Father says killed daughter in Canadian hijab case
Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:50pm EST article on Reuters TORONTO (Reuters) - A Canadian teenager who was said to have clashed with her father about whether she should wear a traditional Muslim head scarf died of injuries late on Monday, and her father told police he had killed her. Aqsa Parvez, 16, was found without a pulse in her home in the Toronto suburb of Mississauga earlier on Monday. She was resuscitated by paramedics, treated at two hospitals, and later succumbed to her injuries, police said on Tuesday. Her father, 57-year-old Muhammad Parvez, has been charged with murder and was remanded back into custody after his first court appearance early on Tuesday. "There was a 911 call placed by a man who indicated that he had just killed his daughter," Jodi Dawson, a constable with Peel Regional Police, told Reuters. "Everything else is evidentiary in nature and the investigation is in its preliminary stages at this point." The victim's brother, Waqas Parvez, 26, was arrested and charged with obstructing police. The story was on the front pages of Canadian newspapers on Tuesday. The newspapers quoted friends and schoolmates of the victim as saying she argued with her father over wearing a hijab, the traditional head scarf worn by Muslim females. Photos of the teen retrieved from a social networking Web site show her in Western dress with her long dark hair loose. "She was always scared of her dad, she was always scared of her brother," the Toronto Star quoted a classmate as saying. Others were quoted as saying the girl wore traditional Muslim dress when leaving the house in the morning, but would change into other clothes in school washrooms. Dawson said investigators will likely speak to the victim's schoolmates. The father will return for a bail hearing on Wednesday. (Reporting by Jonathan Spicer; Editing by Peter Galloway) |
![]() Join Date: Aug 2007
Is this religious forum for struggling to dig News that promotes religious intolerance?
Why do peeps dig the dark pits for stories the cold-war, Muslim hating dark pit digging media loves? I mean, when did accidental manslaughter become the best headline? ![]()
His accidental man slaughter was definitely unfortunate and bad deserving the law disciplining for man slaughter. But what does century have to do with morality? ![]() Prostitutes exposing their hair is as old as humanity, go look at ancient Rome. There have always been the modest and the exposed. Which part of scarf or non scarf is new or old? ![]()
![]() Join Date: Mar 2004
retierd ego..i dont understand you...there is nothing "accidental" about killing your own daughter
.....its soo sad the world we live in sha....we will all get our punishment sha if not in this world but in the here after..... the irony of the world...a daughter is killed for not wearing it while another is fighting her father to wear it.....mehn we need prayer in this world sha..
There are three elements to what may be described as a happy life: * a life that is fully utilized (i.e. a life of awareness and purposeful activism), * a life that is dedicated to a higher cause, * and a life that is lived in balance. While you will inevitably gain and lose, everything you lose may be regained, except one thing, time. Dr. Maher Hathout "The ink of the scholar is more sacred than the blood of the martyr." Prophet Muhammad(PBUH) |
MJ please explain.
At Shayoforeal. Here- Manslaughter, is what the story reads like till we hear the court case. Don't be victim of media distortion and selection. It's horrid and there is a punishment for manslaughter no doubt, but it's not headlines of today by any means, it was not pre-meditated murder as peeps read it to be, which would rightly be sorry headlines. BTW my big sisters fought my dad to wear it too, my dad finally persuaded them to wear more classy colorful designs. ![]()
--------- ![]() Nuke is! Israel, please Nuke and annihilate Palestine 1nce and 4 all. Last edited by RetiredEgo; 12-13-2007 at 01:25 AM.. |
![]() Join Date: Oct 2005
what does a scarf have to do with morality????? so because my mother is not wearing hijab then she is a prostitute, abeg go and sit down...........let them do whatever the hell they want.......
![]() Join Date: Mar 2004
okay dude diging or not or media distortion or blah blah blah...i think i have a enough sense and no my mind as not been twisted by the media...this just a right...how am i being a victim of medias distortion...tell me what exactly did they distort again in the story
....freaking hypocrites...is it the same quran that advises women to wear hijab the one that tells you to beat your daughter to the point of death for not wearing hijab ...or did they forget about haya 2:256craziness....all we can do is continue to make dua for the ummah....
There are three elements to what may be described as a happy life: * a life that is fully utilized (i.e. a life of awareness and purposeful activism), * a life that is dedicated to a higher cause, * and a life that is lived in balance. While you will inevitably gain and lose, everything you lose may be regained, except one thing, time. Dr. Maher Hathout "The ink of the scholar is more sacred than the blood of the martyr." Prophet Muhammad(PBUH) |
Quite right he beat his daughter for what he despises, a bad thing many parents all around the world do everyday. (Not headlines) Unfortunately this too strong brute man accidentally killed her(Manslaughter- also not headlines) also happens around the world in temper fights everyday. It is a shame and he must serve time for manslaughter, but not headlines, except when the intention is to defame Islam in the now cold war. Do u need 1000 stories of manslaughter for cigarrettes, church, and even looks in our everyday world?
![]() Join Date: Oct 2005
ure a fool ........
.......... i guess theyre a lot of town whores in this world then..........please im sure wen u see fine girl without hijab(assuming ure a male), u dont question.........ure the same barawo that will be picking up chicks without hijab once ure hijab wearing wife is old and crusty Quote:
NR's Mayor
#14 (permalink) |
Read the story.
She was even alive when he called for help. He didnt use a weapon, just strangled her in anger. This happens soooo many times in rage fights, and the victim survives. The man was propbably known and supposed to be on anger management. He didnt even kill her for the Hijab, rather he strangled her in a fight that probably had millions of back and forth yabs, insults and curses from both sides on all types of issues. http://www.thestar.com/News/article/284823 You guys are media puppets ![]()
--------- ![]() Nuke is! Israel, please Nuke and annihilate Palestine 1nce and 4 all. Last edited by RetiredEgo; 12-13-2007 at 01:44 AM.. |