Old 08-10-2002, 01:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3773620 Optimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legend

Default I Love My Nappy Hair

I love my Nappy hair

I cut all my hair off in 1999 ...and now its just as God intended LOL .

THE "MAGIC" OF CHEMICAL RELAXERS:

The fact is lye is just an effective hair dissolver. Read the ingredients of Drano and you'll see sodium hydroxide is listed first. Drano is the stuff you use to dissolve hair in clogged sinks!! So the reality of chemical relaxers is they are designed to break down your hair to it's weakest state so you can "smooth" the kinks out of it. Both lye (with sodium hydroxide) and no-lye (with calcium hydroxide) relaxers use similar techniques to change the hair. Warning: This "creamy crack" is addictive. Healthy natural hair becomes the enemy. Some magic, huh? Don't you feel stupid now? I know I did when I stopped to think about it.

Have you ever stopped to think what that burning feeling on your head really means? It's chemical fire on your precious scalp and hair! It can leave your scalp with burnt patches, scales, and clumps of partially dissolved hair stuck to the head. Try to scratch at these wounds and you see blood and tender, red skin. And you wonder why you still have dandruff! The result of this repeated damage is likely to be weaker, damaged, and broken off hair that becomes hard to style (hence the everyday "ponytail" or better yet, a track of Asian hair sewn into the broken off parts). Why do we tell ourselves we need a "break" from chemical relaxers and then hide it all in extension braids or full weaves of Asian hair? Of course, we go right back to relaxers after our "break" and the same process starts all over again. Pure genius? Or foolhardiness? You decide. The Asians who sell and distribute the hair and black beauty products sure ain't complainin'. No, they're laughin all the way to the bank. So are the white owned companies that have taken over black hair companies in order to get in on the booming business of black hair products.

The worst part about it is that those with (unmixed) African hair (fuzzy, dry and very tightly coiled - "bad" hair) are the ones who take the most "heat" so to speak. We don't have the choice to wear our hair natural because it doesn't hang downward in the way that white people's hair does. Instead we are told we "need" Super strength chemicals to make our hair more "manageable" and "good". Meanwhile, those with mixed textured hair (with curl definition, more natural moisture, much looser coils - "good" hair) are given more of a choice. They can either wear their hair natural or use a curling iron or flat-iron or even a mild relaxer (for "fine, easily relaxed hair") to straighten their curls or waves. Those of us who are naturally nappy are judged by the texture of our hair and the judgment is harsh. It results in years of chemical use and abuse that degrades us even more while upholding stereotypes and negative ideals about black women. Fact: NOBODY NEEDS A RELAXER OR TEXTURIZER TO MANAGE THEIR HAIR.

Take control of your naturally nappy hair! Learn to l-o-v-e it and nourish it with care. You'll soon realize all those products are overrated. There is no miracle product. You'll walk down those aisles of black hair products and realize you no longer need a miracle product or weave style to transform your hair. You'll save so much money and so much time you'll wonder why you didn't think of doing this sooner. You can wash your hair anytime you want. You can use any shampoo or conditioner you want. Asian immigrant store owners (like here in Seattle) won't be making anymore money off of your desperation. You will no longer be dependent on crazy money-hungry hair stylists. You have a choice. Be free...

As Blacks we are some hungry souls...
"The satisfied soul loatheth an honeycomb; but to the hungry soul every bitter thing is sweet" Proverbs 27:7

visit http://amaka0.tripod.com/
nappyhair.com

Old 08-10-2002, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 139.00

if you can keep your hair tidy enough, good for you. but some people with natural hair have no business keeping their hair natural. environmental protection services ought to take some of them out.
i think it's whatever works for you sha. i kept my hair natural till i was like 15 and i hated it. it was soft and curly and i couldn't do anything with it so i put a perm in it. and i think now it's easier to manage.
and not all hair relaxers have lye in them.
so really indivdual tastes differ. and it is an issue of individual taste.
PS. your rocking yours very well sha.

And Your Point is?

