Old 01-02-2008, 02:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Blessed Child

Bank: 27,152,598.14
Total Points: 27,232,728.91
Rep Power: 21474869 Obiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legend
Default Recipe for Tuo Shinkapa/Shinkafa (Request)

Please does anyone have the recipe for this tuo and any other kind of tuos that hausas eat? and this may sound dumb, but are the recipes easy to come by, like can i get em from the grocery store or i have to go to a specialised hausa/naija shop to get them? please post any recipe if you got it. cheers

So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom. (Psalm 90:12)
Obiagéli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 06:01 PM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,584,062,191.19
Rep Power: 21474888 fancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legend

there is nothing special about tuo oh. just get a sticky rice. shikena
Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN

Old 01-05-2008, 01:43 AM   #3 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 4,458,167.23
Total Points: 4,483,704.08
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

i wanna kno. i have never tasted it. always wanted to.cos i my primary 1 teacher always ate it during lunch in class.

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 02:35 AM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 6,983,741.75
Total Points: 7,023,381.20
Rep Power: 1932718 Hawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legend

i wanna kno. i have never tasted it. always wanted to.cos i my primary 1 teacher always ate it during lunch in class.
Akpiri ogonogo
Hawtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 03:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Blessed Child

Rep Power: 21474869 Obiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legend

Originally Posted by fancy
there is nothing special about tuo oh. just get a sticky rice. shikena
truth is i never take eye see tuo before. so i don't even know what the texture ought to be like... but i wanna cook it....anyway so you cook the rice and then you mash it or what? abi you just eat it like that in grain form? and do they have a special soup/sauce they have it with? or they mix stuff like milk or sumthing inside it?

So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom. (Psalm 90:12)
Old 01-05-2008, 05:52 AM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1978495 Shylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legendShylaw is a legend

can someone pls throw in the recipe for 'wanke' (the hausa rice and beans) while @ it? thx.
Old 01-05-2008, 06:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Sweetheart

Bank: 2,513,903,016.68
Total Points: 2,514,011,117.98
Rep Power: 21368040 Lopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legend

Tuwo shinkafa is made outta rice like fancy said while tuwo masara is made outta maize(corn). Tuwo shinkafa is made wit a diff. type of rice tho not uncle benz (kinda like d chinese's steamed rice) yu gotta soak it with hot water for like 20mins and turn it like yu'd do eba(gari)

For the soup, some eat it wit gbegiri but I prefer Luru soup..for Luru yu'll need

1. Black tatase
2. Dry tomatoes (2 at most not much)
3. chita
4. Ajinomoto (or any other maggi yu'd like
5. a cup of luru (makes d soup draw)
5. other seasoning as desired
I'll have to contact my mum for cooking directions

Lopezino is now a born again...No more bitchassness
Lopez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 09:11 PM   #8 (permalink)

Bank: 133,675.89
Total Points: 156,505.89
Rep Power: 4490547 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

Originally Posted by uli
truth is i never take eye see tuo before. so i don't even know what the texture ought to be like... but i wanna cook it....anyway so you cook the rice and then you mash it or what? abi you just eat it like that in grain form? and do they have a special soup/sauce they have it with? or they mix stuff like milk or sumthing inside it?

it looks nasty but i heard it tastes good.

@Hawtie..err....usa m adighi njoo
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 09:15 PM   #9 (permalink)

Bank: 133,675.89
Total Points: 156,505.89
Rep Power: 4490547 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

Originally Posted by Lopez
Tuwo shinkafa is made outta rice like fancy said while tuwo masara is made outta maize(corn). Tuwo shinkafa is made wit a diff. type of rice tho not uncle benz (kinda like d chinese's steamed rice) yu gotta soak it with hot water for like 20mins and turn it like yu'd do eba(gari)

For the soup, some eat it wit gbegiri but I prefer Luru soup..for Luru yu'll need

1. Black tatase
3. chita
i am like so lost its not even funny have heard of black tatase b4 tho. dnt rememeber wat it looks like tho. bia lopez get the cookin directions:axe:
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 02:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Blessed Child

Originally Posted by Lopez

1. Black tatase
3. chita
i suppose i won't be getting it from the local grocery store then... the naija shop better have them:axe:....thanks lopez, like wendy said, it'd be great if u could drop the recipe too. cheers

Old 01-07-2008, 05:13 AM   #11 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 4,458,167.23
Total Points: 4,483,704.08
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

Originally Posted by uli
i suppose i won't be getting it from the local grocery store then...
u aint never lied

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 11:23 AM   #12 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,323.35

follow lopez's directions, but I use broken rice and I also add a little bit of starch from the asian store so dat it holds together beter (ya dan yi danko, ba gari gari ba) and use the murcia and mosta it well.

You can eat this with many kinds of soups...karkashi which you get at the farmers market, kuka (from naija) yakuwa (farmers market) aleyahu (farmers market) miyan geda (groundnut soup) virtually any soup you like.

Last edited by jummalo; 04-19-2008 at 11:27 AM..
jummalo is offline   Reply With Quote