Old 07-25-2007, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 9,667.30
Rep Power: 21474863 Chxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legend
Default Hardware help

Someone at my office gave me his laptop to check, a HP Compaq nx6120. The complaint was that when he was using it, it would sometimes freeze until he restarted it. He noted that whenever he put pressure on the area around which the hard disk should be that it would work better. Having that in mind, I removed the hard disk and noticed that it seemed to work well with a Linux live CD. I connected the hard disk somewhere else to run a check and noticed that it didn't seem to have any errors.
The system has gone from bad to worse however as it doesn't even go beyond BIOS now, even when I use the Live CD, it just freezes at the opening 'page' when you turn it on, I can't even go into BIOS. Any ideas what the problem could be?
Old 07-25-2007, 05:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Red Devil
Husband to the Husbandless

Bank: 334,150,673.40
Total Points: 3,318,233,865.25
Rep Power: 21474947 blaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legend

knowledge is power and money....

how much u go pay

WHEN ASHI CHANGE BASE, SHE GO TURN TO CHASIS

A WISE PROPHET MAKES SURE OF THE EVENT FIRST...
blaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 05:47 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474863 Chxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legendChxta is a legend

Originally Posted by blaze
knowledge is power and money....

how much u go pay
if you had something to contribute you'd have answered by now. Leave my thread let more meaningful people say something.
Old 07-25-2007, 05:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Red Devil

Rep Power: 21474947 blaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legendblaze is a legend

any other person...yes....

u...mba, u go drop

Old 07-25-2007, 06:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Las gidi BigBoy

Bank: 54.07
Total Points: 668.97
Rep Power: 514838 Lexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legend

Originally Posted by Chxta
if you had something to contribute you'd have answered by now. Leave my thread let more meaningful people say something.
This guy sarcastic no be small

But chxta, why did you apply for a job when you know you can't do it?

I'm in the land of the heartless....learning their ways....

The way you come at me is the way i will react to you - The Baron
If you let me give you a headache...then you need to be flogged

If only we could sell our life experiences...what great millionaires we would be
- The Baron

Life consists not in holding good cards but in playing those you hold well.

Josh Billings
Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim. Accept no one's definition of your life; define yourself!!
Harvey Fierstein

For every beauty there is an eye somewhere to see it; For every truth there is an ear somewhere to hear it; For every love there is a heart somewhere to receive it.

- by Ivan Panin

Brasco appreciates the following ryders...
Pastor Bros/nnabros, Kulata, Omosewa, Fancy, estrella, Jem , Bawbee, Lummie, Melvin, Maestro, Bubus , Guru, Tileyiko, Supo82, Diamond, Deon fernandez, BTM, Obiageli(I come chop ), Kiwi_chic,
Lexfrosti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 06:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Crosseyed

Bank: 15,628,228.58
Total Points: 15,634,528.58
Rep Power: 3467672 Lefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legend

Originally Posted by Lexfrosti
This guy sarcastic no be small

But chxta, why did you apply for a job when you know you can't do it?
do u have a crush on him or wat? u just dey follow am from one thread to anoda feeling like a local champion...if u nor get ansa carry ur wahala comot jor useless somebody!!

"True love is like a ghost, we all talk about it, but nobody has ever seen one."

"Politeness is a currency that enriches he who gives it and not he who receives it."

"There is always a way out of it, you just haven't got to it yet"

Nigeria We Hail Thee!!!!!
Lefty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 06:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Red Devil

Old 07-25-2007, 06:24 PM   #8 (permalink)

FekNr thanks a lot. I appreciate your PM. Blaze, problem has been isolated. Thanks to FekNr. Lefty, I hear you.
Old 07-25-2007, 06:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Las gidi BigBoy

Bank: 54.07
Total Points: 668.97
Rep Power: 514838 Lexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legendLexfrosti is a legend

Originally Posted by Lefty
do u have a crush on him or wat? u just dey follow am from one thread to anoda feeling like a local champion...if u nor get ansa carry ur wahala comot jor useless somebody!!

But wetin i do na? I was only trying to help

I'm in the land of the heartless....learning their ways....

The way you come at me is the way i will react to you - The Baron
If you let me give you a headache...then you need to be flogged

If only we could sell our life experiences...what great millionaires we would be
- The Baron

Life consists not in holding good cards but in playing those you hold well.

Josh Billings
Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim. Accept no one's definition of your life; define yourself!!
Harvey Fierstein

For every beauty there is an eye somewhere to see it; For every truth there is an ear somewhere to hear it; For every love there is a heart somewhere to receive it.

- by Ivan Panin

Brasco appreciates the following ryders...
Pastor Bros/nnabros, Kulata, Omosewa, Fancy, estrella, Jem , Bawbee, Lummie, Melvin, Maestro, Bubus , Guru, Tileyiko, Supo82, Diamond, Deon fernandez, BTM, Obiageli(I come chop ), Kiwi_chic,
Lexfrosti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 10:27 PM   #10 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,419.02

Someone at my office gave me his laptop to check, a HP Compaq nx6120. The complaint was that when he was using it, it would sometimes freeze until he restarted it. He noted that whenever he put pressure on the area around which the hard disk should be that it would work better. Having that in mind, I removed the hard disk and noticed that it seemed to work well with a Linux live CD. I connected the hard disk somewhere else to run a check and noticed that it didn't seem to have any errors.
The system has gone from bad to worse however as it doesn't even go beyond BIOS now, even when I use the Live CD, it just freezes at the opening 'page' when you turn it on, I can't even go into BIOS. Any ideas what the problem could be?
How did you "check" the hard drive? Does it lockup when you try to get into BIOS? power down for a while and try to get into BIOS again.

The fan(s) may have gone south
Old 07-25-2007, 11:37 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ijebu Negro
How did you "check" the hard drive? Does it lockup when you try to get into BIOS? power down for a while and try to get into BIOS again.

The fan(s) may have gone south
I inserted the hard drive to my external USB box, and it worked ok. Anyway I'm back at home now, and it looks like is RAM. Thanks for the concern.

EDIT: British ryders how much do you think I should charge the guy? He gave me because he didn't want to take it to PC World.
Old 07-25-2007, 11:51 PM   #12 (permalink)

I inserted the hard drive to my external USB box, and it worked ok. Anyway I'm back at home now, and it looks like is RAM. Thanks for the concern.

EDIT: British ryders how much do you think I should charge the guy? He gave me because he didn't want to take it to PC World.
they charge £50 for labour....give him a discount of 20%...as na im....that shuld leave us with £40.....so there u are
Old 07-26-2007, 12:07 AM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by maestro
they charge £50 for labour....give him a discount of 20%...as na im....that shuld leave us with £40.....so there u are
The £50 is it per hour? If that is the case the bleeding computer is going to be with me until next week...
Old 07-26-2007, 11:53 AM   #14 (permalink)

The £50 is it per hour? If that is the case the bleeding computer is going to be with me until next week...
Ole!!!!...its one off
Old 07-26-2007, 06:56 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by maestro
Ole!!!!...its one off
Na you know.