   #55 (permalink)

I coulda sworn you only do white chics
And what makes you think there are no white chics in his LGA???

Uncle. DDU x3
Old 01-07-2008, 04:07 AM   #56 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Boss
unfortunately yes, they'd be like (of course in whatever culture's slang it is) "He's the man of your house, take it in stride..."
*snaps fingers over head* God forbid! Thank God for his mercies!!! Dat kain situation na die!!! No one to turn to!
Old 01-07-2008, 04:08 AM   #57 (permalink)

Bank: 294,666,343,958.06
Total Points: 294,666,406,958.06
Rep Power: 21474914 naija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legendnaija_pikin is a legend

Oh oki...and I guess that's why you could pull off dating a jamo guy. Because I grew up fully in najia, I couldn't BUT marry a naija guy. I guess its all about how much of the culture one has imbibed in the end. And although I'm efik, I like to argue with my oga in yoruba too
lol see?

Sha, it was hilarious because my mom went from telling me I'd berra not do Jamo rara at all, to finally giving up and telling me I'd sha just better remember that I can't get married to one.

Both the first dude I was ever involved with and the last were from "that place".
Old 01-07-2008, 04:09 AM   #58 (permalink)

Originally Posted by DropDead_Ugly
And what makes you think there are no white chics in his LGA???

Uncle. DDU x3
Saywhowhatnow? Hang on! DDU, you're yoruba???
Old 01-07-2008, 04:11 AM   #59 (permalink)

Originally Posted by naija_pikin
lol see?

Sha, it was hilarious because my mom went from telling me I'd berra not do Jamo rara at all, to finally giving up and telling me I'd sha just better remember that I can't get married to one.

Both the first dude I was ever involved with and the last were from "that place".
lol! Then if you decide to marry him in the end, she'll back down! Oddly enough, my father would've prefered it if I'd married a white guy. *smh* parents sha!
Old 01-07-2008, 04:11 AM   #60 (permalink)

Saywhowhatnow? Hang on! DDU, you're yoruba???
The last time I checked my name is Lanre so what tribe is that???

Uncle. DDU x3