Last edited by ShuguhAndCream; 08-10-2002 at 04:10 PM..
ShuguhAndCream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2002, 05:31 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 3773620 Optimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legendOptimist is a legend

Thanks honney

fair enuf ..different strokes 4 different folks , but we all need to examine where our desire to have straight hair comes from.

I keep on getting tempted to get a perm ...anytime I try combing my hair I'm like ok ...thast it ...next time I'll relax it .....but the perming drama was too much ojere . And natural hair is beeeurifull if u can manage it.

Old 08-11-2002, 03:35 AM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 216.02
Total Points: 2,047.04
Rep Power: 0 Godsangel is a splendid one to beholdGodsangel is a splendid one to beholdGodsangel is a splendid one to beholdGodsangel is a splendid one to beholdGodsangel is a splendid one to beholdGodsangel is a splendid one to beholdGodsangel is a splendid one to behold
Thumbs up yup

I have done it all,
Curls
straight
low cut
shaved it all off.....gorimapa
and now im a rasta and the hair is finally happy.. this is how God intended for it to be! happy nappiness o jare!
Old 08-11-2002, 05:22 PM   #5 (permalink)

Thats whats up ....hunny

Old 08-11-2002, 05:36 PM   #6 (permalink)

Total Points: 10,000.30
Rep Power: 5677 Jackal is a legendJackal is a legendJackal is a legendJackal is a legendJackal is a legendJackal is a legendJackal is a legendJackal is a legendJackal is a legendJackal is a legendJackal is a legend
Default Re: yup

Originally posted by Godsangel
I have done it all,
Curls
straight
low cut
shaved it all off.....gorimapa
and now im a rasta and the hair is finally happy.. this is how God intended for it to be! happy nappiness o jare!
me too!
Old 08-13-2002, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Journalistic Model

Bank: 7,472.10
Total Points: 7,561.10
Rep Power: 110 SMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet CelebritySMRT QT is a bonafide Internet Celebrity
Default Nice thread

This is the progression of my hair

• Nappy
  • Jerry curls yes I did oh! yes I did
  • Perm
  • Braids only
  • Nappy hair
  • Short hair in perms
  • texturizer
  • Braids
  • weaves
  • Short hair in a perm
  • Now growing my hair back

I had maaadd kinky hair for now o.. there is no way I want to go through yanking the thing every morning It used to give me bad headaches then and It's just more untidy..

I say rock whatever tickles your fancy.... If you roc the weaves pls roc it well. even those with locks I've seen some really nasty ones I'm sorry.. Your hair is your crown however you choose to wear it, wear it well

P/L
  • __________________
    <center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>The Sky is no longer my limit....Space is...for now...</b></center>

<center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>...LIFT YOUR HEAD TO THE SKY AND KEEP TRYING... BELIEVE IN YOU AND IT WILL TAKE YOU HIGHER</b>
    ----Groove Therory

To know the true beauty of a woman is to see her in all her many forms</center> <FONT face="arial, helvetica" size="2" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>
    <center>IT'S LIVE</center></b><marquee direction= right>|I|C|Y|><>:<>www.icyworks.com <>>:<><|W|O|R|K|S|</marquee></marquee></b>
    <center> <center><FONT face="arial, helvetica,veranda" size="1" > <font color="black"face="verdana"><b>Left, Right & Center</b>

REINCARNATED CREATIVITY

</b>

</b></center>
    SMRT QT is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 08-13-2002, 08:58 PM   #8 (permalink)

Total Points: 121.00

i luv my nappy hair too . . . . i just cut my hair recently . . . . and i decided to let grow out naturally . . . . it's not that short . . . . it's short enough to place straw curls . . . . and nuthin else . . . . and to tell u the truth ppl find it qite cute . . . . . maybe i should get sum pics and show ya'll what i mean . . . .

-Thomas Crowne's Wife . . .

iyamia01 is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 08-13-2002, 09:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
    cutie-pie

Bank: 2,920.54
    Total Points: 3,078.54
    Rep Power: 67 Oluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet Celebrity
    Default Re: I Love My Nappy Hair

thanks for all them lecture.holla

Originally posted by sugar
    I love my Nappy hair

I cut all my hair off in 1999 ...and now its just as God intended LOL .

