Old 10-16-2007, 01:55 AM   #1 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 4,458,167.23
Total Points: 4,483,704.08
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend
Default odiegwu o. ndi Enugu state ekweghikwa ekwe!

i thot Adamma is a female mmanwu with long jet black micros and white face with red lipstick? so is Adamma actually a man behind the mask?

but dang! c dance! i have a fascination w. Adamma. i was suposed to watch her dance 4 the 1st time when i was little but b4 she was to come out, one of out house helps got on my nerves and i refused to watch. Since then, i have been wantin to c her dance. i like her/him?

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 02:02 AM   #2 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

lmao!!! @ the end, did u c how the mother took her away? dey say the Adamma dance is threatre act. i wish i can get hold of a complete dance. i have never really watched an adamma show. my fav mmuonwu but she does guy o. i reember seeing her once live and she flung her hair back. lmao!!!!!!!!!!! i jes love her!

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 10-16-2007, 02:03 AM   #3 (permalink)

by hamattan...

The 'Adamma' act is a dance drama. It can only be appreciated fully if one watches the entire episode. What is in this video clip is just a fractions. So the child masquerade stumbling and the mother masquerade coming to the rescue was part of the act. This is traditional Igbo/African theatre in action.

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 02-06-2008, 07:40 AM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

i don't think women are allowed to be mmanwu

Old 02-06-2008, 04:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Akara Oku

Bank: 4,259,179.13
Total Points: 4,273,376.98
Rep Power: 1013938 superlolo is a legendsuperlolo is a legendsuperlolo is a legendsuperlolo is a legendsuperlolo is a legendsuperlolo is a legendsuperlolo is a legendsuperlolo is a legendsuperlolo is a legendsuperlolo is a legendsuperlolo is a legend

Yes,Adamma is actually a man behind the mask. Shocking isn't it? I have never seen "her" dance before but this much i know its a man under that mask.

QUITERS are HELL-BOUND!

Problems become Shadows when U don't confront them.

Money na spirit. show disrespect, and it walks out the front door.

Kola no dey grow for KingsCross
superlolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 06:11 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by superlolo
Yes,Adamma is actually a man behind the mask. Shocking isn't it? I have never seen "her" dance before but this much i know its a man under that mask.
quite shocking i must say. gosh! and sexy. @Least now i can really say it w/o feeling weird about it but dang! its really my fav mmanwu sha. cnt wait to 2 FINALLY see "her" dance in real life. never seen her dance either. missed it

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 02-07-2008, 06:31 AM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 89,416.97
Total Points: 93,325.49
Rep Power: 4659055 La Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legendLa Reine is a legend

I LOVE this stuff! Yeah, there was once this guy who came to perform for us in our village. He was performing (dancing/doing shakara) as a woman with skirt and wig and all...it was like so erotic...I can't get the image out of my mind...and he had the whole 'act' down...I have to say that was one of the sexiest impersonations I've seen of a woman in my life.

Originally Posted by askimoli
a whole ND, aka ji aku 1 of NR, onwa n'etiri ryders, osisi n'ami mkpuru gold, otimkpu 1 of ndi nwere vshape?
La Reine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 08:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Custos Mortui

Bank: 105,914.21
Total Points: 108,014.21
Rep Power: 812577 Anubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legend

Yeah...to the best of my knowledge, authentic traditional Igbo masquerade dances are performed exclusively by males. Having said that though, males do not exclusively enjoy the privilege of being the visible mediums of the deities in Igbo cosmology. There have been powerful shamans/oracles who are/were female.

Mors ultima linea rerum est.

For every solution there is a problem.

Anubis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 09:41 PM   #9 (permalink)

Bank: 6,983,741.75
Total Points: 7,023,381.20
Rep Power: 1932718 Hawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legend
Thumbs up

Thanks for sharing .... I enjoyed watching that.
Hawtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 09:47 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Anubis
Yeah...to the best of my knowledge, authentic traditional Igbo masquerade dances are performed exclusively by males. Having said that though, males do not exclusively enjoy the privilege of being the visible mediums of the deities in Igbo cosmology. There have been powerful shamans/oracles who are/were female.
yep!

@Hawtie...my pleasure

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 02-08-2008, 10:33 PM   #11 (permalink)

Bank: 6,983,741.75
Total Points: 7,023,381.20
Rep Power: 1932718 Hawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legendHawtie is a legend

yep!
Like the priestess of Agbala (I've got to cross check my info) in Things Fall Apart ... who was supposed to heal the ogbanje
Hawtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 10:46 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Hawtie
Like the priestess of Agbala (I've got to cross check my info) in Things Fall Apart ... who was supposed to heal the ogbanje
hmm...i dnt remember o. been a little while i read dat book.

btw, onwe ihe m me

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Old 02-10-2008, 02:15 AM   #13 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

quite shocking i must say. gosh! and sexy. @Least now i can really say it w/o feeling weird about it but dang! its really my fav mmanwu sha. cnt wait to 2 FINALLY see "her" dance in real life. never seen her dance either. missed it
I thought women and kids were not supposed to see masquerades?

Old 02-12-2008, 03:45 AM   #14 (permalink)

Bank: 38,246,978.82
Total Points: 38,290,988.82
Rep Power: 21474876 Wendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legend

Originally Posted by sapphire
I thought women and kids were not supposed to see masquerades?
some masquerades not all. any one can view Adamma. and others. there r few mmanwu dat only males can veiw. cos i have seen quite alot sef.

Old 02-14-2008, 04:18 AM   #15 (permalink)

yeah that's true. i remember being chased when i was little because the mmanwu that was coming was not supposed to be seen by women and kids. scared me half to death!
...that's where i got that theory from