I had a boyfriend just like Abere Karibi-Ikiriko, the Nigerian medical student that was convicted of killing her ex-boyfriend and then released after evidence showed that she was not guilty. My boyfriend was also obsessive and threatened to kill me if I left him. After I read the details of her case, I had to report him to the police. I didn't want to at first because it didn't sound culturally right and I still love him and don't want to see him get in trouble. But after reading that case I decided that I'm not going to go to prison for somebody. Off to the police I went and do you know they were giving me a hard time in giving me a restraining order? They said I have to have proof! Will it be enough proof after he kills me? Anyway, at least they have my report. The details of the case I found is on the-abere-case.com. It is just sickening how prosecutors will supress evidence just to win their case. Plus she is Nigerian which even added to their bias against her. She never had a fair trial but thank God it was finally overturned. I wonder how she is coping now after her life was totally messed up.
![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Wow...just visited the website. What a sad story all-round! It just reminds us to be careful of who we associate with no matter how "successful" and "beautiful" or "handsome" they appear to be. I feel so sorry for the lady, though. I hope she can get her life back on track eventually...and she was doing so well before it all happened...
@ Sisterhelper, what evidence of obsession do you have? You should present them to the police while filing the report.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2002
If possible, try to record some such interaction between the two of you. If you know he's coming over, or before you let him in, procur some recording device, and make sure it stays on throughout. If you have witnesses, use them as well. |
![]() Join Date: Apr 2005
![]() Join Date: Oct 2002
Are you the said stalker?
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2002
lol, No problem.
It's almost funny, "I just ignored his calls. Now he uses other people to call me and I started picking up and hanging up when I hear his voice. It has gotten to the point where I don't answer my phone unless I know the number." basically describes what I recently went through with some dude. Thank goodness he only ever knew my number. Imagine him still leaving messages after months of me not saying a word other than "hello" after falling for his tricks and picking up. Some dudes really need things spelt out for them, like dang. |
NR Court Judge ROTY ![]() Join Date: Jul 2002
the evidence showed no such thing. the case was overturned based on admissability of certain evidence and has been remanded for a new trial. I certainly believe that her bf had issues and was certainly not a model citizen but I also believe that the site is pure propaganda bullshit and at the end of the day, a life has been lost and he cannot defend himself. I hope they try her again and that one way or the other, justice will prevail- whether it was an accident as she says it was and is a acquited, or it wasn't an accident and shes convicted and sentenced. that being said, i advice you to make sure ur family and friends know of you situation with you abusive bf and make sure sum1 knows where u are at all times. I know its hard being the one stalked etc. but instead of sitting around for a restraining order, become proactive. if u live in an apt. i suggest u start looking for new digs and change the route u take to and from work and change your regular patterns. you also need to change your phone number and make sure ur home phone is unlisted. for the nwext several mnths or so, u need to lay low- no naija parties/get togethers or anywhere he might be able to find you/see you. if u can afford it, move out of town- transfer schools and the only pple that need ur forwarding address is the post office. ur close friends can keep in touch by phone and email. good-luck. and next time, please keep on the look-out of the early signs of abusive behavior so it never gets this serious cuz i doubt this dude woke up one day and started abusing you.g'luck!
"THEY CAME FIRST for the Communists, and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a Communist. THEN THEY CAME for the trade unionists, and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a trade unionist. THEN THEY CAME for the Jews, and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a Jew. THEN THEY CAME for me and by that time no one was left to speak up." |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2006
NR is officially dead. ![]() ----- Pass me the salt... my head hurts! At the end of the day, it all comes down to money. Jdramas pwn kdramas... period. Forever loving: Coffee House. Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E! I dare to DAIR! |
![]() Join Date: Oct 2002
The site is legit or at least contains legitimate information. I actually requested the documentation of evidence myself from the court house while I was pursuing my own restraining order. As for her retrial, it has already been done and they acquitted her of all charges. As for the life that is lost, well he was going to take his anyway along with hers. And as for not being able to defend himself, that is what prosecutors are there for. They even managed to put an innocent girl in prison by hiding evidence from the jury until she got a new trial. And don't forget the evidence he left behind to show what happened. What do we have forensic scientists for? He was well spoken for. On another note, thanks for the advice on handling my own stalker situation.
1 to Infinity
I prayed for her to get out, but my sis is one of the people involved in case and she said the evidence was overwhelming in as to her guilt so now I am torn. Her going to jail will not bring him back, but I pray that God forgives her.