THE "MAGIC" OF CHEMICAL RELAXERS:

The fact is lye is just an effective hair dissolver. Read the ingredients of Drano and you'll see sodium hydroxide is listed first. Drano is the stuff you use to dissolve hair in clogged sinks!! So the reality of chemical relaxers is they are designed to break down your hair to it's weakest state so you can "smooth" the kinks out of it. Both lye (with sodium hydroxide) and no-lye (with calcium hydroxide) relaxers use similar techniques to change the hair. Warning: This "creamy crack" is addictive. Healthy natural hair becomes the enemy. Some magic, huh? Don't you feel stupid now? I know I did when I stopped to think about it.

Have you ever stopped to think what that burning feeling on your head really means? It's chemical fire on your precious scalp and hair! It can leave your scalp with burnt patches, scales, and clumps of partially dissolved hair stuck to the head. Try to scratch at these wounds and you see blood and tender, red skin. And you wonder why you still have dandruff! The result of this repeated damage is likely to be weaker, damaged, and broken off hair that becomes hard to style (hence the everyday "ponytail" or better yet, a track of Asian hair sewn into the broken off parts). Why do we tell ourselves we need a "break" from chemical relaxers and then hide it all in extension braids or full weaves of Asian hair? Of course, we go right back to relaxers after our "break" and the same process starts all over again. Pure genius? Or foolhardiness? You decide. The Asians who sell and distribute the hair and black beauty products sure ain't complainin'. No, they're laughin all the way to the bank. So are the white owned companies that have taken over black hair companies in order to get in on the booming business of black hair products.

The worst part about it is that those with (unmixed) African hair (fuzzy, dry and very tightly coiled - "bad" hair) are the ones who take the most "heat" so to speak. We don't have the choice to wear our hair natural because it doesn't hang downward in the way that white people's hair does. Instead we are told we "need" Super strength chemicals to make our hair more "manageable" and "good". Meanwhile, those with mixed textured hair (with curl definition, more natural moisture, much looser coils - "good" hair) are given more of a choice. They can either wear their hair natural or use a curling iron or flat-iron or even a mild relaxer (for "fine, easily relaxed hair") to straighten their curls or waves. Those of us who are naturally nappy are judged by the texture of our hair and the judgment is harsh. It results in years of chemical use and abuse that degrades us even more while upholding stereotypes and negative ideals about black women. Fact: NOBODY NEEDS A RELAXER OR TEXTURIZER TO MANAGE THEIR HAIR.

Take control of your naturally nappy hair! Learn to l-o-v-e it and nourish it with care. You'll soon realize all those products are overrated. There is no miracle product. You'll walk down those aisles of black hair products and realize you no longer need a miracle product or weave style to transform your hair. You'll save so much money and so much time you'll wonder why you didn't think of doing this sooner. You can wash your hair anytime you want. You can use any shampoo or conditioner you want. Asian immigrant store owners (like here in Seattle) won't be making anymore money off of your desperation. You will no longer be dependent on crazy money-hungry hair stylists. You have a choice. Be free...

As Blacks we are some hungry souls...
    "The satisfied soul loatheth an honeycomb; but to the hungry soul every bitter thing is sweet" Proverbs 27:7

visit http://amaka0.tripod.com/
    nappyhair.com

Oluwa cynthesx is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 08-15-2002, 05:05 AM   #10 (permalink)

Default Re: Re: I Love My Nappy Hair

Originally posted by cynthesx
    thanks for all them lecture.holla

LOL did any of it sink in ?

Old 08-15-2002, 04:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
    cutie-pie

Bank: 2,920.54
    Total Points: 3,078.54
    Rep Power: 67 Oluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet CelebrityOluwa cynthesx is a bonafide Internet Celebrity
    Default Re: Re: Re: I Love My Nappy Hair

Originally posted by sugar

LOL did any of it sink in ?
    you bet it did some how.holla

Oluwa cynthesx is offline   Reply With Quote