Old 11-14-2007, 04:43 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474872 pebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legend
Default Taking care of period in the olden days

Before pads, tampons, flexible clothes (in some areas), how did African women take of their period? What stories have u read or heard? I'm especially looking to hear about how it was done in different parts of Africa before the white ppl came.

I read somewhere a while back that in some places, the women dig a hole in the ground and sat on it for the duration of their period. I can't remember the details but that can't be the most confortable experience.

Last edited by pebbles; 11-14-2007 at 05:35 PM..
Old 11-14-2007, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474872 pebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legend

Some interesting things I found from the Museum of Menstruation and Women Health. Not about Africa but about how earlier European and American women took care of their period.

http://www.mum.org/pastgerm.htm
Quote from the link above (scroll down until u pass the muslim law part to read more):
She said her mother never wore underwear either and at home just tucked the sheepskin between her legs, but hers did fall out from under her skirt once in a while, and she often was reaching under her skirt to adjust it. We decided it was because she was so thin versus my mother whose fat thighs kept hers in place. (I have no trouble walking around with one stuck between mine either.)
Belts, suspenders to hold pads: http://www.mum.org/belts.htm

More stuff to read if interested: http://www.mum.org/olnws264.htm

Old 08-12-2011, 04:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Unregistered

Default Cole Haan Shoes

our cole haan shoes boutique purvey cole haan shoes trading, buy cole haan arrogance shoes,cole women,men shoes retrieve 70$ off and delivered shipping.
Old 08-12-2011, 10:14 PM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21368018 monblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legendmonblaze is a legend

lol, na wa 4 u o..
so they'll spend one week sitting in a hole

anyway what my mom said her mom n grandma n d whole village did
was to have one or more specific 'menstrual rag' like a cloth nappy used during periods
change as frequent as you like during the day
wash at night, start all over again...

Old 11-12-2011, 06:23 PM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 756306 Onyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legendOnyiiboy is a legend

I know that their diet was very different back then so their period was probably alot shorter than people of today.