Old 09-26-2007, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Traditional Greetings

I dunno if it's just an anioma thing, but are there folks who traditionally get greeted differently from the generic terms used in greeting?

For example, generally, where I'm from, you greet a visitor "Nno" But I find that when it's someone I know, you greet him by his village/family greeting

My mom and her family are greeted by saying "Nwadei" My uncle is greeted wif "Akwe" my Grandma on my mom's side wif "Obuefi" etc etc

So I'm just wondering if it's just where I'm from or if it's also present in other Nigerian tribes and demographics as well.
Old 09-27-2007, 06:19 AM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 264,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

Let me see where i'm from if the peeps are ur kinsmen "umurenna" and "umurenne" u greet them "nde nne" and "nde nna". I really don't know what they translate to, but i guess it generally means welcome bro and welcome sis
Old 09-27-2007, 06:50 AM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 490,756,937.46
Total Points: 490,798,533.41
Rep Power: 21474859 anddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legendanddar is a legend

Benin people have stuff like that...family greetings based on descent from an Oba
Old 09-27-2007, 11:00 AM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 2470000000 Arinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legend

I dont think we (Ukwuanis) have special greetings like those. We just have a general male and female greeting. For males it is AJIEH, females we greet OTOFE'
Old 09-27-2007, 04:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
WT
Okpalabisi of Issele Uku

Location: At Capri's Place with 2face sipping on some RED BULL
Bank: 107,447,729.42
Total Points: 107,667,777.32
Rep Power: 5109570 WT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legend

As far as anioma people go it is something we got from the benin kingdom. My dad is greeted Onya and my mom Oliwe. your greeting is based on the village u come from.
shey you know.
when pimples and black spots have eaten away at your skin.. or when you are about 5'6-- 200+ --come on be realistic thats all I'm saying.. dont quit your day job-- just cause Kulata said u look like a model.. dont mean you can be a model.
Originally Posted by ndi_amaka
So cuz I'm overweight I have family sized vagina?

Sometimes you go too far
Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience!
WT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 04:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
WT
Okpalabisi of Issele Uku

Rep Power: 5109570 WT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legendWT is a legend

[QUOTE=ND]I dont think we (Ukwuanis) have special greetings like those. We just have a general male and female greeting. For males it is AJIEH, females we greet OTOFE'[/QUOTE]

this one always killed me with laughter. literal meaning "you cook soup"
shey you know.
when pimples and black spots have eaten away at your skin.. or when you are about 5'6-- 200+ --come on be realistic thats all I'm saying.. dont quit your day job-- just cause Kulata said u look like a model.. dont mean you can be a model.

Sometimes you go too far
Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience!
Old 09-27-2007, 05:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
ROTY

Bank: 4,956,132,786.33
Total Points: 5,006,389,336.77
Rep Power: 21474871 shakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legendshakara is a legend

[QUOTE=WT]
Originally Posted by ND
I dont think we (Ukwuanis) have special greetings like those. We just have a general male and female greeting. For males it is AJIEH, females we greet OTOFE'[/QUOTE]

this one always killed me with laughter. literal meaning "you cook soup"
lol... I was about to say sha...... :fancy: .. bia WT, when did u start reading and translating Igbo?

anyway, its correct that the greeting differs based on not only your village, but your clan or "ogbe" within that village. and does have to do with relationship with the Oba of Benin.

Dad- Ojeoba (we're from Ogbe Ojeoba)
mom- Ede
maternal grandmother- Ajieh(Ajay)
paternal grandmother- Akwe
Shakara- Ojeoba

So, do you guys still greet your parents that way? and Papa ND- do ur children use the greeting for you and for those without kids, do u plan on teaching ur children to use the greeting for you?- regadless of whom you marry?
shakara is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 08:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
WT
Okpalabisi of Issele Uku

the greeting for me is part of life it is all i know. my kids will do it too.

paternal grand ma- Ojubi
Maternal grand ma- ojogwu
several uncles/aunties- Ajay
shey you know.

Sometimes you go too far
Old 09-27-2007, 08:56 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by shakara
~
So, do you guys still greet your parents that way? and Papa ND- do ur children use the greeting for you and for those without kids, do u plan on teaching ur children to use the greeting for you?- regadless of whom you marry?

I never greeted my parents traditionally...my uncles, my aunts, my grandparents...yes.

But nowadays, my mom enjoys been greeted with her father's traditional greeting...makes her happy...so hey

@ WT...funny enuff, my paternal grandma goes by ojogwu too...

Is there some root in each greeting?
Old 09-28-2007, 12:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Blessed Child

Bank: 27,152,598.14
Total Points: 27,232,728.91
Rep Power: 21474869 Obiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legendObiagéli is a legend

kedu
Obiagéli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 08:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Captain

Bank: 848,419,240.83
Total Points: 848,600,815.83
Rep Power: 21474900 Uncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legendUncle Sunday is a legend

Originally Posted by WT
As far as anioma people go it is something we got from the benin kingdom. My dad is greeted Onya and my mom Oliwe. your greeting is based on the village u come from.
Interesting...Idomas have special greetings or nominal titles based on where you are from and the position in a family.

For instance men in Otukpo are greeted with Odaudu. Women are greeted with Onje.

If you are unsure where a man is from, you can greet him with Agabaidu which means "great lion" and usually used for big chiefs. In some places you can generally greet with Okpani twhich simply means my "master/boss" but is widely understood as a title of respect.
I'm glad I listened when I was being taught.

NR Tribalists, Religious Bigots, and Enemies of Progress: Your name Here?

Beat the U.S. Financial Crisis
Uncle Sunday is offline   Reply With Quote